We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay in the cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Superior, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay in the cabin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My daughter and I were able to break away from civilization for one night. The cabin and surroundings were perfect. Everything was far more than we expected in terms of supplies and nearby hiking. I cant comment on the restaurant because we have specific dietary needs not accomodated by most restaurants and just brought our own food. The kitchen had literally everything you would need. I want to return except for the price. The Groupon allowed us to go this time, but don't know if we could swing another time.

Room Tip: Its all online. No problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanie B, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Marcia!
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! The kitchens are one of my favorite parts of each cabin. We are running a new Groupon special starting September 2nd. Keep an eye out for it or call me any time! I look forward to your next Mountain Getaway with us.
Kind Regards,
Jeanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    33
    29
    13
    12
See reviews for
45
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our families first reaction upon pulling in was that all the cabins were on top of each other. After settling in we found it to have a surprisingly private feeling. You can't beat the location. It's short walking distance to lake and town. Wildife frequent the campground. the moose were amazing! Things were very quiet during our stay. But maybe this was due to 3 days of rain and early season. The only time things got loud was around dinner time. Many people come to the steakhouse here. It gets packed every night. Very good meal but expensive. Only have a few small complaints. The grounds seemed to be in rough shape. Like they were not ready for season to start. We did see people out working on it so that was good. Also, they seemed very under staffed. Owners were running around like crazy trying to run steakhouse, bar and tending to the cabins. But all our needs were taken care of. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Postmanjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanie B, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Postmanjjc!
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! You are correct in stating that we were preparing for the season. We had snow piled high this past winter and when it melts we have to work very quickly to get the grounds cleaned and tidy. In the early spring months we do see, and feel, understaffed due to the extra maintenance and grooming, but once this major project is completed we all go back to our usual tasks. It's great that all of your needs were met and you left happy!
Be on the look out for our latest Groupon specials starting September 2nd! I look forward to seeing you again during your next Mountain Getaway!
Kind Regards,
Jeanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriends stayed at the wildwood cabins. The aspen cabin specifically. The cabin was perfect location to main st and the lake. It fit 3 people perfectly. Everything was clean. We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maygers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanie B, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Maygers!
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I look forward to seeing you during your next Mountain Getaway!
Kind Regards,
Jeanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Right at the end of the Grand Lake main street, these cabins are the perfect location. Super quiet and charming, the Aspen cabin we stayed in was adequate for our weekend. Both the bedroom mattress and sofa bed mattress were the most uncomfortable things on the planet. Very wire-y mattress that caved in the middle due to a broken bed frame. Things like this seem like easy upgrades for the guests comfort. Maybe someday... Lacking on outlets and even then some of those weren't working. It worked for us because we were outside of the cabin for most of the trip. We barely spent time there except for sleeping and showering.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LenayNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanie B, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi LenayNicole!
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We have upgraded many of the mattresses in our cabins, including this cabin. This is an expensive project so it is taking some time, but we are working diligently. Join us again and experience our improved beds!
Kind Regards,
Jeanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Lake hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I am sad to say we were very disappointed with our stay at Daven Haven Lodge and Cabins. I purchased a Groupon and used it over Father's Day. Initially the staff were very helpful in booking our cabin. My husband and I have 4 children and were excited to get away to Grand Lake for a few days. We booked a reservation at the Steakhouse on Father's day. I had a french dip sandwich which was supposed to by prime rib and the meat was so chewy and crisp I had to send it back. The owner did nothing about any type of compensation. My husband's steak was ordered rare and arrived barely pink. The kids meals were ok. The macaroni and cheese was good.
When we checked in we signed a contract stating we had no pets and would be fined if we brought any into our cabin. That was fine by us since half of my family has pet allergies. My husband felt horrible the whole weekend and we couldn't figure out why. My teenager had hives as well. I wrote it off to different pollens in the area until we were getting ready to leave and checked drawers, under beds, etc. for items left behind. To my horror I discovered an old sock, childrens toys, an empty water bottle and A PET BED COVERED IN DOG HAIR!
I brought this to the attention of the manager. She was very pleasant and said she would contact the owners of the cabin and we should receive compensation.

NEVER HEARD A WORD AFTER THAT.

Grand Lake was lovely and we will return to the area. Definitely not to the Daven Haven Lodge and Cabins.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanie B, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Jayne!
I'm sorry to hear that your stay was unpleasant! The cabin that you stayed in is a Homeowner cabin, it is true that it is not pet friendly but the Homeowner does bring their dog with them when they stay in this cabin. Had we known that your family suffers from allergies I'm sure we would have found you a different cabin. As far as compensation for your stay, please call me anytime and we can talk more about this.
Kind Regards,
Jeanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Clean and comfortable. The floor in the bed area was oddly un-even it was like a mound slopping on all sides?!?!? They were very quick to fix a window that didn't have a blind. Asked about fixing it as we went to dinner and when we got back it was fixed! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanie B, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Kimberly!
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you during your next Mountain Getaway!
Kind Regards,
Jeanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our cabin was in a great location, close to the beach and Grand St (separate from the main cabins). It was very cute, and plenty large enough for 4 people. But, it was a little neglected. We arrived to a gas leak from the stove, which we were told to fix ourselves when we called for help. One of the blinds was replaced with a sheet, and the sofa bed was so uncomfortable that we had to line it with cushions from the couch. There was no light in the shower, which was actually good because the sheer curtains in the bathroom meant that I had to duck down to use it at night, for fear of flashing the neighbors. Oh and the wi-fi router had to be restarted about every 30 min, or as soon as our connection timed out. If the Daven Haven put a few minor updates into this cabin, it would be great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenHavenLodge, Front Office Manager at Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hi ElenorW!
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We work very hard at keeping our cabins maintained and most people love these cabins. Occasionally the pilot light goes our on the stove and must be relight which would explain the gas smell in your cabin. Because we are small family owned business we all wear many hats it is possible that when you called our Maintenance technition was working in the dinning room. We have a very high standard for our cabins and can't imagine that we would replace blinds/curtains with a sheet. I hope that for your future Mountain Getaways you can find lodging that better suits your needs.
Kind Regards,
Jeanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Pine Cone Cottages
#4 of 7 in Grand Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.3 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins

Property: Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Address: 604 Marina Dr., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A part of Grand Lake since the 1930's Daven Haven Lodge has only had 3 long-term owners since its conception, beginning with Lester and Cornelia Piper and Mrs. Pipers mother Mrs. Davis. The main road to Grand Lake was the street in front of the present main lodge, originally made up of a gas station and several small tourist cabins. The original tourist cabins still remain on the back of the property and are used as employee housing. The Pipers and Mrs. Davis owned and operated Daven Haven until 1968 when they sold to Tom and Betty Sowell who continued to build up their clientele and great reputation into the 80's when they sold Daven Haven and ended up with it back shortly there after. Leasing the lodge proved not to be a good idea and with new ventures on the horizon Tom and Betty bid farewell. The lodge remained closed for a few years and in 1990 reopened with its present owners Greg & Carey Barnes, their sons Dustin & Patrick and their dog Buddie. Now in their 25th season, the Daven Haven atmosphere is still a comforting place to come back to time and time again. With several familiar faces welcoming back our long time guests and greeting our new ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing