We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat from the big city!!”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice retreat from the big city!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The accomodations were clean, comfortable and well decorated. The room was spacious and cozy. Staff were friendly, professional and attended to requests promptly and courteously. Price was very affordable and exceptional value for the level of service/accomodations, especially in comparison to some lower end hotels that cost the same or more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medic_wolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    171
    58
    26
    15
See reviews for
146
232
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Inn was in a beautiful location and was very relaxing. Our room was beautiful and very clean. We weren't around the staff that much, but from what we could tell service was great. We would come back here for sure!

Helpful?
3 Thank DREA1476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My family truly enjoyed our stay in the rocky mountain national park area in July of 2011. We stayed in Estes park for 3 days and then 2 days in Grand lake at the Gateway inn. The west side of RMNP is quite different than the east side.
The hotel is a very nice knotty pine type decor befitting the rockies, sitting outside with the fire pits on the deck at night or spending time in the hot tub on the patio at night was wonderful and the town is neat. We had a room with 2 queen beds with one of the beds having a bunk bed over half of it. It worked very well for our family of 5.
The hotel was a nice place but if you want to eat I would not recommend the restaurant. Although we were the only ones sitting in the restaurant we were ignored for 20 or more mins till I asked about food and menus by the staff only 10 feet away, then when we ordered we waited over an hour for our burgers and fries only to have them brought out very cold. They had actually been ready and sitting for some time. I rarely in my life have walked out of a restaurant but we did not eat that meal or try the restaurant again. We ate meals in town daily and bought snacks at the small store.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KcRadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We went up for a night, for our anniversary, it is a beautiful place with plenty of amenities, it is right at the head of the snowmobile trail, so great in the winter. We are going to go back in the summer for a golf trip. They told us they have packages for golf and rooms. The room was very nice, it had a fireplace and a balcony. Since it had just snowed, the view was beautiful, especially the next morning. You can see the lake very well from there. The only thing was the bed kind of rolled in to the midle, but was very cozy. They have a bar with local microbrews, very tasty. Sauna, hottub, workout room, very nice people working there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I were looking for a small mountain town near the Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park. We wanted to go to a beautiful place. We found this in Grand Lake. We had a room at the Gateway with a fireplace and balcony over looking the most scenic mountain and lake view you could imagine. After staying 3 nights at the Gateway and visiting other parts of the town, no doubt this is the best place to stay in Grand Lakes. Thanks Neil and Cajun for making our New Year one of the best we have had in 35 years. Also, a thanks to Chuck for bartending the Bronco's game New Years Day. You guys are awesome!

Room Tip: Rapids Inn - romantic dinner Ponco's and Lefty's - great bar/ food and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texankhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Pros: Beautiful location, cleanliness, quiet, amenities (hot tub, exercise room, restaraunt), unique furniture (log beds), a variety of games located in the lobby, well working appliances and plumbing, easy check-in/check-out procedure, conveniently located close to the downtown area and entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park.

Cons: No DVD/VCR devices (in case you were wanting to watch a horror flick as we were) and unfortunately, we experienced a lack of hospitality from the hotel clerk that was responsible for checking us in. When we asked about a place in town to obtain extra toiletries that we needed, the clerk shrugged his shoulders and stated that he did not know. He made no effort to assist us. It was quite awkward, actually, considering we cannot be the first guests to need eye contact solution and deodorant. When we returned (after driving downtown and finding a store on our own called Mountain Food Market located at 400 Grand Avenue that had all the toiletries that we needed), we asked about the possibility of borrowing a DVD player to watch the movie that we rented at the local bowling alley/pizza joint/movie rental store. Again, we were met with a less than hospitable response and walked away in disbelief.

It is perfectly acceptable to not know the specific answer to our questions or be unable to offer an amenity, but please treat all guests with respect. We were obviously not from the area and would have appreciated courtesy and assistance during our stay at the Gateway.

Stayed October, 2011 on a reunion with my best friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelleofBelltown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed at the Gateway Inn for two days. Would never return. Thought from the review that it would be a wonderful place to spend a couple of nights. Couldn't cancel reservations after booking without a 30% fee for two weeks or more prior cancel, and within two weeks you lose one day full charge for the room. and a week prior, you lose the ENTIRE lodging fee! The only person we saw was a Norman Bates type guy who neither welcomed us nor bid us farewell. He hates his job, (BUT it is a job, which is more than manypeople have!)our . There is a restaurant, but it was closed. Not mentioned when I registered. Light bulbs were burnt out in our room, the shampoo bottle was 3/4 full. I didn't really know if anyone else was also staying there while my sister and I were there. Room was passably clean, but needed carpet shampoo. The pillows and sheets are rough and pillows are hard. Grand Lake is a neat little town. There are lots of places to stay - We are Coloradoans and will never go back to this place. It is toast! Definately, not worth the over $200 we spent for two days.

Room Tip: Many good, less expensive places to stay in Grand Lake. Don't waste your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murph1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
18.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing