We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trail”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bowen Gulch Trail

Ranked #9 of 24 things to do in Grand Lake
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is an eight mile, one way hiking trail through unsurpassed natural beauty.
Grand Lake, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Great trail with great mountain vistas. We rode to the top with
ATV and hiked down to a car parked in the Rocky Mountain National Park. Will do more next time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bwllyjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

This trail isn't handicap-accessible, but it is easy at the start, going across the very pretty Kawuneeche Valley. Then it goes into the trees and starts uphill. We hiked a couple miles and then turned back. Would be a good trail to take your kids on. As always, you don't want to let them run wild, ahead of you, out of sight, off the trail, because this IS a wilderness, there ARE bears and mountain lions,though we've never seen one -- :( -- and little kids DO look like tasty snacks!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallopingphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wildlife viewing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Easy access and smooth path for hiking. Elk, mule deer, moose and coyotes spotted. Great view of the river also. Have a picnic. Restrooms available.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank dkmurray59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
186 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“trail to ourselves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Loved this hike, we had the trail to ourselves. We saw elk and moose and lots of birds. Easy at first but then you start to climb, the views are worth it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank neenee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pine Beetle Damage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This was formerly a glorious area that held a spectacular old growth forest. I spoke with a forest ranger today about the area, who informed me that the trees have died from pine beetle damage. The roads in the area are closed because trees are falling and creating hazardous conditions. According to the Forest Service's website, over 3 million acres of lodgepole pines have perished in Colorado due to pine beetle damage. If I could come back in 400 years when it's an old growth forest again, I would. It's very sad.

I gave it 5 stars because it's still a beautiful area and TripAdvisor wouldn't let me post this update without a star rating. I just didn't have it in my heart to reduce it from 5 stars.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank iaswr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bowen Gulch Trail also viewed

 

Been to Bowen Gulch Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing