We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special lakeside motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband & I love Grand Lake & have been staying there for over 6 years, and have stayed all over town & in the country as well. We appreciate the small town attitude & hospitality that we experience there. The Riviera staff is very accomodating & kind. And oh, the view from our motel room... There is none like it...Rocky Mountains & lake. We had a very nice clean suite with a good deal of privacy & many thoughtful amenities. I love the Keurig in the room... so nice to have that first cup of coffee before leaving the room. I also noticed a coffee bar in the lobby. You are next door to everything from this motel. The nice bakery & coffee shop is literally next door & the center of town a block away, and the Lake is your front yard. You park your car & walk, and it is a delightful adventure. I would highly recommend it to someone wanting the conveniences of a motel & the lake view. They are doing upgrades to the rooms with new bedding (beds are very comfortable, slept great), carpet, tile and paint, and using the eco-friendly beetle kill pine trim for a more rustic mountain look. Highly recommend for a couple or family. This motel has a unique location, being the only lakeside motel in Grand Lake, so it is a truly special place. GL has a long history of being a summer getaway for the affluent from Denver, so actually being on GL is special as there are few homes under a million dollars on the lake. The price of a motel room seems pretty reasonable for the view.

Room Tip: Get on the website & look at all the room locations. They have facilities all over town, ours wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carbomommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed one night here last week and truly enjoyed my stay .The view from my second story room was of the lake and very nice.The room was quite and clean.There were lost of extras in the room like a goodie basket and bathroom treats.The lady who checked me in was nice as well.The town is not much but the lake is nice and peaceful.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vetgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed three nights in this wonderful motel and loved it. We wanted to see different areas of Colorado, and we knew that Rocky Mountain National Park was a must-see. We luckily booked Memorial Day Weekend, which was the first day that Estes Park Hwy 34 opened. Stunning 2 hour drive to Grand Lake. We arrived and the town reminded us of an old western scene with boardwalks, free parking, and quaint little shops. The shop owners were so so friendly-- you must talk to them personally to know their stories. The prices in stores were reasonable for the unique finds. I wanted to bring back souvenirs for family/friends, but I couldn't help but to snag some for myself as well.

We had a great experience at Western Riviera. The view was just great-- walking distance to the boardwalk for the sunset (we tried the sunrise but couldn't wake up at 4am), walking distance to the kayak outfitters, and walking distance to the shops and restaurants around town. A short 5 min drive to beautiful Adam's Falls-- we went here at least once every day.

Everything was clean and comfortable. Simple living. Don't come expecting luxury. Expect a sincerely peaceful experience that inspires you to be outdoors. On a slightly more negative note, the walls were pretty thin, so we could hear other people. Try the second floor, but I wouldn't worry too much about it. You most likely won't have a problem anyway because it typically has vacancies--- not many find this hidden gem.

The final night of our trip we stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Denver, CO and wished that we were back at Grand Lake in Western Riviera. Give it a try--you're bound to love it if you enjoy simple living and good times.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keylimepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The girl in the office was a sweetheart and helpful. Rooms are very typical motel type rooms. Nothing great. But our view was amazing. Looking out over the whole lake and just breath taking. As we were there in mid May there was only one other party there at the time. Room smelled musty and we had to air it out. Would stay again but don't think I would for a stay of any length. We were there for just one night. A neat little town, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imtonif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

It was a delight to experience this motel! The staff are kind and focused on their customers. The view is amazing and the surrounding area is peaceful. The food was delicious and it was delightful to sip morning coffee with such wonderful scenery. What a great choice this was!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zinni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have stayed at this motel many times over the years. The lakeside view is awesome whether in Winter or Summer. We prefer to stay on the second level both to maximize the view and to minimize any noise from above. The motel itself is not "grand", it IS homey and rustic and just what I would expect in Grand Lake. All contact we have had with motel staff has been helpful and friendly. We will stay here again on future trips to a welcoming and lovely village.

Room Tip: Second level will reduce noise that naturally occurs in a building of this age.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meredithk231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternRiviera, General Manager at Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Western Riviera and Grand Lake. We are pretty fond of this gem of a village too and all it has to offer year round. We hope to see you out here with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We attended a college reunion in the fall, and it was absolutely wonderful! We stayed in one of the cabins overlooking Grand Lake, and it was gorgeous. The room was very nice, with picnic tables out on the deck, perfect for coffee in the morning, or happy hour in the afternoon. We shopped in the town one afternoon, and found all of the people to be very friendly and courteous. A boat ride around Grand Lake was the highlight of the weekend. It was great to be there in late October, after the summer crowds were gone. The aspen were turning, and when we left we went through Rocky Mountain National Park. This is a great place to stay, we are definitely going back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beegirl615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.7 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
16.7 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
19.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events

Address: 419 Garfield Street, PO Box 1286, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range: £81 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lake, Colorado lakeside hotel, cabins, condos & wedding venue at west entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. All properties within walking distance to shops, restaurants and activities. Offering outdoor year round fun from boating and hiking to snowmobiling, ice fishing, Nordic Skiing, snowshoeing and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events Hotel Grand Lake
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging And Events
Western Riviera Lakeside Hotel
Western Riviera Lakeside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing