We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make some family memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Lakes Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Lakes Lodge
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Make some family memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

My family of four spent the Memorial Day weekend in a fun and cozy unit #7 called "The Country Club" with a wonderful ambiance: warm, log interior with vaulted ceilings! We had everything we could need: from a beautiful, queen size bed within the living center where there was a cute, pine table with double seating (for two each) on both sides where we played card games and setup our laptops ....free WI-Fi ....and ate our breakfasts. A gas fire stove inside a corner hearth filled the night and early mornings with heat. A real horse saddle was overhead on a beam along side some decorative, carved birds and other cute items that took a few minutes to find and smile about. Two Ralph Lauren-like big lodge chairs and ottoman were comfy... and spots to lounge. The last night we found time to watch some satellite TV, choosing the National Geographic Channel which was a treat that we do not receive even at home! The second room with separate door included a queen upper and queen lower bunk bed set (perfect for our college-aged son and daughter to each have own, individual large spaces) with a bathroom with a sink made out of a huge, upright wooden barrel topped by a large, round copper makeshift sink with an adjacent warm shower. The compact kitchen was painted with a black and white cow print, and had everything we needed for morning tea (with refrig, stove/oven, microwave, and sink with cups and dishes on shelves), included a quaint little window that had a mountain view that captured the sunny scene of horses in a nearby pasture, walking trail along the water, and reflecting greens and blues that reminded me of a far-off vista of serene solitude....much like a trip to Alaska...but close to all needs in the friendliness of our favorite, small town- Grand Lake! The headwaters of the mighty Colorado River are surrounding you here...saw several kayaks headed along the canal between the lakes and river...perfect for fishing! The back deck became a home each morning to one fluffy, black & white baby bird with mother trying to keep him satisfied: there is a little bird house attached to the large set of back window glass with a see-thru panel to observe the inner home of the nest... filled with twigs and probably the past Spring beginning for this little offspring that came back to his first home each day to feel safe. Below the small, back deck was a fenced-in area to keep a pet if you brought one along with an adjacent patio area with grill and exit to the lodge's acreage where there were fun trails and a tether ball and horseshoes to play. Fire rings are available to share marshmellows and late night talk too.
Rustic surroundings and great outdoor activities abound! I think we had a great time just being together and enjoying the lack of schedules that usually keep us all so busy. Mountain Lakes Lodge was that quiet time we needed to refuel for our return to summer school and jobs. The Lodge's friendly, family managers (who have really improved the comforts and style of the lodge rooms/cabins in their 18 month tenure) also have North Shore Resort. All together, these two locations would be a perfect spot to rent out for a family reunion with space to spread out, including common areas for group gatherings of all ages.
Spending time in Rocky Moutain National Park is a must, including a hot chocolate in the high Trail Ridge Store up on top of the world. I have been traveling (as a child from the Midwest at first) to this world reknown vacation spot for 40 years! On this trip, from Mountain Lake Lodge's locale, we also hiked a trail around Monarch Lake (drive back 10 miles from the Granby Lake dam along the lake to trailhead) and actually saw a moose calf in the willows along the upstream cascade creek flowing into the natural reservoir. Two evenings, we played bingo with other families under the outside roof of Grand Lake's town pavillion.... with the Rotary Club staff of older veterans taking pride in welcoming the tourists to their paradise...everyone comes carrying long sleeve additions.... for the cool night temps...even in the middle of July...my husband won four times out of thirteen rounds...my daughter and I each shared a win with other kids, couples and grandparents.....amazing! As bingo ended after 9 pm, we ate a late dinner on the adjacent corner at the Sagebrush: great barbecue with one room with live music and everywhere with peanuts at each table...the husks end up often on the wood floor. This lively place with staff sweeping up the nut shells (some are college students from Romania) make this the best late night spot in town....especially after bingo!
The Memorial Day Parade and Air Force flyby....with all the pride of the local residents (we have enjoyed the Fourth of July parade at Grand Lake for many, many years too...they shoot the fireworks off into the lake with boats of families watching and a huge crowd listening to the DJ companion music along the town shore....you have to make reservations for lodging early for this packed celebration!) takes the prize too! We listened to WWII, Korean and Vietnam veterans.... salute all who are or have served, and have family members or past parents, grandpas in the wars... speak along with a current Air Force colonel talking about the patriotism of Grand County where 12 % of the current population has been/is in the military verses 1% in most of the US. This is real America with true ethics! The Fat Cat Cafe is a must for their weekend brunch along the wooden sidewalk on the main street....we are writing a request that Guy Fieri come here from Diners, Drive-ins and Dives to meet owner, English Sally: her talents in high altitude baking of British scones and pies, pleasant chatter, and the variety of dishes are fabulous....must try the green chili enchilada egg dish....too many choices to devour at one meal...just sample a bit of this and that....and return for another day.
All and all, I would sum up this holiday stay at Mountain Lakes Lodge as an episode of the TV Show "Northern Exposure". You might want to watch a few episodes before you arrive to set the right mood! Yes, if you are looking for a place that kids still can walk safely around the shops, the town beach, play mini golf, ride horses on an afternoon trail ride, and eat an ice cream.....this is the beautiful spot...much like we all remember from our own childhood....nothing too luxurious....but a great time you will cherish as everyone looks back on good memories together!

Room Tip: Check out the Mountain Lakes Lodge website and pick the room(s) that best fit your group ....it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geojourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you so much for the review. I think we've found someone who loves Mountain Lakes Lodge and the Grand Lake area as much as we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    22
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
35
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very cozy,rustic place. Had a great time relaxing here. Very nice owners!! Stayed 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer! If your looking for a peaceful get away you will love it here!
Look forward to staying in one of there larger rooms next time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sledski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We're glad to hear you had a wonderful time! Thank you for taking the time to let others know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were looking for a peaceful retreat in a simple cabin to hide from the world for a weekend. There are two properties a mile apart: Mountain Lake, facing the canal/river with mountain backdrop, and North Shore property right on Lake Granby (literally right on the lake shore). We loved staying in the Gone Fishin cabin for long snowy February weekend at the Mountain Lake property. All the cabins are attached in a row, sharing two walls (same goes for both properties), but once inside you have an abundance of privacy and forget you have neighbors all together - the inside feels like a stand-alone cabin. The only time we heard our neighbors was as they went in/out because their door stuck and slammed a bit - nothing major. Your back walkout window/door faces a very private, tiny fenced in yard, and beyond that a beautiful expansive of open space, the canal/river, horses grazing, and of course a mountain backdrop. We stayed in the dead of cold, snowy winter and it was heavenly! These cabins have no drafts; our sweatshirts stayed in the suitcases, but I recommend slippers because the floors of course do get a little chilly. The thermostat inside allows you to easily set the gas fireplace to automatically keep your room the perfect toasty temperature. Of course these are cabins and not hotel rooms, but even as pet-friendly cabins they are exceptionally clean -- especially the two most important areas: sheets and bathrooms! The TV is tiny, but fitting for the purpose of our trip - quality time together. We brought our own DVD player, but the digital cable does include HBO. I had to work a traveling shift in Granby, and the drive to/from this place is a piece of cake - easy to find. We passed a moose while driving near the cabins, a bald eagle flew across our cabin's view the next day, and it was just such an ideal mountain retreat. The owners are friendly and genuine and memorable... For example, my boyfriend decided to snowboard the nearby runs in Granby during my work shift, and the cabin owners provided him with a free day pass! Totally awesome. Also no one was scheduled immediately after us, so they offered us to leave a little later than the official checkout on Sunday... That extra hour of sleep was perfect. Nearby Grand Lake historic downtown is welcoming and quite an experience - we felt like we were out in the middle of Alaska or something, in a good way. ;) Lots of restaurant and bar choices there, and everyone ditched their cars for snowmobiles, and people's friendly pet dogs walk around unattended like they're part of the community. :) If downtown Grand Lake isn't your thing, the Roadhouse is within walking distance of the Mountain Lake cabins (unless it's freezing outside - them I recommend you drive like we did). Great live music, locals laughing after a hard day's work and gathering on the dancefloor after a few libations. Total fun, and good food too. I can't say enough good things - We will be back to try the North Shore property this summer!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieOwasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! We take extra steps such as hand-wiping the floors to assure that our units are "hotel clean" even though they're pet-friendly. We're happy to hear that it works!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay in the Bear Collector Cabin. It was cozy and warm with a spectacular view of the winding river and valley. The sunsets in the morning were incredible and the stars at night were amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even provided us with shampoo and a hairdryer that we forgot to bring. We will definitely return and look forward to next year's peaceful getaway!

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading to a larger cabin if you have more than 2 guests or need more than a sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alleigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

I was a bit put off by the negative reviews from a couple of summers ago but the lodge now has new owners and WOW! They have done an amazing job! The couple that run this, Doug and Edy were super helpful, answering all my questions and ensuring that my stay there was as relaxing and idyllic as I wanted. I liked that all the different rooms/cabins were different and came with all the amenities I expected, even wi-fi and satellite tv!!!
I thought the price was very reasonable, the location was awesome and I will definitely stay there next time I am in the area!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLLMGMT, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
We loved having you and appreciate you taking the time to let others know what a great place this is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Extremely dog friendly! Small fenced in backyards. Canal nearby, campfires. Cute cabins at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Ask about theme styled cabins
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dani r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLLMGMT, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We very much enjoyed sitting around the campfire at night and being able to walk our dogs along the canal daily. Very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donotmakemedothis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
4.1 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
4.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
23.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
4.1 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#10 of 20 in Grand Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.4 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lakes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lakes Lodge

Property: Mountain Lakes Lodge
Address: 10480 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447-8612
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Lakes Lodge has fun, rustic, Grand Lake-themed rooms with kitchenettes. Kitchenettes are stocked with basic cook ware and dining ware. Each unit has a 3/4 bath and all linens are included. We are pet-friendly (fee applies)and have great access to walking trails. Outdoor amenities include BBQs, picnic tables, fire-pits and games. This is a fantastic place for Family Reunions!Located on the Lake Granby-Shadow Mountain Canal, there is great fishing steps from your door all year. We're 6mi. from RMNP, 5mi. from Grand Lake Village, 2mi from Arapaho National Forest, 10mi. from Granby, 15mi. from Ski/Bike/Golf GRANBY RANCH, 20mi. from Hot Sulphur Springs. Near restaurants,snowmobiling, hiking, marinas, golf, horseback riding, shopping, wildlife viewing and much more. Snowshoe rental available on-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Lakes Hotel Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing