We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colorado Cabin Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful place”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Staying here for two nights was one of the highlights of our US trip with the actual Cabin (we stayed in Paintbrush) exceeding all expectactions, from the comfy beds to a roaring fire & from the big screen TV to wonderful porch. With the Colorado River flowing past only 20-30 feet away, the Osprey's perched on the tall trees and the odd Moose known to wander past it was an idillic spot. The owners were very friendly also and our time here will live long in the memory. Just a short car ride into Grand Lake (and the Rocky Mountain National Park) and lakes and trails within walking distance. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    23
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Everything about our experience was fantastic - the location is beautiful, the accommodations (we stayed in Lulu's place) were wonderful, and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We will absolutely be back here again for our next stay in Grand Lake!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortiney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Found this place online when looking for a nice cabin near Grand Lake.
We feel fortunate that this was exactly what we were looking for! A "rustic"
Cabin with modern amenities!
Perfect for a nice get away and so relaxing to actually hear the river right outside the door!
Loved the little town of Grand Lake Village too. If you visit in the summer months be sure to get tickets to the summer repertory theatre.
We can't wait to go back for a longer visit sometime soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deaholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had such a relaxing time here. Lulu's cabin was a nice place to stay (rustic yes - but clean and nice bathroom!). The owners were so helpful in finding a spot to eat out, best places to sight see, and directing us to fun short hikes to take with the dog. I was hoping to see a moose (just missed the one snacking RIGHT BEHIND THE CABIN!) so I will be back to Colorado Cabin Adventures soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank twhite66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at Colorado Cabin Adventures, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

CCA is a tidy, cute little group of cabins really close to Grand Lake. Our hosts Rodney and Andrea were kind and helpful. Our cabin (Brookie in the Trout house) was neat and tidy with a big window looking right out at the river. My only complaint and it's a HUGE one for me is that the bed was a HORROR! It was a double... And probably about 20 years old. We sunk into the middle of it every night and it moved almost like it was suspended like a hammock, it swung slightly back and forth. We stayed Thurs-Sun and paid around $440 total. I understand it's comparable to other properties/rentals but for that price I would've liked to have at least gotten a good nights rest. There's no living room, you walk in to the efficiency kitchen which has a bar height table with two stools, the bedroom on the left of that with bathroom attached. Bathroom was nice but you better shower quick! Hot water lasts for only about 7-8 minutes. We probably wouldn't stay in one of the smaller cabins again but would consider a stay in one of the larger units.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jem9576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at Colorado Cabin Adventures, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are so sorry that you did not get a good nights rest while you were here. We have not had any previous complaints about that bed but we will look into changing it out asap. We appreciate your feedback. The size of the cabin does not allow for a full size water heater...the cabins were built in the 1930's and the showers were added later. We will see what we can do to fix it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Expectations of cleanliness for a pet were unrealistic. Cabins were on top of each other. Cabin was hot, we had to go ask for a fan. Fire pits were available which was nice. Towels were very thin and only 2 towels for a 2 night stay. Brochure and website were a bit misleading. $500 for a 2 night was too much for what I was expecting.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri_431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at Colorado Cabin Adventures, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We pride ourselves on allowing people to bring their dogs, but not look like we allow dogs. We usually have great guests like yourselves who take care of their pets, but sadly sometimes we do not. That is why we have a pet policy that asks that you look after your pet and not allow them on the furniture. We are the only nightly rental property in Grand Lake on the North Fork of the Colorado River, so the cabins are situated next to each other to take advantage of the wonderful sights and sounds of this small section of the Colorado River. If anyone asks, I advise them to look up the property on Google Earth so you can see exactly how the cabins are situated. The cabin you were in has windows on three sides and we are sorry you were hot. There are not many properties at 8500' that have air conditioning, but we are happy to provides fans as you stated. We can provide towels any time that we are asked, and we are happy to give as many as needed. When we put extra towels in the cabins on arrival, we found that we were having to wash towels that had not been used and we found that wasteful. I would love for you to contact me and let me know what you thought was misleading in the brochure. It does not serve us well to have that happen and we will happily take into consideration your thoughts. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were so impressed with this place! Just what you have in mind when you picture a cabin in the Colorado mountains. These are right on the North Fork of the Colorado river so you can hear the river flowing by as you sleep at night. We loved the fire pits right on the river and so did the MOOSE that came wondering into our area as we were roasting our marshmallows! A weekend to remember!! Our 8 year old daughter didn't want to leave! We will definitely will be back!! Very, very friendly people! Highly recommend Colorado Cabin Adventures!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at Colorado Cabin Adventures, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We were happy to have you and look forward to our new "employee" next time you visit and she doesn't want to leave!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
2.7 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
520 reviews
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
19.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,440 reviews
10.4 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
64 reviews
2.7 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#12 of 20 in Grand Lake
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Cabin Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Cabin Adventures

Property: Colorado Cabin Adventures
Address: 12082 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447-9003
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on five beautiful acres fronting the North Fork of the Colorado River just three miles south of the historic town of Grand Lake, our rustic log cabins and Reunion Bunkhouse are available year round. The authentic log cabins, some dating back to the early 1930's, have been newly restored and renovated with hardwood floors, gas log fireplaces, 32" flat screen satellite TVs, fresh linens, modern kitchens and bathrooms and beautifully appointed decor. All have stunning views of the river and mountains. The rustic wood decor and intimate lodge atmosphere of the Reunion Bunkhouse provides the perfect Colorado mountain setting for family reunions, wedding parties, church groups and small corporate retreats. Dogs welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing