We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Father's Day Weekend”
Review of North Shore Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Shore Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
“Father's Day Weekend”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My son and I had a great bonding experience. Our stay at the North Shore Lodge was a perfect fit. The owners are awesome and very attentive to your needs. Everything was close, fishing, golfing and restaurants. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinbarryobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We enjoyed talking to you and your son out on the deck and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
29
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My husband and I went up with 2 other couples for a weekend of snowshoeing and fun in the snow. We were not disappointed! The snow was beautiful and the view was breath taking. After arriving the first day we got out snowshoes on and headed for the island we could see. What a great hike to get introduced to the new snowshoes we had gotten for Christmas. It was so nice to go back to our cozy rooms for coffee and treats. The room was very cozy with everything we needed to prepare and share meals together. We went up to Rocky Mountain National Park the next day(a quick trip) and had another beautiful trek. On the last morning there I got up early and had another beautiful hike on the lake. Spotted a fox out hunting for mice and saw a herd of elk in the distance. The sunrise over the mountains was awesome.
We would go back in a heartbeat to this wonderful place. Yes it is rustic but totally what it should be in a mountain town.

Room Tip: I would get the rooms facing the lake which is not hard since most of them do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad you got to try out your new snowshoes and hope to have you back again soon! (For people who don't have their own, we have 4 pairs for rent at our office.) Just 1/4 mile out from North Shore, Elephant Island is not only a manageable distance to snowshoe or cross-country ski- It's a really fun place to go sledding! We have spent many winter days pulling the kids up the east slope via snowmobile and letting them race back down. Great memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed in unit 5 from 1 March to 4 March. The room was clean, cozy, and very comfortable. And the view, oh my! I could have looked out of that window all day; it was magnificant. The changing weather made the clouds dance across the mountains; it was fascinating. We had fresh snow and were able to snowshoe right out in front.We were also able to cross country ski right there. It was such a treat to have easy access to winter activities. Everything was easy.
We cooked in, and found that we had everything we needed. There was plenty of storage space for all our foodstuffs and all our gear. The bed was comfortable. There was plenty of hot water for a leisurely shower and soft fluffy towels.
We felt relaxed and unstressed. It is a wonderful place for a getaway. The managers were kind and helpful. I can't wait to go back. Hopefully we will go up there before spring.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We're glad you had a great time! We love sharing the area and the property with our guests! From the sparkling winter snow to the spectacular alpenglow at sunset, the views are always amazing. The convenience of the property to snowmobiling,snowshoeing, cross country skiing and ice fishing, just can't be beat. We fell in love with North Shore long before we had the opportunity to manage it and we couldn't be happier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2013

With 2 children ages, 1 & 3, we lead a very busy life. This past weekend we decided to take a break from the day to day and enjoy a family weekend in the mountains. We couldn't be happier with our choice to stay at the North Shore Lodge. The comfortable cabin-style rooms were a great place to relax and enjoy hot cocoa in-between time spent snow-shoeing, sledding and making a snowman in the lodge's beautiful backyard. The best part was that we didn't have to get in the car to go anywhere all weekend! We simply walked out the backdoor and started playing. The stunning view of Lake Granby and Byers Mountain served as a perfect backdrop to all of our activities!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfox74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you so much for your sweet note! Our family spent five winters as seasonal renters at North Shore Resort before having the opportunity to manage the property. We loved staying there because of the easy access to outdoor activities- We have many great memories of pulling the kids on sleds behind the snowmobiles on the lake bed out back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Pros: clean bed comfortable

Cons: small, water dripped when shower on--had to bathe in the sink!!!
The lake--has been nonexistent for over 2 years--they are draining it to fill the other lakes. When we pulled up the office, I wanted to turn and run! Fortunately where we were staying was not there, but I wouldn't stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShoreMgmt, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
We're glad that you found our lodging to be clean and comfortable. We work very hard to make it that way! We're sorry that you found it too small- We have many room configurations for guest to choose from, from compact and inexpensive to roomy.

Your comment about the lake is not quite accurate: Lake Granby is a reservoir and as with all reservoirs water levels vary by year and by time of year. The entire region had record low snowpack last winter. As a result, the lake was very low this summer. Last summer (2011), it peaked 15' from our fire pit and the water board had to be careful not to flood us out!

Please accept our apologies that you had trouble with the shower. (We are addressing this issue.) However, we don't understand the need to "bathe in the sink" because some water dripped from the faucet when the shower was on.

We agree that our office is not very welcoming- Former management did not complete its conversion. Making it warm and welcoming is near the top of our very long "To Do" list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sand Springs, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

If you like to stay in a musty, run down, old appliances and furniture, and be talked to by a rude manager this place is for you! The "cabins" are extremely old! The refrigerator is literally a Frigidaire, at least from the early 60's. The bathroom was so tiny I barely fit into it. The bed in bedroom was not even nice! The place was very musty smelling! If you have breathing problems of any kind...this place is definitely NOT for you! I refused to stay there or pay one single dime to stay there! The manager then proceeded to tell us their cancellation policy. We had the confirmation notice! Nothing about policy. Nor was I told about policy during reservation process! Th managers were very rude to us about the policy. Basically called me a liar when I said I knew nothing about policy. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone, including my worst enemy!
If you like a rundown small place, rude managers then this is exactly the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShoreMgmt, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
We’re sorry that our lodging was not what you imagined. You may have been confused after talking to several different places and to us about several of our units. Each unit is unique. It’s very important to us that guests get what they expect and expect what they get, so we do our very best to provide accurate descriptions. (It’s certainly not to our advantage do differently!) There are plenty of pictures on our website and additional pictures, even of bathrooms, will be sent to you upon request.

The reservation you made and then cancelled at neighboring lodging, before booking with us, not only wasted their time, but probably cost them in bank processing fees. You admitted to us that you lied to them and said you weren’t going to be able to come on your trip to Grand Lake at all in order to cancel with them. Our only regret is not having paid more attention to that “red flag”.

A reservation, is for our benefit as well as yours; It is a commitment on our part to hold the room for you (not renting it to someone else, which we could easily have done given notice) and a commitment on your part to pay for it. We make a point of stating our cancellation policy immediately after customers willingly provide us with their credit card information to make a reservation and before processing their deposit. Our policies are available on our website and our booking engine and we’re always happy to explain anything you don’t understand. If for any reason you did not hear or were not able to access the policy, then it was your responsibility to ask before you booked and obtain travel insurance if you were uncertain. As far as not paying "one dime", we shall see, as we are contesting the credit card charge-back.

Although North Shore, like much of Grand Lake, was built in the 1950’s, we work very hard to keep it well maintained. This summer alone, it received new boardwalks, landscaping (new grass and sprinklers, 14 trees, big troughs of flowers), gravel in the parking area and complete exterior paint.

The unit you had booked was partially remodeled about a year ago, too: new sink, counter, shelf, couch, pictures, daybed, shower curtain and comforters. The bed is clean and comfortable. We had guests both before and after your scheduled stay, who loved Unit #6 and we have never received any complaints about odor, the bed or the bathroom being “so tiny they barely fit in to it.” Thirty-five square feet (slightly larger than the master bath in our new home) is certainly ample bathroom space for most adults.

We have several spare refrigerators ready to put in service at a moment’s notice, but opted to keep the old “workhorses” in that unit and several others, because the guests in our rustic lodging find them as charming as we do! (That’s a Westinghouse brand, by the way.) The dining table is very cool, too- a metal one from the 1950’s that expands via “wings on springs”.

We tell people that North Shore is “a single u-shaped building. The shared 150’ deck is at the bottom of the “u”. We never say that the units are free standing. Although it’s not our habit, it would not be inaccurate to call them “cabins” like our regular customers do, as there are several definitions of “cabin”.*

The “old dry land” you’re complaining about would be the lake bed and you were told that the water was quite far down (to the end of our pier) this year due to the drought that is affecting the entire region this year. Last summer the water was 15' from our fire pit. North Shore still puts you closer to the water than where you’d booked in town. You told the Credit card company there was "No mountain view"???! Only the Continental Divide in the background of Lake Granby.

Your choice to not stay was just that- your choice. The unit was accurately described, blocked out for you, clean, ready and available for your use. The cancellation policy was explained over the phone at the time of booking and was available via several other venues. Management was available to answer any questions prior to your scheduled stay.

We were disappointed that you decided not to stay with us, but we were certainly not rude to you. We are very proud to consistently receive the highest rankings possible for “friendliness and helpfulness of staff” on feedback cards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Very beautiful scenary on Lake Granby. The rooms are very clean and they have everything you need for a perfect getaway whether it be for a weekend trip or a longer stay. The accomadations are perfect for either a couple or a family vacation.You can enjoy the many great outdoor activities nearby year round. The property managers are always available and will take greta care of you! I am definately coming back to stay again.

Room Tip: Check with the managers to meet your needs and all of the rooms open up onto a great porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sc0tt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
4.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
504 reviews
5.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
8.2 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#5 of 8 in Granby
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
575 reviews
5.1 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
5.1 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#7 of 20 in Grand Lake
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Lodge

Property: North Shore Lodge
Address: 928 County Road 64, Grand Lake, CO 80447-8615
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside lodge on the North end of Lake Granby. A 150 ft back deck overlooks the lake and a 1/2 acre backyard with a fire pit, charcoal BBQ grills and rustic log seating. Gorgeous views of the Continental Divide and Lake Granby are available from almost every room. Average price is $129 and pet friendly. Kitchenettes stocked with basic cook ware and dining ware are in each unit. Full baths and all linens included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Shore Hotel Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing