We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch on the Patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 626 on Rood

626 on Rood
Reserve with OpenTable
626 on Rood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seventh St.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch on the Patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

When traveling to Grand Junction and the surrounding area we always make time for a meal at 626 on Rood. Lunch on the patio under a umbrella is the best. They offer many items from local produce, such as the tasty chilled summer squash soup I had this time, accompanied by a spinach salad. That way I could save room for the very tasty dark chocolate sorbet. My husband's favorite is the 626 Burger with saffron mayonnaise, just delicious. We are hoping to return soon so we can try a dinner meal, the menus feature so many good choices.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    47
    23
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Cedaredge, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Service was excellent, but the food was not all that great. The food servings were attractive, but somewhat meager in portion. This was an anniversary occasion for which I'd rather chosen another restaurant. We thought it overrated and over priced. They seem to have a following of customers, but not us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Manhattan quality in Colorado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is the second time we have dined (as opposed to "eaten") at this excellent restaurant. We had the crab appetizer, the duck salad and spinach salad, the steak and the squid ink pasta and all were superb. The wine list is impressive, with several selections of Colorado wine. The service is excellent - attentive but not intrusive. The atmosphere is modern and quietly elegant. We moved to Colorado from the east coast and have had the opportunity to enjoy wonderful restaurants from Manhattan to Hilton Head, and both feel that 626 could fit in the top 100 anywhere. We plan to eat here every time we visit Grand Junction.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Grand Junction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for dinner with my honey today. I enjoy 626 because they offer cuisine as opposed to "food." It's refreshing to have a weeknight dinner out with a little class. The place was empty, since we were there at 4 pm. They offered to let us order from either the lunch or dinner menus, which was nice. The lunch menu had a great selection of creative sandwiches and was far less expensive, but we were really hungry for a nice meal, so we opted for the dinner menu. Like any good restaurant with a true chef, the dinner menu changes daily and was litterally hot off the printer. I bypassed my usual favorite - the lobster Mac and cheese- and opted for the Black Angus New York Strip. They happily substituted the smashed potatoes for the sweet potato fries which were on the menu. The husband had the Porter Braised Beef Roast. Both dishes were excellent. Very flavorful, an appropriately sized portion. The server was very pleasant and made a great recommendation on a red wine. Overall, we were extremely pleased with this experience. We will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowboyblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
349 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Patio Pleasure Perfection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We just had one of the most pleasurable and relaxing dinners at 626 on Rood and just had to share!!
We sat outside on the patio and didn't want to leave. We started the evening with two flights of wine. Willamette Damnit and Pink is In. A three glass sample of Oregon Pinot and Rose respectively.
Chilled cream of Cauliflower soup, Heirloom Tomato Salad (watched the chief come out to the garden and harvest fresh Basil for the tomato salad) and Smoked Duck Salad rounded out our evening dinner.....yummy stuff and highly recommended. Finishing it off we had a chocolate dessert martini and a decadent Tres Leche Cake with Salted Caramel ice cream....OMG
The service was perfect with just the right amount of interaction. 626 is a top restaurant in Grand Junction. Don't miss this place!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank COparrotheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 626 on Rood also viewed

 
Grand Junction, CO
 

Been to 626 on Rood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing