We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This hotel is very close to Rocky Mountain National Park. We found Grand Lake to be very enjoyable and the hotel is within walking distances to resturants. As other reviewers have noticed the rooms are dated, however they are clean and after hiking all day that is all that really matters.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessicaclark81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here for a night while travelling through the mountains. The hotel is perfectly situated right on the edge of Grand Lake - a really beautiful location.

Upon arriving I was a little disappointed with the room. It seemed in desperate need of an update with tired looking furniture, bed and carpets. Normally this wouldn't have bothered me, but after paying approximately £100 for a night it didn't strike me as fabulous value. The view from the room of the lake is beautiful if a tiny bit spoilt by the car park which is the first thing you see when looking out!

Another minor point is no coffee or tea making facilities are provided within the rooms. This is not a major inconvenience but I did find this a little strange. It's worth pointing out that coffee making facilities are provided within a communal room behind the reception area, and there is obviously nothing stopping you getting a coffee and taking it back to your room.

As positives, the hotel provides free car parking and internet access.

I wouldn't have a problem staying here again with hindsight of knowing what to expect. However, I do think the price charged is quite excessive considering what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Saking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed here for a quick weekend getaway based on the rave reviews here. The location was excellent, right on the main street and with a perfect view of the lake. We were definitely disappointed with the room and outdated furniture and amenities. As on review states, it's like a dorm room for $130+/night. At that price, you'd expect a lot better. The bed was not comfortable. I didn't sleep well and woke up with a backache. The room and bathroom were clean, however, we're just put off with the old bedspread and dark carpets. I don't think we got the value we paid for.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jags3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This place was amazing !!! Rooms were spotless and updated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. You can't get any closer to the lake. Beautiful views !!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dethwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Perfect location for walking around town and enjoying the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RaceyStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The hotel was in a lovely position overlooking the lake and near the centre of the town.
We had a room on the second floor and this gave us a lovely view when sitting on the balcony.
The room was very good with a refrigerator and microwave and whilst there was no breakfast- which we knew when booking, it was good to be able to get coffee from the coffee room from 9 a.m. onwards. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Grand lake.

Room Tip: A second floor room gives the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howard435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a nice, quaint place to stay. We are staying here with our family of six, and have no complaints at all. It has a wonderful enclosed courtyard, and I feel very safe here. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JenniferR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.7 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
16.7 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
511 reviews
18.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,524 reviews
19.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events

Address: 419 Garfield Street, PO Box 1286, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range: £82 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lake, Colorado lakeside hotel, cabins, condos & wedding venue at west entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. All properties within walking distance to shops, restaurants and activities. Offering outdoor year round fun from boating and hiking to snowmobiling, ice fishing, Nordic Skiing, snowshoeing and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events Hotel Grand Lake
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging And Events
Western Riviera Lakeside Hotel
Western Riviera Lakeside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing