We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Live Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were not planning on even being in Grand Lake, but because of the flooding in Estes Park we ended up here and are glad we did! We were happy they had a room available for us. We had a great view of the lake and mountains from our room. Beautiful to wake up to and start our day! In the evening you can enjoy a drink out on the deck by a fire and gaze at the mountains and lake. We loved the log furniture since we were originally going to be staying in a cabin. The giant teddy bear right when you walk in makes the place feel cozy! Had to take some pics with this bear! This place is located very close to the park entrance which is great although we never actually got into the park because it was closed, but we left early one morning around 6:30am to go look for wildlife heading towards the park entrance and saw a black bear, moose, elk, and deer very close to this hotel. The staff was very friendly. Our only issue is one night they had a live band playing in the bar area and we heard it from our room until 9pm. We were exhausted and trying to turn in early, but had to wait until the band was done to get some rest. All in all our anniversary trip wouldn't have been the same without this place! Thanks for helping make our trip a memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveOakTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are pleased to hear your stay with us was great! You had a very lucky stay to be able to see all the wildlife! We are sorry that the band was too loud that you could hear it from your room usually we have walked down the hallways to make sure it is not disturbing any one of our guest. Thank you again for the great review! Hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    171
    58
    26
    15
See reviews for
146
232
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had reservations in Estes Park, CO, but due to the recent flood, we were unable to get there. We decided that we would go to the West Side of Rocky Mountain National Park, which ends up in Grand Lake. We made reservations at the Gateway Inn in Grand Lake. This was a nice and pleasant hotel with a beautiful view on the back patio. The customer service was good. The room was comfortable, and everything was nice and clean. I loved the coffee. They had a "one cup" coffee maker and really good coffee to go with it. This is a very important part of a stay at a hotel for us. Also, there was a great blow dryer in the bathroom. This is important as well.

The hotel did not serve meals, but they had a common area with tables, a room to make coffee and heat food and a popcorn machine that stayed filled with great free popcorn in the evening. The night that we checked in the hotel, there was a "potluck" night. Joann, the customer service person who checked us in told us that we could either bring a dish and add it to the potluck or pay $5.00 without bringing a dish. That was nice for those staying at the hotel. Also, if you wanted to make "Smores", you let the bartender know, and he or she would start you a fire on the patio, so that you could make your Smores. I thought that was a great and very unique thing to do for the people staying at the hotel.

Overall, this was a nice hotel. There were always clean towels, plenty of TP and Kleenex, soap and bathing items. There was a large screen TV in the common area for the hotel guests, and on the "potluck" night, many people were in there watching the Denver Broncos' game.

I would recommend this hotel to others. It was everything we needed while we were waiting to see if we could get into Estes Park and to our original reservations. We were pleased with the Gateway Inn and would stay there again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are good. There was easy access to everything on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaRK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for writing a review! We are happy that you had such a great time with and enjoyed your stay! Yes on Bronco Sundays 2pm games we do a potluck and everyone is able to join! We just got the one cup coffee pots and we are happy to hear a response that it is something that guest are liking. Thanks again for the review and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a large hotel at the edge of Grand Lake. The locals gave us some very odd stares when we arrived - maybe it was a slow day? There was no food on offer at the hotel so we ate in the town instead. We didn't go in the bar as it was full of locals who were playing poker (at 3 in the afternoon).

The hot tub was OK but it was placed next to the air conditioners outside downstairs so quite noisy.

The room was nice and large with very large chunky wood furniture - interesting!

Other than that, clean and tidy.

Room Tip: We had a view of the car park which was boring. Didn't want to pay the premium of a lake view fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthPair12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for the interesting review. I am sorry that you felt the locals were giving you odd stares they are very friendly and are very considerate to guest. The poker is just a friendly game that the locals do every Sunday for no money just a small bar tab that you can win, they allow anyone to play. Thanks again for the review and hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed one night in mid-September. The room was adequately sized, with interesting log furniture which added character and was very clean. Otherwise, the room was typical hotel style with a small bathroom. The shower had plenty of pressure and water was hot. The hotel itself was perched up on a hill coming into the town and if you get the right room, has a wonderful view off the tiny balcony. The front desk staff was efficient and helpful and the room was ready at check-in time. This hotel is one of the very few in town where you can actually see the lake from your room if on the right side of the hotel. There is no complimentary breakfast, but you can eat a wonderful, inexpensive breakfast at the Sagebrush in town which is about a 2 minute drive from the hotel. Rack rates are high for this hotel, but if you get a deal it's a great place to stay. We'd stay again at the right price, but would always request a room on the second floor, south side.

Room Tip: We had room 213, which had a great direct view of the lake over the rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceansaway77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your good review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. You are correct our rooms are standard hotel rooms. Yes in town we have a some pretty good breakfast places and Sagebrush is defiantly a good one for breakfast and lunch. This is a resort town and during the peak summer our prices are competitive with every other hotel in grand lake. Sorry that you think they are too high. If you want cheaper rates stay in the winter time our rates go down quite a bit and we have excellent winter activities, like ice fishing and snowmobiling. Thank you again for the review and hope you stay again with us sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late August. Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. We had a view of the mountains, which was nice. The staff were very friendly, efficient and always available, if needed. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for the good review! We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and got to stay for 4 nights at our hotel! We are happy to here that your stay was comfortable and our staff was friendly and efficient! Thanks again for the review and hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristow, Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at the Gateway Inn for one night on August 15th on lake side with a balcony. We found this to be a wonderful stay with our room well done in a rustic mountain setting. We were surprised to see a fireplace which was great but we didn't use. We checked in without a problem and was informed about everything they provided and what was available locally. Our king bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We especially like the American heritage decorations throughout including the Armed Forces. We didn't eat here because we visited friends but would have used the bar and eaten some food had we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a balcony at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedeOls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay so much! We pride ourselves on Armed Forces since this is a family owned hotel and a lot of the family has served this country. We are happy you enjoyed that. It is alright that you didn't eat here since at that time we did not have a restaurant and still do not. Thank you again for the great review and we hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

What a disappointing stay at the Gateway Inn, Grand Lake, Colorado. On the second day, our room was not made up. What a disappointment and actually disgust after a day hiking and exploring to find the beds not made and the room not attended to. The cleaning staff had already left for the day and the only person left was attending phones. We expected more professionalism from such an establishment but after several emails with only apologies and excuses such as not enough staff to clean all the rooms, we requested a partial refund relating to that one night. A professionally run establishment should have offered that right away. However, we have been ignored, thus we feel a review is in order.

We had diligently removed the "do not disturb'" sign from the door as we left in the morning but upon returning in the afternoon, found it back on the door -- go figure. They claimed their security camera had no answer about how it got there..

Also, their web site had indicated dining facilities there -- not true any more. We had a lake view room (more expensive), but the lake is actually quite a distance away across a part of the town residential area. Other deficiencies include ceiling fan low speed only - not much help; window would not close all the way to lock; significant traffic noise on the lake view side; noisy bathroom fan. Also instead of fresh mountain air on the balcony there was smell of cigarette smoke. If you think these deficiencies, lack of room attendance, and subsequent treatment are worth the money, by all means stay there. R & J, Lakewood, Colorado

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for the review. We have emailed back and fourth to you about this. We checked our cameras TWICE and both times we did not see any one of our house keepers put back on the Do Not Disturb sign. We are truly sorry that you did not get your stay over clean but if there is a sign on the door that says do not disturb the house keepers will not clean the room. The Gateway prides our staff on being honest and we did make sure and check their work. The camera is set up to be able to see if any thing weird is going on. As we checked it twice with multiple staff viewing it to double check our work. We would have helped get you anything you would have needed that the house keepers did not need. Thank you for the review and sorry that you were disappointed in your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
18.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing