We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in Gj!”
Review of 626 on Rood

626 on Rood
Reserve with OpenTable
626 on Rood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seventh St.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Gj!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I love 626... Great staff and atmosphere, but the food is to die for. Truffle french fries, lobster Mac n cheese and heirloom tomato salad (in the summer) are a few of my favorites. If you haven't been, you need to see what you've been missing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    48
    23
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Absolutely Divine Food, Service and Environment in Grand Junction”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel. We stopped by on our from the airport to the hotel. We had the Heirloom Tomato Salad; locally grown heirloom tomatoes (Blaine’s Tomatoes, Palisade), house made fresh mozzarella, fresh basil, Sicilian olive oil, Saba and capers - the capers were a really unique twist to this salad. The salad was as sweet as cotton candy! It was out of this world. We also tried the beet salad and the peach salad. Both were very tasty but having the tomatoes just before they go out of season was a real treat. We started our meal with a cheese plate. Such a unique combination of cheeses: one of the local cheeses had a rind of coffee, a goat cheese was rolled in herbs from their garden and a peppercorn cheese was drizzled with honey - all served with their ginger crackers and plum jelly. Absolutely divine! Loved every bite. That was even before we moved on to our next course: sandwiches! The turkey sandwich was real turkey breast from a turkey they roasted in-house, NOT lunch meat! The bread was a multi grain. Everything was so fresh and delicious. Another colleague tried the Smoked Duck Club Sandwich . . . House apple-wood smoked duck breast, fresh mozzarella, pepper bacon, roasted garlic mayonnaise, Napa cabbage, challah bread, sweet potato fries. Let's just say that if he could've licked his plate, he would have. We returned a few days later to try their dinner menu. Same salads and cheese but this time I tried the Buffalo Tenderloin, six ounce medallion, red wine-juniper-rosemary marinade, coffee crusted, pan-seared, Fireside bourbon (Mile High Spirits, Denver) red – eye gravy; savory potato croquette. The buffalo was prepared perfectly and it was a flavor combination like nothing I have ever had before. Awesome. All of my other colleagues tried the special they were offering that night - Ahi Tuna with Forbidden Rice. They ate every morsel. You wouldn't think we would have room for dessert but we did. Da Bomb is a dense chocolate mousse dessert infused with whiskey and topped with Guinness Foam. Insanely good. The lemon lavender crème brulee was refreshing and light. Everybody else had homemade sorbet and ice cream. The atmosphere is lovely. Very nicely appointed with a nice little patio area. Besides the food being amazing and the atmosphere being nice, the final highlight is the staff. The staff was superb! They were friendly, knowledgeable about their food products and super attentive. Let's just say that it is highly likely that we will hit this restaurant one more time before we head back out of town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CorpPlanner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menton, France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
“Gastronomy Delight in Grand Junction- who knew”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you are ever in Grand Junction, Colorado - don't miss this place. Excellent fresh seasonal food that comes from the local farmers. Chef is excellent in creative plates - recently I had a Palisades Grilled Peach Caprese - excellent. And they have a wonderful selection of French, Italian, Spanish wines.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseinMenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and experience!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Found 626 on Rood through online recommendations. Excellent service and experience. Sushi grade salmon cooked to perfection and tried the crispy mozzarella with coconut curry sauce...love it! Our server made excellent recommendations for wine and was enthusiastic and friendly. Heard a lady at table next to us complaining about service....must be from another planet. Staff was attentive but not overbearing or pretentious. The atmosphere is modern but casual and there is no dress code. Some were in business casual, some jeans, some nice shorts, variety and totally comfortable....will definitely be back here our next trip to grand junction. If you want snooty and pretentious, keep looking. If you want great fine dining food without the attitude but with the service, this is your joint...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed but will give them a 2nd chance.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our son recently started at the college in Grand Junction and our goal was to find a restaurant that wasn't a bar or a restaurant that caters to the college crowd. During our first visit we ate at 626. The wine menu is quite extensive but I don't think they know a lot about the wines that aren't on their tasting menu.

The menu offers a variety of items. We tried the seared foie gras with peach chutney, and the foie gras was bland but the chutney was flavorful. The wait for our entrees to arrive was extremely long. My husband and I ordered the Buffalo Tenderloin and both were served luke warm almost cold in the center. Our son's dinner was hot. Just a huge disappointment after waiting so long for the dinner to arrive.

I lower my expectations when I'm in smaller/rural towns but hot food is a basic. I'll give the restaurant another chance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank exuma-elkhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 626 on Rood also viewed

 
Grand Junction, CO
 

Been to 626 on Rood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing