We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Escape Cottages
Brighton, Colorado
1 review
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Location, location, location!!!! These cabins are located a few short steps to everything Grand Lake has to offer... The historic downtown board walk just 1/2 block to the west - leads to shops, restaurants, ice cream, candy, bowling… To the southwest – Grand Lake and the water front activities… And to the east side of the property - the river where we have spotted moose wetting their whistle. Speaking of the wildlife, we have often seen a fox or two right out our front/back door. Scenic hiking/snowshoeing trails are also within one mile of cabins.

Owners Mary & Tom make us feel like old family friends each and every time we come and are more than accommodating! Our group of 15-30 adults and children have rented 3 to 5 of the cabins located on the property for more than 12 years. (Deer Trail, Wolf Den, Brownie, Henry Snore & the Hummingbird) Each cabins décor has a warm, comfortable and inviting feel. All with different sleeping arrangements and all furnished with pots & pans, dishes, utensils, fridge, coffee pot, microwave, gas BBQ grills, towels, dish soap, and more. Some even have a fireplace you can cozy up to.

Whether you are looking for a place to get away enjoy the mountains, scenery and town or just sit back in a restful place, these cabins can accommodate your every wish. As for our family...being that we don't want to risk our rooms being rented for the next family vacation...we book them as soon as we check in!!! Great place to stay and you might find yourself doing the same, becoming a repeat guest year after year. Enjoy and thank you Mary & Tom for taking such great care of our family!!!

It is fun to watch the stirrings of town throughout your stay from either the Deer Trail or Henry Snore. These two cabins have a wonderful view of town.

Room Tip: The Deer Trail & Henry Snore have a wonderful view of town. It is fun to watch town evolve thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenBrightonCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Grand Escape Cottages is "our little cabin" in the mountains! Tom and Mary, the owners, know us by name and favorite cottage. We return each summer at least two times to enjoy comfortable accommodations at the end of Main Street. You can walk everywhere. Clean, neat and tidy with yearly improvements, I rebook our favorite cottage as we check out to ensure we get to be there the next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleburne, TX
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for one night. The owners were friendly and the cabin was clean. Location was near the lake at the end of downtown. One note- watch your speed around the lake. We were stopped way out of town for doing 42.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DickCleburne_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 5 nights. The location is wonderful. I would have given our stay an excellent rating if we had been in a different cabin.
The Mackinaw was the only cabin available for our 5 nights but it was very small. It was one room with comfortable queen bed and futon with only a narrow shelf and chairs for dining. No table. Not much room with the futon out as bed. The kitchen is very small but we managed to cook meals. The kitchen was not really clean. We found dirty dishes, the silverware holder needed cleaning, and there were spider webs. We thoroughly cleaned and washed all the dishes. Bathroom is very small with small shower and sink. Some people might have to squeeze through!
For 5 nights we were given 1 hand towel, 3 bath towels, 1 kitchen towel. There were no paper towels in kitchen.
Salt and pepper and coffee filters are provided so unless you are using the cabin as a hotel room you do need to bring everything you want for cooking. That is what we were expecting and we drove from home so we had everything we needed. There is a very small, overpriced grocery store in town.
We would recommend this place but not the Mackinaw Cabin. For the same rate you could get a much nicer cabin.

Room Tip: A cabin with a bedroom and a dining table would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage that was set up to sleep 6. It was a wonderful place. Fully furnished kitchen, surprisingly comfortable pull out couch, tv with cable & DVD player, board games, nice fireplace, BBQ, and swing outside... No complaints at all, I hope to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViolinVixen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

View As Web Page
GREAT LOCATION, VERY CLEAN, SUPER VIEW of lake and historic main street. Located at end of downtown -- very, very close to the lakeside and also to the shops, restaurants, but you still feel like you're in a getaway mountain cabin! Just the right mix of rustic, antique ambiance combined with the modern conveniences like updated kitchens, baths. Plus wi-fi and TV, both of which are hard to find in cabins in this area. We (husband or husband w/friends or family) have stayed here for about 10 years, coming 2-3 times a year. Stayed in 6 of the cabins - 1 and 2 bedrooms - and even though they are all different, they were all great! Highly recommend you check out the cabin info and pick the one that suits your needs. You won't be disappointed. I recommend most the ones with the fireplaces.

Room Tip: All the cabins/cottages have names.... Eagle's Nest has awesome views of lake and mtns, but lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonInColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My family of 3 and another family with 2 kids all stayed in the Wolf Den cottage and we were so impressed! The cottages are literally a stones throw from the lake, marina and walking distance to downtown Grand Lake. Each cottage is equipped with everything you would need, very clean and the owners have kept their rustic charm decor. You truly feel like you are far away from everything and can relax and enjoy all that Grand Lake has to offer. The service is beyond excellent too! The owners are super accommodating and make sure you are having a great time! We will never stay anywhere else in Grand Lake!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly32980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
1.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
16.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.2 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#10 of 20 in Grand Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Escape Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Escape Cottages

Property: Grand Escape Cottages
Address: 1204 Grand Ave, Grand Lake, CO
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing