We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
157
108
18
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
108
18
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house restaurants and shopping antique boat fabulous location view of the lake in town complimentary coffee family reunion tables and chairs office staff long weekend housekeeping service rocky mountain park the main street room was very clean and comfortable within walking distance enjoy the view
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed one night here last week and truly enjoyed my stay .The view from my second story room was of the lake and very nice.The room was quite and clean.There were lost of extras in the room like a goodie basket and bathroom treats.The lady who checked me in was nice as well.The town is not much but the lake is nice and peaceful.

Room tip: Second floor overlooking lake
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vetgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed three nights in this wonderful motel and loved it. We wanted to see different areas of Colorado, and we knew that Rocky Mountain National Park was a must-see. We luckily booked Memorial Day Weekend, which was the first day that Estes Park Hwy 34 opened. Stunning 2 hour drive to Grand Lake. We arrived and the town reminded us of an old western scene with boardwalks, free parking, and quaint little shops. The shop owners were so so friendly-- you must talk to them personally to know their stories. The prices in stores were reasonable for the unique finds. I wanted to bring back souvenirs for family/friends, but I couldn't help but to snag some for myself as well.

We had a great experience at Western Riviera. The view was just great-- walking distance to the boardwalk for the sunset (we tried the sunrise but couldn't wake up at 4am), walking distance to the kayak outfitters, and walking distance to the shops and restaurants around town. A short 5 min drive to beautiful Adam's Falls-- we went here at least once every day.

Everything was clean and comfortable. Simple living. Don't come expecting luxury. Expect a sincerely peaceful experience that inspires you to be outdoors. On a slightly more negative note, the walls were pretty thin, so we could hear other people. Try the second floor, but I wouldn't worry too much about it. You most likely won't have a problem anyway because it typically has vacancies--- not many find this hidden gem.

The final night of our trip we stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Denver, CO and wished that we were back at Grand Lake in Western Riviera. Give it a try--you're bound to love it if you enjoy simple living and good times.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keylimepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The girl in the office was a sweetheart and helpful. Rooms are very typical motel type rooms. Nothing great. But our view was amazing. Looking out over the whole lake and just breath taking. As we were there in mid May there was only one other party there at the time. Room smelled musty and we had to air it out. Would stay again but don't think I would for a stay of any length. We were there for just one night. A neat little town, that's for sure.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imtonif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

It was a delight to experience this motel! The staff are kind and focused on their customers. The view is amazing and the surrounding area is peaceful. The food was delicious and it was delightful to sip morning coffee with such wonderful scenery. What a great choice this was!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zinni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have stayed at this motel many times over the years. The lakeside view is awesome whether in Winter or Summer. We prefer to stay on the second level both to maximize the view and to minimize any noise from above. The motel itself is not "grand", it IS homey and rustic and just what I would expect in Grand Lake. All contact we have had with motel staff has been helpful and friendly. We will stay here again on future trips to a welcoming and lovely village.

Room tip: Second level will reduce noise that naturally occurs in a building of this age.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meredithk231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternRiviera, General Manager at Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Western Riviera and Grand Lake. We are pretty fond of this gem of a village too and all it has to offer year round. We hope to see you out here with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews