We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

From check-in to check-out this hotel exceeded expectations. I honestly booked this stay online because the price and location were right and it didn't look scary. In person, the location and view was as promised and the atmosphere exceptional. There is a comfortable lounge just off the lobby and I was just in time for happy hour. The live music that evening on the scenic deck, catered BBC meal and the complimentary s'mores were all delightful surprises. The rooms were very comfortable and exceptionally clean. This hotel is not upscale, but is is comfortable, clean, scenic and a lot of fun for the value.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room on an upper floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGirl1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    175
    62
    28
    15
See reviews for
154
238
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Husband and I just returned from a three (3) day stay at Gateway Inn. We really liked the location and personnel. Personnel were very friendly and helpful. View was fantastic. The deck was a great place for relaxation. Many locals visit the bar so that says a lot for Gateway in my opinion. Definitely would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here July 7, 2014. Our room had a king sized bed and a private balcony facing the east. The desk clerk was very kind and helpful. He pointed us to a great restaurant for dinner. After dinner we relaxed on the uncrowded balcony attached to the lounge. There are propane fire pits to keep you warm and adds a wonderful ambiance. The staff was very courteous. The rooms were spotless. We are considering coming back and staying longer with more of our family. Great lodge at a good price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
376 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is an incredible upscale hotel in a beer drinking. cigarette smoking town. The amenities are impeccable. we were there over the 4th of July, which is the craziest time to be there. The manager lady was a bit overwhelming, she wanted to direct everyone and everything. a little too helicoptering. Now I must admit, the place is upscale but the workers are nice but pretty low class, the bartender went out to smoke more than bartend and the other older gentleman was nice,but it seemed like the workers lived in fear of the drill sergeant manager. Edie was a sweet older woman, who was very helpful and funny at the desk. It seems like most of the staff were cigarette smoking hard living people. The rooms are beautiful and have everything. The best is their deck complete with gas firepits and comfortable chairs and the views can't be beat.

Room Tip: get a room facing the lake with a balcony, all rooms have fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzieFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaManager, General Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay, as to the staff smoking to much we have talked to them and they are given less smoke breaks. As for the manager, I have worked here 8 years and she is an amazing women who has made the Gateway a very nice place. To my knowledge, I don't think any of the staff is scared of her, I think everyone was overwhelmed with the fourth of July that might have been the reason why the bartenders might have looked scared.

Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived exhausted from driving and before check in time. The very kind man at the desk had them get our room ready early while we waited on the outdoor deck and they allowed us to check in early. The decor was cute and kind of rustic. Our room was large and the bed was exceptionally soft with a cute country quilt. The common room had games and books and a popcorn machine. They invited us for smores on the deck that night but we went to bed to early to enjoy this. Everyone working there was helpful and friendly and it was very clean. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntiebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for the review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here! Our housekeeping staff does try their hardest to accommodate guest with trying to get rooms ready early, but like every where sometimes its just not possible. Hope you come back soon and get to enjoy the s'mores! Thanks, again for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLORADO SPRINGS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed there Tuesday, 6/24, would highly recommend this place. First of all the place is beautiful, sits up high, has great views. It reminds me of a lodge/cabin in the woods. The beds, pillows were very comfortable and the shower was great. Every one employed there from the owner to the bartender were super nice and friendly. I felt like they were glad to have us there and treated us like long time friends.
During the summer on certain nights, they have live music and barbeque set up. What a night we had, the trio was fantastic, bar was hopping and the barbeque that night was hamburgers and brats. We had a ball with the other guests, band, and employees, everyone was laughing and joking.
We didn't try the continental breakfast, we were wanting eggs etc and the lady at desk gave me a recommendation for a place downtown, which was very good.

All I can say is try this place, I think you will like it. Check with them to find out if anything happening that night. We are going to try to get back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bucfan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we try are hardest to make our guest feel like they belong here. Live music is every Tuesday, Thursday, and Sunday for the summer starting at 5pm going till 8pm. Hope you guys come back again! Thanks, again for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Although we didn't stay here, we came to the happy hour in the bar. The prices were great (1/2 price beer and well drinks) with entertainment on Thursday nights and a great barbeque by Bare Bones BBQ. The pulled pork and brisket were fabulous and very reasonable. It was so much fun to see how people in this small community interact with each other. All ages were welcome and they even have board games on the tables for families to play. The view of the lakes is outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We do have a pretty good happy hour and we have music every Tuesday, Thursday, and Sunday from 5pm till 8pm. Hope you come visit us again! Thanks, again, for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
578 reviews
18.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.6 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#7 of 20 in Grand Lake
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing