We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read all the reviews before you book your reservations here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Read all the reviews before you book your reservations here”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have stayed here previously and it was great. This time not so much. There was no one there to check us in, just a note taped to the locked office door, and then it turned out that they were closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. Our cabin was dirty- infested with so many bugs that bit us up in the night, the blankets had this weird crusty brown goo on them, the bathroom lights didn't work and so on. The owners responded and seemed appalled that we would say anything bad about their cabins. Then they explained their confusing policies and had a pile of excuses why there was no staff or help and claimed that WE didn't understand the rules. What?! How hard is it to reserve a clean place and stay the night? DON"T STAY HERE- there are many other gr4eat places in Grand Lake to stay. Daven Haven has let their standards drop so low that it's no longer a consideration.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tryna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for submitting your review. Your opinion is very important to us and help us tremendously improving our service in the future. I am sorry you had a bad experience at the Daven Haven Lodge. We try our best to provide the best service we can.
A lot of improvements were done since your last stay with us and we hope you can visit us again and enjoy our new and improve cabins.
Kind regards,
Mariana Beard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    33
    30
    13
    13
See reviews for
47
46
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Lake, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We recently had a local church Sweetheart Valentine Dinner at Daven Haven in Grand Lake, Colorado. From the moment we met the staff and started to plan our gathering, it was a wonderful experience. Sheila Brown was a delight to work with and Carey the owner was so gracious. The room was beautifully decorated and set up perfectly for our needs. The dinner was delicious and everyone commented on how good the food was. The service was excellent and we can't wait to book another event there!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you so much for submitting your review, We do try our best to provide the best service we possibly can so it is very rewarding for us to hear you had a pleasant experience with us.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Mariana Beard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

So after having a terrible stay at the daven haven wild woods cabins we talked to the managers and decided to try our stay again for another ice fishing trip. Room was clean and warm thanks to turned up thermostat and closed windows this time. Did not try the restaurant again after last disaster so brought our own food. Was quaint and satisfied. When checked out we told the front desk clerks we were more pleased with this stay in the cabin and would be back again. So booked another weekend stay for march ice fishing tourney set for march 1st 2013 and soooo excited, only to find out that 4 weeks later our cabin was last minute refunded and sent a letter stating that our stay was not welcome because we did not tell them that we had "a good stay" last time, only we did!?!?.....ok we'll thanks daven haven you just lost our business permanently and will be staying else where from now on along with with a few more of our family and friends who planned on booking 2 more of your cabins for this trip!!!! Guess telling your front desk things in the cabin were better this time was just not enough for you, enjoy your bad business, you could of had a full house this trip!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mvansic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Lake hotels

Dacono, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Sun dappled patio areas perfect for lounging, a beautiful lake right next door, and some of the best customer service that I have ever experienced! The cabins are actually quite large (our party had 7 or 8) They had full kitchens that you could actually cook in. The food in the restaurant was very good as were the appetizers on the patio, they even accommodated my special diet needs! Sheila, the manager who helped our party was amazing and friendly with a beautiful smile and a very warm welcome. We will definitely be going back here again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon Grand Lake and had not made any advanced reservations. A local restaurant proprietor recommended Daven Haven. My husband was leary of cabins because of past experiences, but I thought it would be a fun adventure. It was just okay. The cabin appeared clean. We were told it was a King bed, but it was a Queen. We had no reason to use the kitchen, but it seemed well equipped for longer stays. The restaurant was very pricey so we went back into tow which was a short drive, there was nothing around to walk to. We were disappointed the next day to find out they weren't open for breakfast. I would probably recommend it for a family vacation, but it's not a romantic, couples retreat.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernet-Les-Bains, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

We booked nine cabins at the Daven Haven, sight unseen, so didn't know what to expect. But from the first phone contact with Sheila Brown, our impressions were all positive. A wonderful setup for individual families, comfortable lodgings in cabins equipped with full kitchens. The best aspect was the common space with picnic tables under a tent, plenty of green space for kids to run around safely, and a great horseshoe pitching area. Three generations of our family had a blast during our four-night stay here. The Backstreet Steakhouse right on the premises is also a huge plus! And Carey the caterer did a very nice job on our hors-d'oeuvres for a family party. Nothing but good things to say about our time in Grand Lake! I heartily recommend the Daven Haven, and Sheila Brown is a dream to work with.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We made our first trek to Grand Lake and visited the Daven Haven on the advice of several old friends.

The cabin was cute and clean, surrounded by fir trees and aspens. A cute common area was well-maintained with a variety of pretty flowers that seemed to enjoy the mild Colorado weather. We remarked at how big the marigolds were.

The rooms were comfortable, and we had plenty of room for our crew. The bathroom was big, and a basket of nice amenities was waiting for us, with nice plush towels. The kitchen was more than adequate. We could have cooked there, if we hadn't been enjoying all of the great food in Grand Lake.

The Daven Haven is a family business, with the owners and their sons helping run the place. It shows, with a friendly vibe that runs throughout the area surrounding the lodge.

We tried several things on the menu in the restaurant and lounge, and they were great. We enjoyed the happy hour food special, and got generous portions of potato skins (with whole strips of bacon) and the "adult" macaroni and cheese, bowtie pasta in cream sauce covered in shredded cheddar. I love a good bloody mary, and the bartender made one of the best I've had. She didn't use mix, and took a full minute adding tabasco, worchestershire, olives, lemon juice... it was certainly worth the wait.

A couple of good dogs wander around the paths. They're well-trained. One came up to our porch to check on us one morning when our door was open, but refused our invitation to enter.

Our human neighbors were nice, as well. They liked the place so much, they just bought one of the cabins for weekend trips up from Denver.

The Daven Haven is a short walk to the town boardwalk or to the lake. I think I was at the coffee shop in about a seven minute walk. The only time we took the truck in is when we were going up to the (gorgeous) falls.

By the time we had to go, we had enjoyed the beauty of Grand Lake and the friendliness of everyone at the Daven Haven so much, it seemed hard to leave.

Room Tip: We loved Cabin 30!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#5 of 8 in Granby
62 reviews
18.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins

Property: Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Address: 604 Marina Dr., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A part of Grand Lake since the 1930's Daven Haven Lodge has only had 3 long-term owners since its conception, beginning with Lester and Cornelia Piper and Mrs. Pipers mother Mrs. Davis. The main road to Grand Lake was the street in front of the present main lodge, originally made up of a gas station and several small tourist cabins. The original tourist cabins still remain on the back of the property and are used as employee housing. The Pipers and Mrs. Davis owned and operated Daven Haven until 1968 when they sold to Tom and Betty Sowell who continued to build up their clientele and great reputation into the 80's when they sold Daven Haven and ended up with it back shortly there after. Leasing the lodge proved not to be a good idea and with new ventures on the horizon Tom and Betty bid farewell. The lodge remained closed for a few years and in 1990 reopened with its present owners Greg & Carey Barnes, their sons Dustin & Patrick and their dog Buddie. Now in their 25th season, the Daven Haven atmosphere is still a comforting place to come back to time and time again. With several familiar faces welcoming back our long time guests and greeting our new ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing