We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to escape to.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Escape Cottages
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to escape to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here and are extremely pleased with the cleanliness, friendlyness and overalll wonderful treatment here. Mary the owner is a refreshing delight and saw to our every
need. Beatiful setting, great cabins with everything you need to unwind and relax. Stayed in Eagles Nest and enjoyed the sound of the flowing water and the views from the deck. Couldn't ask for anything else. Fantastic would highly recommend!

Room Tip: talk to the owner and explain your needs. They are very eager to helo you find what you want and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelA322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband has been vacationing here since he was young. We have traveled here every year the past few years with our children--including 10 days last year . Each time, we are not disappointed. The cabins are clean with a rustic, mountain decor but all of the modern conveniences--a full kitchen, wi-fi, tv. We like being able to cook ourselves or take a 2 minute walk to restaurant on main street or to get ice cream at Polly's Sweet Shop. Having a bbq grill is a nice touch, and it's nice to sit outside in the evenings. The owners are very nice and friendly and will respond to any question or concern. We love the location as well, with walking access to the main street, marina, and restaurants. We also enjoy walking down to the Rocky Mountain Repertory Theater, which puts on professional Broadway-style shows. Grand Lake has great access to the Rocky Mountain National Park and miles of hiking trails. Sombrero Stables in town is nice for a mountain horseback ride. It's a wonderful place for a family vacation. We will be returning again over Labor Day and can't wait to get to Grand Lake!.

Room Tip: Our favorite cabin is Brownie. Plenty of room to spread out. Deer Trail is nice, too, but one can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sonnet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We love the Grand Escape Cottages! This was our 5th family vacation in Grand Lake, CO; every time we visit we stay at the Grand Escape Cottages. The cabins are conveniently located at the end of the main street and in walking distance to the marina. There are several great hiking trails nearby and the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park is only a few miles away. Not only is the location great, but so are the cabins. They are clean and comfortable. We enjoy cooking and grilling at the cabins and then eating on one of the outdoor tables. There is space near the Brownie, Deer Trail and Henry Schooner cabins for outdoor games, like ring toss, which is fantastic!! We cannot wait to bring our family and friends again next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is the second summer we have vacationed in the Grand Escape cottages. The Rendezvous cottage boasts hi-speed internet, a wall-mounted TV, and a renovated/rustic decor. We especially enjoyed the covered outdoor eating area in view of the North Inlet rapids - love the sound of fresh flowing mountain water! The owners are available 24-7 and give great customer service greeting their return guests by name. The cottages are very clean, but our favorite reason for staying at Grand Escape is the location. Situated at the end of Main Street, everything is within walking distance which adds to the "vacation resort" feel. Family members wanting to head in different directions don't have to rely on a vehicle to get them there. Boating, Bingo in the Park, and the Rocky Mountain National Repertory Theater are must-dos, along with hiking, great shopping, and delicious eateries of all sorts. Make a reservation soon at Grand Escape - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stood in the Lakeview cabin for a couple days,it was clean,very small. There were four of us, and only one futon to sit on in the living area,picnic table and bbq were in an odd location, basically right next to our vehicle, since parking is so tight,and cabins are very close to eachother, no view, just a dirt road and a row of trees, we could hear the river it was a close walk to the lake, very crowded,my kids did enjoy kayaking and fishing on the opposite side of the lake, which was much quieter and we saw a moose. Overall, it was nice,but very pricey for the cabin.I probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livelovelaugh3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in the lake house cabin. Great location right on the lake. Great view although the cabin has no place really to sit outside to enjoy it. There is a boat dock, which if you rent or have a boat is great. Also if you bring your own chairs that is a great place to sit and enjoy the view.

The cabins were described in some reviews as "rustic". The lake house went WAY beyond rustic...it was filthy! Cob webs everywhere with tons of bugs caught in them. floor was gross and super old. Kitchen was dirty. Place hadn't been dusted this century. Beds were OK. On top of all that our 6 year old found 2 magazines of bullets for a 38 magnum. What the hell!? There was also medication (in arms reach of a child) that expired 15 years ago and spices and random boxed food in the kitchen that also expired over 10 years ago.

Just gross...
Grand lake is beautiful but I would recommend enjoying it from another location

Room Tip: Do not stay at the lake house cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is ideally situated in very close proximity to both Grand Lake, great hiking trails and the mountain town itself. It's a great location especially for people with kids as there are so many things to do in a very short distance. The proprietors are very friendly and a good source of tips on how to experience the best places and how to save a few dollars here and there. The very nearby hiking trails (my favorite) offer a true rocky mountain experience with plenty of wild life, beautiful meadows and skill levels for all hikers, but the Lake offers everything... well... that lakes offer. Great cabins - truly first rate, with full kitchen and as many amenities as a mountain cabin could reasonably offer. Never seen so many hummingbirds in all my live. A true Rocky Mountain experience at its finest. Definitely going back next year.

Room Tip: The "Brownie" cottage probably offers the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
1.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Pine Cone Cottages
#4 of 7 in Grand Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
18.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.2 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#10 of 20 in Grand Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Escape Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Escape Cottages

Property: Grand Escape Cottages
Address: 1204 Grand Ave, Grand Lake, CO
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing