We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daven Haven not the best. I'd rather camp. Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Daven Haven not the best. I'd rather camp. Poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The girl at the front desk was rude and disrespectful. There was no toilet paper in the bathroom and the outside grounds of the resort looked trashy. They were working on renovations but garbage/random items were tossed about. I'd rather camp than stay here again. They boast to be dog friendly but aren't very accomidating. Plus the dog on the property was loud and obnoxious.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehrebic1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate your opinion, it help us tremendously improving our service in the future. I am so sorry you had some bad experiences at the Daven Haven Lodge.
At the time of your stay here we were in the middle great renovations in our cabins as well as getting new furniture to improve our guests stay quality. I understand that renovations can be "messy" sometimes, and we apologize for the inconvenience. I hope you would give it a second chance and come visit us again to enjoy the new and improved look and brand new furniture.
Kind regards,
Mariana Beard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    33
    29
    13
    12
See reviews for
45
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were there of season but it was amazing anyway. All shops were not open but the ones that were were amazing. People were so nice and the cabin was exactly what we wanted. Great weekend for us. Definately going back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom5girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for submitting you review! We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, we do try our best to provide the best service we possibly can.
Off season in Grand Lake can be difficult for local business and shops in town so I hope you will be able to come back in the pick season and enjoy 100% of Grand Lake and Grand County.
Kind regards,
Mariana Beard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I used a Living Social coupon and was pleasantly surprised as the cabin exceeded my expectations. It was immaculate, cozy, and quiet. The receptionist was very friendly. I will definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello Carolyne, thank you for submitting your review. Your opinion is very important to us. We do try our best to provide the best service we possibly can, so it is very rewarding to us to hear you had a great stay with us. We are looking forward to your visit!
Kind regards,
Mariana Beard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We weren't able to get from Denver to GL until about 9:30 pm and check out is 11:00 so our stay was short. We didn't meet or even see anyone who works there- our cabin was open with the key on a table when we got there and that's where we left it. All of that was fine though… the bed was awful. We had a very hard time sleeping between the extreme hardness of the mattress, the flatness of the pillows, and the constant clicking noise the heater made all night. The property looked nice though, wish we were able to experience more of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Melissa, thank you so much for submitting your review. Your opinion is very important to us and we do take it in consideration. so we are happy to announce that we have purchased brand new mattresses for our cabins. I hope you can visit us again, so you can meet our staff and enjoy our improved cabins.
Kind regards,
Mariana Beard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The properties are very quaint and homey. The staff was friendly and always responded to communication leading up to our trip. We were right next to downtown, so it was an easy walk to restaurants, the water, and a little bowling! The one recommendation I would have, is not to rent a room cabin that includes a pull-out couch if you are in need of extra beds. It wasn't comfortable at all- I would go up to the next size cabin that has enough beds.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a pull-out couch if you are in need of extra sleeping space. Make sure the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kskattebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Customer Relationships Specialist at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Jeanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed at the Spruce cabin in town and it was darling. Clean warm cozy, nice all around. No pets allowed. I visited on an off-season groupon which was a great price, and I was one of maybe two visitors in town at the time. I would definitely go back.
A few things: you have to supply your own firewood. No gas grill available. And the wifi was extremely weak, to the point of non functioning. I spoke with the owners and they assured me it worked fine. I found that it's not reliable for work which was what I needed it for. Luckily phone/cel service is excellent in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesmexicomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Customer Relationships Specialist at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Jeanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The cabin is located in a nice location at the edge of town close to the shops and restaurants. We were disappointed there wasn't firewood for guest use so we had to walk a good distance to the store to buy some and the stores are overpriced on pretty much everything. For some reason, the television kept turning itself on and off- however we watched very little TV anyway. The pull out mattress was really bad so we would request the futon net time. The owner's are very nice and helpful so we would definitely stay here again. The views are stunning!

Room Tip: The pull-out couch bed was awful so I would recommend the futon instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HappyCamperzplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Customer Relationships Specialist at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for submitting your review. As you can tell by store pricing on bundles of firewood it is expensive all the way around. Our rates would have to increase substantially now days to provide firewood. We enjoyed being able to provide this during the years when it was affordable. Our guest comment cards suggested the overall replies were a lower rate would be preferred over retaining certain amenities that were included in "the good ol' days". Maintenance was sent over to your cabin to check on the TV. The conclusion was the outlet and plug were a little loose and this might have been the problem. We have had guest stays since without complaints. We're still looking into the sofa sleeper mattresses. All of the living room furniture was purchased new last summer.
Yes, there are spectacular views and appreciate that these few concerns were minimal and look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Pine Cone Cottages
#4 of 7 in Grand Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.3 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins

Property: Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Address: 604 Marina Dr., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A part of Grand Lake since the 1930's Daven Haven Lodge has only had 3 long-term owners since its conception, beginning with Lester and Cornelia Piper and Mrs. Pipers mother Mrs. Davis. The main road to Grand Lake was the street in front of the present main lodge, originally made up of a gas station and several small tourist cabins. The original tourist cabins still remain on the back of the property and are used as employee housing. The Pipers and Mrs. Davis owned and operated Daven Haven until 1968 when they sold to Tom and Betty Sowell who continued to build up their clientele and great reputation into the 80's when they sold Daven Haven and ended up with it back shortly there after. Leasing the lodge proved not to be a good idea and with new ventures on the horizon Tom and Betty bid farewell. The lodge remained closed for a few years and in 1990 reopened with its present owners Greg & Carey Barnes, their sons Dustin & Patrick and their dog Buddie. Now in their 25th season, the Daven Haven atmosphere is still a comforting place to come back to time and time again. With several familiar faces welcoming back our long time guests and greeting our new ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing