We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
Review of Grand Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
south brunswick NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Was there in August for my daughter's wedding. We stayed at the Ford Cabin - it was actually very comfortable although smaller than I thought - but still worked out fine for us. We had a number of people staying with us over several days. Kitchen/living room is great and so was the screened in porch. Beautiful view of the lake as well. The dorm style bedroom which sleeps total of nine people is small, but we made it work! Large screen TV in the living room is the only TV in the cabin. It has 2 bathrooms with showers in each so that was good. Food at the Lodge was very good and staff was helpful as well. We ended up with the ceremony and the wedding itself inside as the weather was a bit stormy, but the wedding reception was lovely and comfortable too. Food at the reception was very good. Views from the reception site were incredible, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacsouthbrunswickNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    71
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
60
77
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Attended my brothers wedding here and what a disappointment for them. The one plus is the beautiful view.
The cons:
The wedding planner was worthless and unfortunately to late to be fired 30 minutes before the ceremony.
The path to the wedding site is treacherous and do NOT expect older guests to be able to make the wk down or anyone in heels.
This is lack of upkeep on the lodges part.
The rooms/cabins are extremely small and overpriced.
The wedding cake had a mysterious disaster and was 3 hours late.
The lodge allowed motel dining guests to come into the reception to eat.
Beware do not waste your money here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmer101859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have waited several years to stay at Grand Lake Lodge and was actually very disappointed. The cabin we were put in was very nice, but our view was of the back of another building facing away from the lake. Why would anyone want to stay on the lake and face away from it? They seem to have stacked as many cabins as possible in a small area and few have a view of the lake. Now the Lodge is beautiful and has many possibilities of viewing the lake, but you can't stay in the Lodge.
We also checked in around 4:00 p.m. that day and at 12:40 a.m. I got a call from the LODGE asking me if we were going to check in. I told them we were sound asleep in our cabin already. They apologized and hung up the phone.
The water pressure in the shower was minimal, but a nicely updated shower.
Honestly, I would not stay here again. Cabins are nice but ours had no view at all.
The staff in the restaurant was outstanding. Extremely nice and very efficient. Food was very good but a little pricey for what you got. Overall, I would rate our experience a 5 on a scale of 1 to 10. They have the most beautiful location, but the cabins facing away from the lake are not worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin FACING the lake, otherwise you will be looking at the back of buildings or a parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njoythejurne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Warning that pictures online of the cabins make them appear bigger than they really are. They are TINY! We had a junior cabin, which we were told had two queen beds. Perfect for a family of four, we thought. In actuality it was a queen and a sofa bed right next to each other. When the sofa bed was open, you could not walk around the room. No closets to hang your clothes, either. The bathroom was dirty, lots of hair and dust everywhere, and tiny as well. Parking was first come first serve, so we had to park across the complex which made it a pain to unload the car.

All that said, the staff was very nice and the food was okay. Only complaint was that not many employees spoke English. Grand Lake is a very rustic town and this facility fit in with that. Great view of the lake from the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chsirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked our reservation 6 weeks in advance and specifically requested a cabin with a view of the lake. When we checked in we were given a cabin at the back of the complex with a view of the parking lot and another cabin. The person who checked us in said that none of the cabins have a lake view, but when we drove up the hill to the area, we saw that in fact many of them faced the lake. The cabin itself was OK, but the bathroom was dirty and had many long hairs in the bathtub. There is very little water pressure. For $150 a night, one would hope for a bit more, and certainly that the staff would make some effort to satisfy requests. Don't be fooled by the name; most of the cabins have nothing to do with the lake. You have to wait in line to sit on one of the swings by the restaurant to see the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cp9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
255 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed in a duplex cabin with a sofa bed. They have been refurbished. The room was very cute. The bed was very comfortable. The shower was nice. The grounds are amazing. The view from the porch could not be beaten. Loved sitting in the rocking chairs on the porch. The swimming pool is nice and warm and I loved it. My husband almost fell asleep in the hot tub...it was so relaxing. The area is gorgeous. The trees are gone because of the beetles....but the view of the mountains is wonderful. The manager was always around and always smiling and asking us how we were doing. The girl who checked us in was from Kentucky and was excited to see people from Indiana...so close to her home. I was impressed with the staff. I loved this place. BUT do be advised that the cabins are small....very small...and it was cramped with three of us in this room. When the sofa bed was open...there was really no room for our stuff. But we knew they were small when we booked. So we managed. But the rooms are small.

Room Tip: If you want more space...book a whole cabin instead of a duplex cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed here with a friend & our 2 boys. I thought the place perfect for a quiet get-a-way. We had 2 1/2 cabins which connected via a door that could be locked. The cabins were clean, inside & out ( no spider webs or creepy bugs outside) the beds were comfortable & they were not shy with the towels & wash cloths. The pool! Even though it was chilly for July , the pool was a very warm temperature & the hot tub was close by. The front desk was great-another place in town had messed up our reservation & grand lake lodge was so considerate & accommodating even at such late notice. Thanks guys! I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
16.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
17.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lake Lodge

Property: Grand Lake Lodge
Address: 15500 US Hwy 34, PO Box 2239, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Colorado Summer Mountain Lodge offering a variety of rustic cabins. Grand Lake Lodge is surrounded on three sides by Rocky Mountain National Park, perched on a hill side overlooking Grand Lake Village, Grand Lake, and Shadow Mountain Reservoir. Full service restaurant. The Grand Lake Lodge is open late May to early October yearly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing