We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beds are granit”
Review of Spirit Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spirit Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The beds are granit”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We have stayed at Spirit Lake Lodge several times. The beds have finally gotten the best of us. We have returned hoping the beds had been replace. No such luck. We love the downtown location of the hotel, we love the town but we will not go back to Spirit Lake Lodge. Other than the beds, the room was large and nice, clean and well kept and the location is perfect. Unfortunately, the beds will make us look elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    31
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
38
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I try to get Grand Lake at least a couple of times over the summer months and usually we stay at the fantasti Western Riveria Hotel but we could not get a reservation there as it was completely full so my husband was able to get us a reservation here instead.

This is right on the main street in Grand Lake which is very desirable if you want to stay right in the heart of Grand Lake.

The landscaping of this hotel is very nice, lovely flowers and plants everywhere. We had a room which was more of a "suite" I would say as it had a seperate living room and bedroom. The living room was nice with a fireplace. There was a microwave and a small refrigarator as well which was nice to keep beer, wine and soda. The bedroom was very small, the bed took up most of the small room but it was okay as we didn't spend a lot of time there anyway. I didn't like that there was no tv in the bedroom (I like to fall asleep with the tv on, it helps to lull me to sleep). The bathroom was small but very clean. Overall the room was nice and clean and decorated in the style of a mountain lodge.

There is no air conditioning which is no big deal as in Grand Lake, especially at night, it gets pretty cool and you can open the window to let cool air in. The only negative to that was someone in a room a couple of doors down was sitting outside smoking and the smoke was wafting into our room. Yuck! That is another reason I also prefer the Western Riveria Hotel it is totally non smoking.

Overall our stay here was nice and I would go back again, but I just wish they would ban the cigarette smoking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, MT
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Out of the eleven motels we had during our two week vacation, we rated this one second to last. The reception lady was all business, no smiles, and it was do this, don't do this, and almost like we showed up just to cause her grief. The landscaping of the motel was awesome, what a green thumb! The room was decorated prettily and seemed clean enough, although I caught myself checking in corners before we settled in. The beds weren't very comfy. Because this area is right in Grand Lake, the motels can pretty much get what they're asking. We paid the most for this motel and it didn't even come with breakfast. Even a friendly greeting and smile would have been appreciated to make a better memory for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaBorn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Fantastic place, very convenient location, friendly family bussiness. Landscaping-beautiful!!!!

Would recommend this motel to my clossest friends and family.

Eve

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank evelka16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Beautiful landscaping, blooming flowers, new log furniture, friendly owners and employees.
Clean rooms, some of the rooms with fireplace and kitchen-net, some like hotel rooms- all with small fridge, coffee pots etc. Hotel is in great location- middle of the town, close to RMNP and to Adams Falls and beyond. I will recommend this place to everyone if you want to have clean place and close to everywhere, you will like here.

Corrina

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We went for Easter weekend, had a nice suite with room for our labrador. It was clean and comfy, and I would recommend this to anyone. The suite was defintely big enough for a group and we plan to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGeuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILMINGTON NC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

A group of seven of us rented snowmobiles from this location and spent @ $1,000. Upon return of the snowmobiles we watched as the person checked out every inch of every machine looking for the tiniest scratch or damage. We were then told every thing was fine and to go inside. About 5 minutes later he came walking in with a belt that had a tiny shiny spot and said we would have to pay for the belt. We had 2 people with us that owned snowmobiles and one was a mechanic and he looked at the belt and said that was BS and that belt would have lasted another 2 years, if in fact it had even come off our machine as we were told to go inside and everything was fine. Upon talking to the owner she was extremely rude and advised she should care less how we felt. There are several other places to rent snowmobiles in area and I suggest you find someone who cares about your buisness. This hotel rents the snowmobiles and I am quite sure I would not stay there either due to Owners attitude

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DOYSTERBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
13.3 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,440 reviews
16.7 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lone Eagle Lodge
Lone Eagle Lodge
#10 of 20 in Grand Lake
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Lake Lodge

Property: Spirit Lake Lodge
Address: 829 Grand Ave., PO Box 66, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Spirit Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Spirit Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Lake Hotel Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing