We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away in Grand Lake”
Review of Shadowcliff Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadowcliff Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My daughter and I hiked from Bear Lake over the CDT to Grand Lake and needed a 2 night respite before we turned around and went back over the divide. This lodge is literally just a few hundred feet from both the North Inlet and Tonahutu Trail markers ending/starting in Grand Lake. It was clean, quiet, free coffee, tea, use of guest kitchen and a few blocks from the downtown area where there are restaurants and activities around the lake. Price is right and staff/volunteers are full of information, as well as a complete library to use while at the lodge. We loved our mother daughter weekend at Shadowcliff!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriannasgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

A wonderful hostel awaits to make your visit to Grand Lake affordable! The beds could have been softer, but all-in-all this was well worth the price. The staff couldn't have been friendlier! A delightful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the best view!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bonnie1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We had just come off a hard walk in Rocky Mtn Nat Park and were looking for a break before continuing south on the CDT.
Just the spot. Staff were very helpful, rooms good, views & ambience xcelent.
Great value

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Beautifully designed and constructed wooden building with a fantastic sense of character and outstanding views over Grand Lake and the Rockies. Friendly and helpful staff. Small but useful kitchen. A great base for walking and cycling.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This property has outstanding views. The cabin was very roomy. The deck sat out over a huge clift with a raging river below. You could hear the water through out the cabin. The cabin was very cozy. The cabin was built in the 1950's. It could us some remodeling. We really enjoyed our stay it fit our purposes. We really enjoyed the views and how quiet it was. We would stay here again when in the area. It was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dashadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our family just spend 3 nights at the Overlook Cabin. Funky, but clean and spacious. Our own deck overlooked the stream, mountains,and the lake. Great vibe to the place. Tremendous value, hard to believe is was the least expensive place we stayed on our CO trip as it was by far the most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank dylan925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Grand Lake, CO is one of my most favorite places in Colorado and Shadowcliff is the best place stay when I am there. It is family friendly, in close proximity to town, and offers relaxation in progressive atmosphere. If your in the mountains to enjoy the views, wildlife, and trails Shadowcliff is the place to use as base camp.

Room Tip: East facing rooms avoid the heat from the setting sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
1.0 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.2 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
16.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#15 of 20 in Grand Lake
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadowcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadowcliff Lodge

Address: 405 Summerland Park Road, P.O. Box 658, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: £49 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadowcliff is a 4-acre mountain retreat featuring 2 lodges providing private guest rooms, a hostel, and three cabins. The property features unforgettable views of Grand Lake and towering mountain peaks. Rocky Mountain National Park is a two-minute walk away. Lodges provide private rooms with shared bathrooms, common lounge and dining areas, kitchen facilities, and a quiet restful environment. We have three self contained cabins that will accommodate up to 8 adults. One cabin sits right on the rivers bend. Reduced rates and meal services are available for larger groups (15 or more). WE ARE OPEN FROM MEMORIAL DAY MONDAY THROUGH THE END OF SEPTEMBER EACH YEAR. WE ARE AVAILABLE BY TELEPHONE THROUGHOUT THE YEAR. THANK YOU. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing