We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good view and just by the RMNP entrance”
Review of Grand Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good view and just by the RMNP entrance”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

These are actually cabins-2 cabins attached side by side. Our cabin was 51. Perfect for two adults or one child but not three adults. You can walk around the facility and they have a patio where you can sit with a great view of the lake. They also have a swimming pool facing the lake. The restaurant also has a view of the lake. However, I would not recommend eating there, instead explore Grand Lake downtown area and they have variety of eating places to choose from and better prices. After lunch at the lodge restaurant, we had dinner at Sagebrush grill- good food and reasonably priced with good portions. The lodge is at a good location and probably much better value than staying at a place in Estes Park, which is the opposite side of the park from Grand Lake.
If you are looking for luxury and comfort, this is not your place and you will be disappointed. The experience staying here will be a few notches up than camping.
This place is old and at 9000+ feet above sea level. These cabins are owned by the same company which owns Sylvan Lake Lodge and other lodges in Custer State Park in Custer South Dakota. They are not too much concerned about customer service. Most of their help consist of students, exchange foreign students, who really don't care or know about the customer service or care.
If you are in the area for one night and two adults, the cost of the cabin is around $153 for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shujaul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    71
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
60
77
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The view from the Lodge is Awesome- overlooks Grand Lake and Shadow Mountain! I highly recommend cabin 17 or 18- the porch oversees the 2 lakes! Beautiful Sunset from your little porch! The rooms are small and no air conditioning but cools down in the evening! The swimming pool has a great view of the two lakes...so amazing!! The lodge is close to RMNP- so can hike all day then come back for a swim. Cute town close by. Loved all the wild flowers on the hikes in RMNP.

Room Tip: Cabin 17 and 18 view the lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianePNNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

With the large bedroom area and rustic decorations, this is a wonderful place to stay. The only downfall is the small bathroom. Large, comfortable beds and beautiful views. You won't spend much time in your room though with so much to see and do in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Grand Lake Lodge was an excellent place to stay as a jumping off point for adventures on the west side of Rocky Mtn National Park. The main lodge is not to be missed with a huge front porch, central fireplace, porch swings indoors and out. Our half cabin bunk room was small and slept 3 but it was a good thing we were all related. It would be really tight quarters for acquaintances. The main lodge has a heated pool, and we hung out in the game room to play ping pong. Our cabin was clean and parking was convenient. If you're looking for luxury and plan to spend the majority of your stay in your room, you should look elsewhere. But if you want the real Colorado national park experience there is no better place to stay. The only negative feature for us was that the lodge restaurant was a little pricey and the menu was a little fancy for our needs. However, the lodge is right up the hill from the town of grand lake which has a boardwalk street with great restaurants and a fantastic coffee shop we visited every day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverrat3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The cabin was clean, updated and comfortable and we had a great view of Grand Lake. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, room and basketball court. We found the staff friendly and helpful and we enjoyed visiting with them. The location is convenient to RMNP and to town. Worked out perfect for us and we had a great trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Property is located just a few minutes from the West Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and only about 10 minutes from the center of Grand Lake.

Cabin contained a full-size bed, sofa pull-out couch, TV, refrigerator, microwave and bureau for storage. Room was very tight and space was at a premium. The bed was pushed up to the wall and when the sofa bed was pulled-out at night there was no way to exit the room as the sofa bed was in front of the door. With luggage and three people in the room, the room was very crowded. There is no AC but that was really not an issue as it got quite cool at night and the heat even kicked-on a few times. No issue with noise and we slept well. Resort does have free Wi-Fi but it did not work the evening we were there; it was working in the morning as we departed.

Bathroom itself was surprisingly large, however, the shower (newer and nicely done) was very small -- maybe 3 x 3 or so and contained a newer vanity. There was also a slight slope to the floor in the bathroom.

Main building on property contained a gift shop, restaurant, and nice sitting area around a large fireplace. The front-porch provided great views of Grand Lake and mountains and there are large swings on the porch to allow one to sit and enjoy the view. There is a heated pool not too far from the front porch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerwny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Grand Lake Lodge is situated on a very scenic location overlooking Grand lake. The view from the lodge is spectacular. The cabins, however, do not share the same view. For the price per night (starting at around $140), the cabins were lacking in quality. The accommodations, while not the worst that I've seen, were not what expected for the price. The walls were also extremely thin and the housekeeping staff seemed to get going rather early using loud ATVs to get around.
The floor in the cabin had a very noticeable slant towards the door; so much so that the bathroom door would not stay open unless you blocked it with something. The shower in the bathroom was tiny and very hard to move around in. All in all, it is one place that I don't think I need to stay at again - it was not a $145 per night quality accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rleonard74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
16.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
17.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lake Lodge

Property: Grand Lake Lodge
Address: 15500 US Hwy 34, PO Box 2239, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Colorado Summer Mountain Lodge offering a variety of rustic cabins. Grand Lake Lodge is surrounded on three sides by Rocky Mountain National Park, perched on a hill side overlooking Grand Lake Village, Grand Lake, and Shadow Mountain Reservoir. Full service restaurant. The Grand Lake Lodge is open late May to early October yearly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing