We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We needed a room for one night, simply to sleep in after visiting friends. The Daven Haven has a 2 night minimum and thankfully they waived that for us - if not, I would have left and requested a refund. I can't speak to the overall ambience, as we did simply sleep there. The bed was horrible - needed to be replaced long, long ago. The dip in the middle of the mattress was ridiculous- should have slept in our car. The bathroom door would not close all the way; the shower was gross and definitely needed an update. The toiletries there- which we had our own anyway - are old, gross samples and the creamer packets for coffee were stained and disgusting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denverfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We strive to meet everyone's best expectations and are known locally for our clean and comfortable cabins. Having read your review, we are disappointed that your stay was so unsatisfactory and wish you had come to us with your concerns while you were here so we could have addressed them right away. As always we appreciate all comments and reviews giving us the opportunity to revisit our policies and practices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights with our 4 year old daughter. 1 night the live music from the restaurant was so loud in our cabin, we almost had to yell to talk to each other. Another night they hosted a wedding rehearsal, apparently the restaurant couldn't contain the size of the party so they had the party out on the lawn between the cabins. 50 drunks hooting and hollering well past 11 pm right out side my door, was not the peaceful mountain cabin feel I was going for. When I call the front desk to ask when the party would be breaking up, the gal said "why don't you just go out there and have a drink with them... I can't make them quiet down, they booked this weeks ago". I booked my cabin last winter. I would never stay here again. Oh, by the way, the beds in the cabins are awful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMK8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, General Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry your stay was not as settled as expected. At your request, the owner made every effort that evening to re-direct the enthusiasts closer to the lounge area. As posted on our website, the Daven Haven is regularly booked for weddings, reunion gatherings and many celebratory type events throughout the year, but especially during the warmer months and summer season. Our outdoor garden patio is an ideal setting for these occasions and the indoor banquet room is contracted as an alternate for in-climate weather. Given the perfect weather in Grand Lake this weekend, the events were held in the courtyard and culminated around 1030. We appreciate your comments and this opportunity to review our group events process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is one of the most unique wonderful places in Grand Lake. There is always something going on at the Daven Haven, from live music to comedy shows. The outdoor space is absolutely grand with fire pits and plenty of seating. Did I mention that they are pet friendly? Our dog was as warmly welcomed as we were! I highly recommend this stay to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen_Palomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, General Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

On behalf of the entire staff and our house pet, Buddie, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate knowing you enjoyed your stay in one of our pet-friendly cabins. We’ve started “Yappy Hour Tuesdays” so visiting pets are able to enjoy a few yappy apps while socializing with their owners and other furry friends! The fire pits are new this year and adds a lot of ambience to the courtyard patio. Remember, we’re open year ‘round and it will be a pleasure to have your visit with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have stayed here previously and it was great. This time not so much. There was no one there to check us in, just a note taped to the locked office door, and then it turned out that they were closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. Our cabin was dirty- infested with so many bugs that bit us up in the night, the blankets had this weird crusty brown goo on them, the bathroom lights didn't work and so on. The owners responded and seemed appalled that we would say anything bad about their cabins. Then they explained their confusing policies and had a pile of excuses why there was no staff or help and claimed that WE didn't understand the rules. What?! How hard is it to reserve a clean place and stay the night? DON"T STAY HERE- there are many other gr4eat places in Grand Lake to stay. Daven Haven has let their standards drop so low that it's no longer a consideration.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tryna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for submitting your review. Your opinion is very important to us and help us tremendously improving our service in the future. I am sorry you had a bad experience at the Daven Haven Lodge. We try our best to provide the best service we can.
A lot of improvements were done since your last stay with us and we hope you can visit us again and enjoy our new and improve cabins.
Kind regards,
Mariana Beard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We recently had a local church Sweetheart Valentine Dinner at Daven Haven in Grand Lake, Colorado. From the moment we met the staff and started to plan our gathering, it was a wonderful experience. Sheila Brown was a delight to work with and Carey the owner was so gracious. The room was beautifully decorated and set up perfectly for our needs. The dinner was delicious and everyone commented on how good the food was. The service was excellent and we can't wait to book another event there!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you so much for submitting your review, We do try our best to provide the best service we possibly can so it is very rewarding for us to hear you had a pleasant experience with us.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Mariana Beard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

So after having a terrible stay at the daven haven wild woods cabins we talked to the managers and decided to try our stay again for another ice fishing trip. Room was clean and warm thanks to turned up thermostat and closed windows this time. Did not try the restaurant again after last disaster so brought our own food. Was quaint and satisfied. When checked out we told the front desk clerks we were more pleased with this stay in the cabin and would be back again. So booked another weekend stay for march ice fishing tourney set for march 1st 2013 and soooo excited, only to find out that 4 weeks later our cabin was last minute refunded and sent a letter stating that our stay was not welcome because we did not tell them that we had "a good stay" last time, only we did!?!?.....ok we'll thanks daven haven you just lost our business permanently and will be staying else where from now on along with with a few more of our family and friends who planned on booking 2 more of your cabins for this trip!!!! Guess telling your front desk things in the cabin were better this time was just not enough for you, enjoy your bad business, you could of had a full house this trip!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mvansic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Sun dappled patio areas perfect for lounging, a beautiful lake right next door, and some of the best customer service that I have ever experienced! The cabins are actually quite large (our party had 7 or 8) They had full kitchens that you could actually cook in. The food in the restaurant was very good as were the appetizers on the patio, they even accommodated my special diet needs! Sheila, the manager who helped our party was amazing and friendly with a beautiful smile and a very warm welcome. We will definitely be going back here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
21.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.3 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins

Address: 604 Marina Dr., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: £82 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A part of Grand Lake since the 1930's Daven Haven Lodge has only had 3 long-term owners since its conception, beginning with Lester and Cornelia Piper and Mrs. Pipers mother Mrs. Davis. The main road to Grand Lake was the street in front of the present main lodge, originally made up of a gas station and several small tourist cabins. The original tourist cabins still remain on the back of the property and are used as employee housing. The Pipers and Mrs. Davis owned and operated Daven Haven until 1968 when they sold to Tom and Betty Sowell who continued to build up their clientele and great reputation into the 80's when they sold Daven Haven and ended up with it back shortly there after. Leasing the lodge proved not to be a good idea and with new ventures on the horizon Tom and Betty bid farewell. The lodge remained closed for a few years and in 1990 reopened with its present owners Greg & Carey Barnes, their sons Dustin & Patrick and their dog Buddie. Now in their 25th season, the Daven Haven atmosphere is still a comforting place to come back to time and time again. With several familiar faces welcoming back our long time guests and greeting our new ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing