We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rapids Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Inn(Grand Lake)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
61
81
26
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
81
26
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverin townfull kitchenlimited hoursnice condoplan aheadbike tripsmall flat screenbox fanmain dragcute villagestandard definitioncolumbine roombedroom condowell equipped kitchenfloors creakcreek rushing
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We made a last minute reservation to the Rapids Lodge. I originally was hoping for a historic room in the lodge or one of the cabins, but we got a suite. This is a newer building and the furniture and kitchen are modern. We stayed in #3 which is handicap accessible and found it to be quite roomy and clean. There is a full kitchen and living room and the bedroom had a king bed that was very comfortable. It is walking distance to anything you need in Grand Lake, yet tucked away in a quiet little area next to the stream. I hope to return soon and to stay in the historic lodge next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had originally planned to spend this particular night of our vacation in Estes Park but the floods forced cancellation. After some research on Grand Lake, we settled on the Rapids Lodge because of its history and unique setting.

Our original reservation was for Lodge Room #2 "Columbine". After checking out the room size and realizing that we had failed the traveler's course in packing light, we asked if we could change to a ground floor room that provided more space. Management was quite accommodating and switched us to a room that we could park right in front of for a nominal upcharge. The room was clean and the bed quite comfortable.

The location and setting is impossible to beat. No noise from Grand Ave a few blocks away and the rapids provide a great backdrop.

Room Tip: If you are like us and travel with too many "essentials", we would recommend on of the larger condo or suite units. Didn't get a look inside one of the cabins, so I cannot comment on their size.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 324neilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room #4 "River song" for 5 days, including 2 extra due to the Boulder flooding. Normally the rapids might not be flowing, but due to recent rains we were treated to beautiful sound in our room, & lovely scenery behind the hotel. Room is spacious, very clean, decor flowery/lacey, a tiny bit worn/faded, nice 4 poster bed. Due to 1915 construction, floors slant downhill, a little disconcerting for those adjusting to high altitude, but not a problem. Dinner/lunch restaurant below's exhaust caused a little vibration in floor & rare water flow fluctuations, but no noise or smell for us.Toiletries/towels are motel basic, so bring your own if that bothers you. You do have to tote your suitcase up several stairs (no elevator.) Noting these idiosyncracies so you're prepared, not an issue for us. Grand Lake is cute & not touristy the way Estes Park is..we enjoyed back country hiking & four wheeling & the town's shops/restaurants. The Lodge was a relaxing & comfy home base. Restaurant below's prices were fine for lunch but a little too high for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Never Summer Cabin. The cabin is a very small vacation cabin facing the Rapids parking lot. The photos on the rapids website seem pretty accurate.

Good stuff:
-Convenient location near trails, 2 minutes walk from town
-Comfortable bed
-The kitchenette has everything you need for a short visit for a couple, (but no microwave.)
-Good price
-Clean
-Cozy size for two people

On the down-side:
-The cabin claims it sleeps up to 4, but more than 2 would be a tight squeeze. For example, the kitchen table is tiny, with only two chairs.
-The living room sofa and chairs are uncomfortable.
-Most shelf space and drawer space was taken up with spare pillows and blankets.
-The TV in the living room is tiny, maybe 12 inch. I don't visit Grand Lake to watch TV, but I'd still like it to to be big enough to see from the other side of the room.

Room Tip: The Never Summer cabin is the closest to the lobby and restaurant, and parking spaces in front of the cabin fill up every evening. The hotel staff said the wifi wouldn't reach the cabins, but I got a signal from this cabin. The other cabins might be too far from the lobby.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sondra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a condo right by the stream, where we watched other guests fish for, and catch, trout.

The only complaint was with the bar stools in our unit, which were far too tall to allow anyone to sit comfortably at the counter. Had there been a dining table, that wouldn't have been a problem, but there wasn't. (There was a table outside, but what with the rain it was of limited utility.)

Nonetheless, we do hope to stay there again, tho in a different condo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews