We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb hotel and situation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A superb hotel and situation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

The hotel was in a lovely position overlooking the lake and near the centre of the town.
We had a room on the second floor and this gave us a lovely view when sitting on the balcony.
The room was very good with a refrigerator and microwave and whilst there was no breakfast- which we knew when booking, it was good to be able to get coffee from the coffee room from 9 a.m. onwards. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Grand lake.

Room Tip: A second floor room gives the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howard435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    81
    14
    11
    7
See reviews for
79
98
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anthony, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a nice, quaint place to stay. We are staying here with our family of six, and have no complaints at all. It has a wonderful enclosed courtyard, and I feel very safe here. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniferR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed mid-week, when the town is a little quieter than weekends, and we got 50% off on our third night. The lakefront cabin room was small, but clean. Little dorm-room refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker with one-night's coffee - but hot coffee, cocoa, and tea available free each morning up at the main lobby. My favorite thing was the chairs on the front porch - where I sat each morning, watching the mist rise from the lake. In the afternoon sailboats were dancing across the lake, and one evening a lone waterskier kicked up huge fantails in the waning light. Very relaxing! We hiked every day - many trailheads, some straight into Rocky Mountain National Park. Food choices ranged from gourmet to BBQ to pizza and sweetshops. Wednesday nights there's a free concert in the town park, and theater fans can see high-quality drama at the Rocky Mountain Repertory Theater. Grand Lake is unpretentious, friendly, and genuinely Western.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovesExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

The Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging and Events Center was the perfect setting for our family reunion. The Courtyard cabins were filled entirely by extended family and we enjoyed the cozy feeling of all being together and having that be the gathering point for many activities.
Many others filled in at the Lakeside cabins, many rooms at the motel and Eagles Spirit Condominiums.
The staff at Western Riviera was fantastic in accomodating many special requests. We asked that some people switch rooms from the original reservations and that billing be split up in different ways. Every request was fulfilled with a smile.
The centerpiece of the reunion was dinner for 100 at the Lakeside Event Center. What a amazing venue for any event. Indoor and outdoor seating, great views and wonderful food.
Jon and Alyda provided the catering services without a hitch. This is the second big event we have held in Grand Lake but the first time working with Jon and Alyda and we were extremely pleased. Plenty of food at a reasonable price and a GREAT staff.
We love the Western Riviera!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hynespd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
260 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Reading prior reviews of this very nice place makes you realize that it's all about expectations. This is not a fancy place. It's a somewhat old, dated, spotlessly clean and well-located motel with a great location right on the water, but the rooms overlook the parking lot which is between the motel and the lake and beach. The west side of the park, and Grand Lake in particular, are so much nicer, quieter and more authentically western than the east. The king-size bed was comfortable, the bathroom adequate, and even with the place full, the noise settled down to total quiet at about 10:00 PM. It's quirky--if you want maid service you need to put out a notice on the doorknob before 10:00 AM. There's free brewed coffee in the morning. We had prepaid for four nights, but noticed on TripAdvisor a promotion for the third night at 1/2 price. When mentioned to the proprietor, he immediately credited us with a 1/2 night's cost. No hassle. Nicely done.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The accommodations and environment were unfortunately not up to 3, 4 or 5 star quality. There were several issues. 1. All the rooms with the "Lake View" also have a parking lot view and a noisy one at that. There was no lake view because we had to keep the curtains closed from passers-by looking directly into our room. 2. The tiny room itself appeared clean, but was shabby and smelly, the bed was old and sagged in the middle. And quite frankly we were afraid of potential bed bugs. 3. The desk clerk was rude and abrupt when we inquired if we could move to a room off the parking lot sidewalk and he simply said "Nope". He then informed me that for and extra $40 we could pay for a room that supposedly solved many of these problems. We were charged $150 per night for this substandard environment. So we left. We were also disappointed in the town it self. It was much more touristy than we hoped for.

Room Tip: All rooms faced the parking lot with view of the lake beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Whoalora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Outstanding time in Grand Lake again. This time for a family reunion with 100 guests
from Colorado, Wisconsin, Ohio, and Texas. Thank you Mike and Jackie for helping us get the best accomodations in Grand Lake. We loved every minute of it, including a great BBQ at your cabins, and wonderful venue for our catered dinner. Beautiful weather, accomodations, and surrondings. So enjoyed our long weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThorntonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.7 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
16.7 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
17.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
17.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events

Property: Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Address: 419 Garfield Street, PO Box 1286, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lake, Colorado lakeside hotel, cabins, condos & wedding venue at west entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. All properties within walking distance to shops, restaurants and activities. Offering outdoor year round fun from boating and hiking to snowmobiling, ice fishing, Nordic Skiing, snowshoeing and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging And Events
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events Hotel Grand Lake
Western Riviera Lakeside Hotel
Western Riviera Lakeside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing