We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Inn(Grand Lake)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drowsy Water Ranch(Granby)
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
138
92
17
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
92
17
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevent centertree houseantique boatfabulous locationrestaurants and shoppingin towngreat view of the lakeoffice stafflong weekendfamily reunionquick weekendrocky mountain parkroom was very clean and comfortablelarge roomthe main streetenjoy the viewsmall town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

First time trip to Grand Lake which we were using as a springboard to see Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park. We stayed in a lakeside cabin. My wife held her proverbial breath when we first pulled up to the cabin, because coming from the backside, there isn't much to see. Cabins are relatively dated, with 70's era decor, and at first seemed a little dark and dingy. The place really grew on us, however, as we spent time there.

The cabins have a commanding view of the lake, easy access to the waterfront and the docks (my wife and I ate breakfast one morning on the docks themselves early in the morning before anyone else woke up), and equally easy pedestrian access to the center of the town of Grand Lake with its shops, restaurants, and well maintained playground which was a huge hit with our kids. Other than to tour RMNP, we did not have to get in our car to access the lake or the town.

The picnic bench outside the front of the cabin - there is one per cabin - was a snacktime hit with the kids. Bedroom with king bed totally separate (i.e., a door) to living area with fold out couch and even a cot for the kids to sleep in. Small kitchenette, no dishwasher, and you have to wash your own dishes (or you get charged $25). There wasn't any A/C I could see and the cabin was at first a tad warm (we arrived late in the afternoon), but opening all the windows made for a delightfully pleasant night of sleeping.

My in-laws were traveling parallel with us and stayed in the Bighorn Lodge which appeared to be nicer - but was nowhere near the lake. The lakeside view is totally worth it because the availability of public lakefront property is actually pretty limited (private residences - one lux cabin is on the market for about $1.1 mil) seemed to take up a huge swath of the lakefront space to the right of the property all the way past the edge of town).

Easy access to RMNP. Our best moose sighting was outside RMNP on the opposite side of the junction between Hwy 34 and Grand Lake Road - closer to town than to RMNP (a large bull with an incredible, molting rack). Would totally stay here again, if only because of its prime location on a limited lakefront space.

Room Tip: Either cabins or motel have views of the lake, but if you need a separate room (w/ a door) from small kids, the cabins are the way to go.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bldvl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in the Lake House. There were 6 of us, 2 moms and 4 teenagers. This is a 2 bedroom unit that sleeps 8, so this sounded great. The rental is the 2nd and 3rd floor of a house right on the lake. The proximity to mainstreet and the view of the lake are amazing, but very poor layout, unusable space. I would not recommend this to anyone, unless the entrance is changed.

You park on the street behind the house, one street from the lake. There are 2 entrances to the house, one to the 3rd floor and one to the second floor. The car is parked near the 3rd floor entrance. You walk through a short alley between another rental and the hotel's laundry shack, where all the towels and sheets are washed. The house's back door opens to the 3rd floor entry, where there's a landing with a pull out sofa, the master bedroom and a walkout balcony. The stairs to the 2nd floor are just plain dangerous!

The stairs are a rickety, creaking, wooden, winding staircase. We couldn't carry any of our luggage down the stairs as they were too narrow and unsteady. On the second floor is a full kitchen, a futon and another bedroom and bathroom. There's also a huge picture window with a beautiful view of the lake. The door outside leads to a side patio and VERY narrow, slippery and steep, stone stairs to the street out front, past the first floor of the house. Impossible to carry luggage or groceries to the second floor from this entrance either!

The unit seemed to be cleaned fairly well, with the exception of the floors. The wood floors on the second floor were very dirty.

Checkout was 10am. I've never heard of such an early checkout!

We paid $400 for this 'house'. Not at all what we were expecting, especially with the price tag!

If they would spend a bit of money to fix the 2nd floor entry stairs and replace the inside stairs, this might be worth the money.

The lodge has no extra amenities; no pool, coffee in lobby, breakfast, fitness center, nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Terri Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

As a family we travel to Grand Lake often but this is the first time we have stayed at the Western Riviera. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay. The accommodations are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The view of the lake is wonderful and comes with an added bonus of a humming bird feeding frenzy that is spectacular to watch! The location is convenient and it is easy to get to good restaurants, stores, and of course shopping. We will definitely make a return visit to the Western Riviera!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222Bianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife, sister-in-law, and I made our first trip to Colorado to visit our daughter, who is performing this summer at the Rocky Mountain Repertory Theatre in Grand Lake. After searching online for places to stay, we decided on the Western Riviera lake front. At first, we were a little disappointed that our particular room did not have a mini fridge or microwave. Our disappointment soon faded as the room met all our other expectations. We awoke every morning to the wonderful view of the lake and mountains from the front deck outside our room. The hotel is steps away from restaurants and shops, and the front desk was more than helpful in suggesting things to see and do. We hope to return to Grand Lake sometime in the future and will plan to stay again at the Western Rivieria.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CabanaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in one of the courtyard cabins. Ok little cabin. Good idea, but lacking. The bed was hard, not quite sleeping on a rock but close. The parking was tough - glad we were on motorcycles and could squeeze in. The people screaming in the streets at 11 PM was our first wake up call. The second was at 6AM from the crow outside the window. The cabin has no A/C, so it was hot an stuffy in the room even with the fan on. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cooogrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews