We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Clean Comfy Cabin "Wildwood Cabins"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were in Grand Lake for snowmobiling in February. So much snow! so much fun! It was really great to come home to our cabin which was stocked with spices, coffee, and many other extras, as well as all the cooking utensils; pots,dishes ect.. We especially loved the wood burning fireplace! we stayed 5 nights (wish it was more) We were located in a great spot right at the end of town. We saw a Moose and her two babies stroll by, as well as a couple of fox. The only thing I would change would be a better mattress in the bedroom.The owners were wonderful. Jeanie who works at the front desk is simply delightful! she is friendly, informative and helpful. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rikkimangiamelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Customer Relationships Specialist at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you for your future stays!
~Jeanie~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in the Spruce Cabin at the Wildwood Cabins for two nights, 2/7-9/14. These cabins are rented through the Daven Haven.

Wonderful experiance. Wood buring fireplace- bring your own wood or purchase at the grocery store. Kitchen was great with burners, oven and fridge. Bedroom nice with small storage area. Bath "ok" but worked well with great hot water. Only concern was the television, as reception was very fuzzy. Asked to have it fixed, but was not done. We went to watch the opening ceremonies for the Olympics, thus a bit disappointed.

Great location to town and the restaurants- very walkable. Friendly staff in setting up the reservation. Would rent again!

Room Tip: This is a one bedroom cabin. Wood burning fireplace great. Parking right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seezmeoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Customer Relationships Specialist at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing for future stays!
~Jeanie~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had very cozy cabin in cold and beautiful snowy outside conditions for a very reasonable cost. People at the lodge were neighborly and helpful. The person at the front desk spent considerable time telling us about the February attractions and open businesses that might be of interest to us in Grand Lake and the surrounding area. As a result we had a great time cross country skiing and enjoying the snow clad village.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimjan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Customer Relationships Specialist at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for the positive review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to having you as our guests again in the future!
~Jeanie~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed two nights in mid-September at Daven Haven. We were in a one bedroom cabin at the end of the main street. Our cabin was clean and furnished with essentials. We had a fireplace and enjoyed a fire both nights. We have no complaints other than the bed sagged towards the middle but no excessively so. They were getting things ready to close down for the season but accomodated us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrylover53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Customer Relationships Specialist at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We have many return guests at our Wildwood Cabins properties and appreciate that you had a good stay. Please look at staying with us again this upcoming fall or sooner. Our new beds should arrive by mid June for the 2014 summer season!
Kind Regards,
Jeanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Light bulbs out no pressure in shower poor tv - no cable - too high price is all Ill say... Friendly staff was a plus! No room in bathroom at all. Too close to other cabins for sure no parking space. It's a place to lay your head.... No grills to firepit to use just lead totally wrong.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbmw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Each guest stay is very important to us and making sure we accommodate each guest in resolving any discomfort they might have. We were able to upgrade Mrs. C and her family to a larger more comfortable cabin that better suited the amount of guests in her party. Light Bulbs were replaced and the designated parking area adjacent to the cabin was pointed out. In regards to Mrs. C's additional comments, we regret the cable issues that were beyond our control for their first night stay we provided movies and a VCR for their family. Mrs.C was a guest for a wedding weekend catered at the Daven Haven Lodge. In understanding that another party booked her cabin for her, we realize that her possible expectations of grills and fire pits are in fact part of the amenities at the Daven Haven Lodge and not offered at the property she was booked into. We hope in the end the Mrs. C was satisfied with the upgraded accommodations and enjoyed her stay as much as the other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We recently rented the cabins here and had them cater my daughter's wedding reception the weekend of Sept. 20-22, 2013. The owners and staff were very attentive and a joy to work with. They greeted us at the door! The cabins are very comfortable and stocked well with everything you might need. The fireplace was so nice to have!!

The grounds are beautiful with many seating areas, games for the guests, fire rings, and a. place for a bonfire which we used and enjoyed.

They set up everything in a beautiful outdoor patio area and served our rehearsal supper the first night. The food was amazing! A southern style buffet of baked chicken, sweet potato fries, corn bread/honey butter, and seasoned carrots. Dessert was an amazing apple cobbler hot out of the oven. Everyone loved it!

The next day they decorated the banquet room up beautifully for our reception. The food was once again amazing: A buffet of flank steak, herb crusted trout, REAL mashed potatoes, green beans, and rolls that the kids couldn't get enough of! I also appreciated the full bar right in the banquet room.

The Barnes family was very attentive to our needs! We had vehicle trouble and Greg helped us get a mechanic.....not easy to do in the mountains. We were stranded for an extra night and they even let us use their vehicle to take the elderly grandparents out to supper in town. They went out of their way to be helpful.

I highly recommend Daven Haven Lodge and Steakhouse! We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janelle_r9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for the great review! You, your family, the bride and groom and all of your friends were a a fantastic group of fun that we had the pleasure of serving all weekend. This wedding topped our "Best Of" great events of 2013. We look forward to any and all of you returning soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I travel a lot and with those experiences, you have a meriad of experiences. We've been going to Grand Lake for 13 years, and decided to venture out to another place that takes dogs. The Daven Haven was very comfortable and the owners were wonderful! Greg one of the owners, if I'm remembering his name correctly had a wonderful sense of humor! We ate at their restaurant one of our nights and the food was exquisite!! Oh and they have a beautiful dog that was really sweet and friendly...Every time she saw our Sadie, she ran towards her. By the end of the trip, they were great friends! By the way...I saw one of the reviews where someone complained about the music....We heard the music only when we were near the restaurant and it was awesome. They even have fire pits, if you want to use them. Loved our stay. Oh and I left my Canon battery in the room and they are mailing it!
Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, General Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Buddie and Greg (both males with great personalities) thank you on behalf of the entire staff for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your return to Grand Lake and choosing to stay with us this time. By the way, your package was mailed today! Remember, we’re open year ‘round and one of our pet-friendly cabins has a fireplace to keep Sadie warm on those snowy days. The Backstreet Steakhouse hours differ during the off season as do the menu entrees. Just call to let us know your travel plans and your culinary desires. We sincerely hope the Daven Haven becomes your getaway home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.3 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rapids Lodge
Rapids Lodge
#5 of 20 in Grand Lake
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
0.3 mi away
Lone Eagle Lodge
Lone Eagle Lodge
#11 of 20 in Grand Lake
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins

Address: 604 Marina Dr., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: £86 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A part of Grand Lake since the 1930's Daven Haven Lodge has only had 3 long-term owners since its conception, beginning with Lester and Cornelia Piper and Mrs. Pipers mother Mrs. Davis. The main road to Grand Lake was the street in front of the present main lodge, originally made up of a gas station and several small tourist cabins. The original tourist cabins still remain on the back of the property and are used as employee housing. The Pipers and Mrs. Davis owned and operated Daven Haven until 1968 when they sold to Tom and Betty Sowell who continued to build up their clientele and great reputation into the 80's when they sold Daven Haven and ended up with it back shortly there after. Leasing the lodge proved not to be a good idea and with new ventures on the horizon Tom and Betty bid farewell. The lodge remained closed for a few years and in 1990 reopened with its present owners Greg & Carey Barnes, their sons Dustin & Patrick and their dog Buddie. Now in their 25th season, the Daven Haven atmosphere is still a comforting place to come back to time and time again. With several familiar faces welcoming back our long time guests and greeting our new ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing