We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the Spirit of this lodge.”
Review of Spirit Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spirit Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

On our recent road trip of Colorado and New Mexico, we selected this lodge from reading literature we got from one of the travel clubs and some of the comments on triadvisor. We decided to book our one night stay in this lodge. We found it very convenient as it was closed to the West Gate of Rocky Mountains National Park.

The room was adequate for a night rest. It was clean. No luggage rack was provided. One had to unpack the bags on the floor. It was a rainy night, it was cold, and it took the heater about 1-hour to kick off.

The innkeeper was not very friendly. Needless to say, I will not be booking this place again.

Room Tip: Not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MMasumoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

They started construction outside our room at 7:45 am.... We went to talk to them after spending $130 a night and the owner yelled and said
"Get outta bed". Terrible customer service!! Do not recommend! We are on vacation and we definitely do not need to be told when to start our day!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank renaeromeo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Spirit Lake Lodge (2 couples) on July 28, 2014. The owner, Christina, suggested a couple of their newly decorated suites. The suites were quaint, clean, quiet with a reasonable rate. The outside areas were full of wonderful plants and flowers. The back area had a nicely manicured gazebo area as well. There was plenty of parking close to our rooms. There was even fresh coffee in the office area. We loved it and will be back!

Room Tip: Take a good look all around the property to see how it is maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The grounds and landscaping are beautiful. You can walk to dinner/shopping/the lake!
The rooms are small, but meticulous and convenient. Cute
place! The internet situation could be better. Had trouble getting on easily a couple of times.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were in Rocky Mountain National Park and decided to stay in Grand Lake. We dropped by and they had availability. The grounds were so well maintained. The room was immaculate. It was a a suite type room. It had a frig and microwave. There Wes also a lovely stone fireplace. It was very quiet for being on the Main Street. I hope we get to go during the winter and use the fireplace.

Room Tip: The staff was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dovecanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I give this place a thumbs up. We felt at home in this pretty, nicely landscaped retreat.The staff did everything to make us comfortable. We will defiantly come back to this lodge, and certainly will recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livingartfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have stayed her before and was not happy with the hardness of the beds. They have since gotten new mattresses and the bed was comfortable. We stayed a "suite". With a tiny bedroom and I mean tiny. However, it was big enough to fit the "queen" bed (I really don't think it was a queen). The place is cute, the couch comfortable, good TV, refrig and microwave. Great location, basically on the edge of "downtown" so you can park your car and walk everywhere. Grand Lake is a wonderful little western town and Spirit Lake Lodge fits right in. The owner is very direct but polite. Pretty much no nonsense. I would return and recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 0993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
0.1 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rapids Lodge
Rapids Lodge
#5 of 20 in Grand Lake
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lone Eagle Lodge
Lone Eagle Lodge
#11 of 20 in Grand Lake
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Lake Lodge
Grand Lake Lodge
#9 of 20 in Grand Lake
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Lake Lodge

Address: 829 Grand Ave., PO Box 66, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: £89 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spirit Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spirit Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Lake Hotel Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing