We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our vacation week”
Review of Lone Eagle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lone Eagle Lodge
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“our vacation week”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a most enjoyable stay. While this lodge isn't full of 'foofoo' it is full of all the right things. It is an easy walk to the downtown shopping and eateries there. Our host and all of his staff were courteous, kind, considerate and made our stay very pleasant. Everything was spotless and clean from day one to the end of the week. This was our 3rd stay here and we will be back. It is a good value.

Room Tip: Call ahead! Corner rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surgerynurse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Most of the lodging in town was booked up for that night but found a room at Lone Eagle Lodge, its more of a strip motel then a lodge, room was clean and good size, I still never trust the comforter at most places so off the bed as always, just the thing I do in most rooms I rent.
The price was kinda high but thats Grandlake in the Summer, all in all a ok place to stay. Man at the front desk was nice and helpfull.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from Main St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBaileyCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, KS
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I know it was Grand Lake, but this "lodge" is a very basic room for the price. Nothing in the rooms, no refrigerator, microwave or even coffee maker. There was no air conditioning, which made for an uncomfortable night.
The bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed sitting on the bench that was provided outside of our room. There was a nice patio and grill for guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrunin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
699 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 48 day West trip. Very large room with King bed and real clean. I always like the ceiling heater in the bathroom during those cold nights. We arrived early and we were quickly checked in by the owner.
The office is connected to a little store for buying sport related stuff mostly and they have a 24 hr. gas pump you can use with your credit card.

This is the best place to stay to enter Rocky Mountain National Park rather than the Estes entrance. All of the Moose are at this end of the park and we saw LOTS of moose and their babies.

CON: they did not have a coffee maker and this sleeping little town rolls up the carpet early and sleeps late so that was a real big inconvienence.

Room Tip: Probably not a bad room here so no worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesteevesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed one night. There were three of us and they put us in a "room" that was actually two bedrooms. Probably would've been fine but there was one tv and its in front room, plus it was relatively early evening and we weren't ready to go to bed but there was no comfortable "common area" to just sit and relax. Spoke to the managers/owners (?) and they immediately allowed us to move into a large room with both beds and tv in same spot. Room is very clean and bath towels were extremely soft and clean (not the usual scratchy towels). There is NO air conditioner or fan, which would probably be great for wintertime (there is a baseboard heater), but for early September it's almost uncomfortably warm. The windows are screened and do open, so after we got ready for bed, we were able to pull the curtains back enough to allow a little air to flow. Did cool off some. Still a fan would be nice if nothing else. Besides no fan/ac, there is also no hair dryer or iron/ironing board. Aside from the lack of ac/fan, my only major complaint is that because of having to sleep with the windows open, the smell from someone smoking outside fills the room. The owners/managers were very courteous and the room itself isn't bad. Just a few basic touches would make a major difference. This is a wonderful, beautiful, quaint town and this hotel could really add to the charm.

Room Tip: If you don't care to have everyone sleep in same room, like a normal, basic hotel, make sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed there one night, probably would not want to stay more than that. Paid a lot. Rooms were small and "rustic". Bathroom shower was extremely small. TV did not work great. But the area was great you could walk to lots of places. I would not prefer to stay there again but would do it if I had too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. There are essentially two bedrooms with a double bed each. Convenient if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Rooms are very small, shabby, and had a weird smell. No coffee machine, no microwave, no fridge, old crappy tv. Beds are full sized, not queen, and pillows were awful. On top of all this, the hotel charged our card twice and refused to refund the money. We stay up in Grand Lake about 6 times/year and were highly disappointed. You can get a better room for the same price at several other places.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry11977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
13.3 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#5 of 8 in Granby
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,398 reviews
16.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Eagle Lodge

Property: Lone Eagle Lodge
Address: 712-720 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 1783, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lone Eagle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lone Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing