We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have been better”
Review of Grand Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Lake Lodge
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our first stay after the new owners reopened the lodge. The cabins have been extensively upgraded, but could have been better. The spacious bathroom has a tiny shower stall you can barely turn around in. Lots of unused space around the commode would allow for a much larger shower. The vanity was tiny. A larger vanity would easily fit in the unused space. The blank wall next to the vanity could have had towel rods or shelves for toiletries. The queen bed was OK but was pushed up next to a wall so that one person would have to crawl down to the foot of the bed, or over the other sleeping person in order to exit the bed. There was a nice 3 - person couch although the bed only accommodates 2. TV a bit small, but OK. There were 2 clothes hooks in lieu of a closet. 5 or 6 hooks spaced apart for clothes hangers would have been nice. Heaters in both rooms was appreciated as it gets nippy at night in September. We will return for the view and the lodge even though the cabin is not exactly a bargin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We attended a lovely wedding -- held on a beautiful deck/porch overlooking the Grand Lake views.
The reception was in an indoor/outdoor patio area nearby (steep stairs - be careful in heels!!) that also was rustic, lovely and had great views of the lakes and mountains nearby. The Lodge catering staff did a great job and were friendly, smiling, upbeat and yet in the background. The BBQ chicken, corn, cornbread we had was very tasty and freshly prepared. For the event space - it seems the only restrooms are back up the very steep stairs - a few older wedding guests found this a little tough.
The staff were able to open and close some clear, plastic type window coverings as the weather kept changing from warm the slight rainy breeze and later they lit some space heater lanterns.
Our friends who hosted the wedding seemed very happy with the staff, etc. We didn't stay at the Lodge only bc of high price and they were all booked up already (I waited too long).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CONearNative1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The view of Grand Lake and surrounding mountains is unique-- a magnificent site to view the abundant beauty of the area. And that's what you go there for, luckily. Because other than the main lodge building , the hotel itself is little more than a series of small, uncomfortable motel rooms. Describing these as 'cabins' is misleading.

Yes, there are mini-fidges and microwaves in the rooms. Yes, the tiny bathrooms have been updated. But the rooms are cramped, ugly and no better than a cheap motel- even for someone who expects and even enjoys 'rustic' accomodations.
No house phone, so no way to contact the desk. End-table /reading lights on one side of bed only. No closets and no hangers for the motel-style wall-mounted hangar-bar.
No air conditioning or fans. Broken venetian blind and tv did not work in our room.
They mixed up the reservation, so my daughter, son in law and grandson did not get the room with pull out sofa I had reserved, had to put a very uncomfortable cot in the room instead.
Her room did not get cleaned /replenished on one of the 2 days we spent there.
The soda/water vending machine along the path to the 'cabins' was inoperative.

Lodge restaurant food was decent, on par for the area, but service was slow and unprofessional.
The desk clerk's attitude ranged from indifferent to uncooperative. No maps of the area available.

A visiting cousin left her cell-phone behind, and when I tried to get information to have a UPS or Fedex pickup to send it back to her-- of course I'd have made all the arrangements--the clerk 'didn't want to be responsible' for the package- and told me to take it to Granby myself.

We've travelled to these mountains many times over the years and hope to visit Grand Lake again-- wonderful pontoon boat rental on Grand Lake, great wildlife viewing, and the pool & spa were very clean and enjoyable-- but we won't stay at this lodge again if we can find better accomodations with a similar view. You should get more for what they're charging.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I booked this lodge after a short search for some kind of cabin type lodging in Grand Lake, Colorado. This 90 year old lodge has the best views of anywhere in the Grand Lake area. The cabin are all like a duplex cabin. Small bathroom/shower, sink is in the bedroom but up to date, clean and very charming. The main lodge has a resturant/bar and seating that look over the lake and town. Swimming pool is heated and the hot tub is well kept. Can't go wrong with the views. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a lake view and if you do get one there's benchs outside the rooms to sit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We shared a cabin with family/friends at Grand Lake Lodge in August - my boyfriend and I had one side of the cabin and his brother's family had the other side. The room was small and rustic but the bath is pretty nicely updated. Pro: Comfortable bed, coffee maker, small fridge in the room, heater in the bath/shower room as well as a tv (which we didn't even turn on but it's there). Con: Small room (fine if you are only staying a night or two), the water pressure was non-existent and parking could be a bit of a confusing challenge (we were told our cabin had a parking space where there actually was no parking space --?). There was no air conditioning but it gets cool enough at night to just open the window so it never felt hot or stuffy (in fact, I had to turn on the heater in the bathroom in the morning). We were not on the front row of cabins but we just happened to have a clear view down to the lake which was beautiful. Eating in the dining room was nice but expensive (we ate both dinner and breakfast). While waiting to be seated you have the option of browsing through their gift shop or playing old-time family friendly games by the couches. There is also a bar in the main room if you are interested in something to wet your whistle. After dinner, we relaxed on the swings on the large porch then took a stroll down the Nuptial Knoll - the walk down was a little dicey but you had an outstanding view to enjoy at the end. Other things to do around Grand Lake: Rent scooters, take a canoe or kayak out from the marina, there is also a great coffee shop in the middle of town I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickel_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent 4 nights at Grand Lake Lodge with our kids and my mom. We were awed by the view and the grounds, and pleasantly surprised by the very personalized service we received from the manager, Jeff. He pointed us in the direction of fun, kid-friendly activities, and greeted us (and other guests) by name. The young staff are enthusiastic and are clearly receiving a great training in hospitality. My kids LOVED the heated pool, the hot tub was great, and the horse stables on site were perfect. We wound up with a ride for just our family through RMNP. The walk into town is steep, but the views are so great you won't even notice it. Very convenient to RMNP- you can hike into it right from your cabin. My kids are already asking when we can go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

These are actually cabins-2 cabins attached side by side. Our cabin was 51. Perfect for two adults or one child but not three adults. You can walk around the facility and they have a patio where you can sit with a great view of the lake. They also have a swimming pool facing the lake. The restaurant also has a view of the lake. However, I would not recommend eating there, instead explore Grand Lake downtown area and they have variety of eating places to choose from and better prices. After lunch at the lodge restaurant, we had dinner at Sagebrush grill- good food and reasonably priced with good portions. The lodge is at a good location and probably much better value than staying at a place in Estes Park, which is the opposite side of the park from Grand Lake.
If you are looking for luxury and comfort, this is not your place and you will be disappointed. The experience staying here will be a few notches up than camping.
This place is old and at 9000+ feet above sea level. These cabins are owned by the same company which owns Sylvan Lake Lodge and other lodges in Custer State Park in Custer South Dakota. They are not too much concerned about customer service. Most of their help consist of students, exchange foreign students, who really don't care or know about the customer service or care.
If you are in the area for one night and two adults, the cost of the cabin is around $153 for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shujaul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
16.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.4 mi away
Lone Eagle Lodge
Lone Eagle Lodge
#10 of 20 in Grand Lake
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#15 of 20 in Grand Lake
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lake Lodge

Address: 15500 US Hwy 34, PO Box 2239, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: £66 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Colorado Summer Mountain Lodge offering a variety of rustic cabins. Grand Lake Lodge is surrounded on three sides by Rocky Mountain National Park, perched on a hill side overlooking Grand Lake Village, Grand Lake, and Shadow Mountain Reservoir. Full service restaurant. The Grand Lake Lodge is open late May to early October yearly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Grand Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing