We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much that's Grand...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Vista Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Wild Western Wyoming
Level Contributor
342 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Not much that's Grand...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The room I had was a "suite"... which was simply a large room. It was sparsely furnished, and the Grand Vista turned out to be a view of the backside dumpsters. Not so grand. The bed was ok, and the room was reasonably quiet.
The elevator ride to get there was nearly unbearably hot and stuffy.
The bar and restaurant were pretty good- clean and well stocked.
It may have been grand in it's day, but it's essentially average now.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDLee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    164
    108
    52
    28
See reviews for
115
154
54
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Flora Vista, NM
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Overall the room was ok. It was clean, the rate was decent compared to what rooms are going for here these days, and the bed was somewhat comfortable. The building is old and they have made some attempts to modernize it. However those attempts seemed to me to end in the lobby. The breakfast buffet is a joke. The “charge” for it is steep if it is not included in your room rate and I would have been angry if I actually paid that much for it. It was free with my room rate and I took one look at it and went somewhere else and paid for breakfast. My biggest complaint was the door no longer fit in the jam right and there was a lot of light leakage from the hallway at night. It was not a bad place to stay if you are on a budget but there are many nicer places to stay in Grand Junction.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfshowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

The folks at the front desk were nice. Our room left quite a bit to be desired. The mattress was from 1901 or so it felt. The bedding was old & worn. The room smelled musty & unused. We were close to the elevators & ice machine - which worked out well for us as we were traveling with an ice chest with drinks & food. Given the choice we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovescotland!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Junction hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed here work before an early flight. Will never return. It was old, outdated, smelled of smoke and mothballs in my room and my colleagues' room. The air conditioner was so loud (I turned it on to try help the smell) and bathroom was tiny, in disrepair and outdated. There are so many other hotels around the airport that the Grand Vista shouldn't even be a choice. It's not 3 stars either- barely 1 1/2.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlh415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
306 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

The hotel is in a great location just off of the highway. Near several restaurants and grocery store if needed. The lobby, hallways and room were very clean; staff extremely helpful and kind. The room was very quiet and we did not experience any loud guests in the hallway or adjacent to our room, which is always helpful. Our only comment is that the bed was extremely soft and a little noisy. When you moved around while sleeping, it would wake you up. Would prefer a harder mattress for a better night's sleep. We did not dine at the restaurant or utilize the lounge - however they were always busy - even with locals...a good sign to us! All in all, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leoclab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Very close to the airport, good value. Room was clean, recently renovated. Service was extremely friendly. There was a breakfast buffet that was decent but we did not eat dinner there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveH5863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We had a comfortable stay here, after more than a week on the road, crossing the country. We had made a blind booking through Priceline so were slightly concerned after reading the mixed reviews here. Our experience was quite nice overall. The hotel has not been renovated recently, but everything seemed clean, if not sparkling. There's a nice pool. Also, everyone at the front desk was very nice - they went out of their way to send 2 faxes for me (at no charge, even refusing a tip). There's also free broadband access, although it didn't work on my computer, so I had to latch onto the neighboring Courtyard Marriott's network. (Thanks, Courtyard!)

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric-A95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#7 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Junction
Courtyard Grand Junction
#15 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Grand Junction
Residence Inn Grand Junction
#10 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Grand Junction Colorado
Super 8 Grand Junction Colorado
#14 of 28 in Grand Junction
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vista Hotel

Property: Grand Vista Hotel
Address: 2790 Crossroads Boulevard at Horizon Drive, Grand Junction, CO 81506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Vista Junction
Hotel Grand Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing