We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion for 22 Folks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grant
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tumbling River Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Conway, Arkansas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Reunion for 22 Folks”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

ALL 5 stars??! You may think this isn't possible-- but Megan & Scott, and their FABulous staff make it happen. A Horse Lover's Dream- with PLENTY of other fun activities (White River Rafting, Trout Fishing, hiking, Train Ride to Georgetown, CO) planned on a daily basis. Looking for relaxation? That can happen too-- with massage, lounging by the pool, book reading on your front porch swing, if you need a "day off". The FOOD is FANTASTIC! KIDS ACTIVITIES are abundant, leaving parents two different option of "adult only" dinners. Don't miss out on a wonderful family vacation in the Rockies. Tumbling River Ranch is EXTREMELY well run by an A+ staff---- they treated our 22 family members like we were their family : )

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineM1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
127
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
longwood
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Refreshing, adventurous, physically challenging, wholesome all rolled in one. Our family loved the down home feel to this all inclusive ranch with a young enthusiastic staff, and sincere owners whose main goal was to make sure everyone was happy and fully immersed in their ranch lifestyle.The activities were fun, meals were all homemade and wonderful, the horse back riding trails were breath taking. The hike to flag mountain was challenging and so memorable when you got to the top. The ranch had such a tranquil feeling, fresh air, roaring creeks, incredible views. My teenage son loved the skeet shooting, archery and rock climbing. My daughter loved the horse back riding and rodeo show.My two youngest loved getting up in the morning to help feed the horses and hang out with the staff. We have a new appreciation for a dude ranch experience and encourage everyone to step out of their comfort zone and try a week here, you'll learn things about yourself you never knew, and will be invigorated toward life when you return home. Hats off to Scott and Megan for their hard work trying to make everyone's week memorable, and for the devotion and passion that they exude to everyone who stays at their ranch. Sincerely Hans and Theresa Kennon (The Floridians)

Room Tip: Loved the Ranch House, views were incredible, excellent location , spacious, fireplace in every room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgkennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family had a wonderful week at Tumbling River in June 2014. The staff was excellent --enthusiastic, knowledgeable about the ranch and the surrounding areas and interested in doing whatever necessary to make the trip a success. The food was delicious and plentiful. There were a variety of activities every day. My husband and I didn't love riding, but that did not diminish our experience in the slightest. The ranch owner, Megan Dugan, led us on numerous local hikes where we saw beautiful vistas and amazing lakes. There were multiple multigenerational families there as well as a single woman, a young couple and many single generation families and everyone was having a great time. There is nighttime entertainment including a campfire and hayride, two adult-only dinners (during which the kids had their own fun dinner/game nights), square dancing, western movie night and the Hootenanny (you have to see it to believe it!). The kids' counselors made it easy for even my most difficult child to join in and have a great time. I cannot say enough great things about our week. I really don't know how any vacation we take will be able to match up. I hope to go back in a few years.

Room Tip: The Ranch House rooms are great. You are right upstairs from the main dining room. For a large, mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyM1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A week at Tumbling River Ranch is so much more than riding horses!!!! Each day offers a variety of choices with something fun for everyone, and they take care of all the details, so you just go and enjoy yourself without a care in the world, dine on wonderfully prepared meals with your family, and hear about all the fun they had doing their activities, all in one of the most beautiful places in the world.

My first visit to TRR was as a 12 year old child... I loved it! 25 years later my family was still referring to TRR as our best family vacation ever, so my parents treated our entire family (10 total with spouses and grandkids) to a week - It was everything I had remembered and more. We vowed not to wait as long before going back, so we returned this spring with my parents (now in their 70's), and our children now ages 15 & 17. TRR remains to be a magical vacation place and we have vowed to return again.

We enjoyed the intimacy of the lodging at the Pueblo during each of our trips. The Pueblo is just a short shuttle van ride or walk up to the main lodge, corral, pool and cabins where their many other guests lodge for the week. The layout of the bedrooms and bathrooms allows this facility to accommodate 3 large families, perhaps more if you share a bath, plus an additional couple. The Pueblo has a hot tub overlooking the fishing pond, a pool table upstairs, and roomy gathering area and dining room for socializing with other guests. My husband and I enjoyed the privacy of the Sullivan House, the original settlers cabin (with modern facilities) on the Pueblo property, it's just across a creek - perfect for a couple!

During our week, members of our family participated in fly-fishing, white water rafting, rock climbing, hiking in snowfields, hiking on a much flatter trail, sledding on rain slickers, the overnight pack trip, lots of trail rides, skeet shooting, practice time in the arena, and of course the rodeo! Square-dancing, which we thought our teenagers might ask to opt out of, turned out to be a good time for all as well.

The Dugan family, staff, counselors and wrangles were phenomenal - They kept us safe on the trails, made everything fun, entertained us with stories and music, and took care of our every need. The accommodations were old west styled and spotless, the food was exceptional, the location by the Pike National Forest for trail access was breathtaking... We even saw a huge bull moose and mountain goats during our stay.

You don't have to have any horseback riding experience, just a good sense of humor, a positive attitude and jeans that are not too tight. Splurge on some cowboy boots or borrow some from their Trading Post, and pick a cowboy hat off the rack when you arrive. Putting the hat back on the last day will be bittersweet, so thankful for memories to last a lifetime, and so sad to have to go.

Tip - Book a 1 hour massage - She's one of the best ever and you will regret stopping after 30 minutes!

Room Tip: Just tell Megan or her assistant the number of people and ages in your group. She will tell you abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indysparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We just returned from an unbelievably restful, active, relaxing,scenic week at the ranch. We felt like part of their family except we were treated like royalty. I cannot say enough to recommend this ranch. It is a GREAT multigenerational experience with activities for all ages and levels of fitness. The setting is spectacular, and an easy drive from Denver. The Dugans have thought of everything and are flexible to accommodate any requests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momo1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went to Tumbling River for nine summers straight when our children were growing up. After a few years hiatus, we returned this year, taking our two children, a spouse of one child and Three grandchildren! Wow, it was just as great (and better in some ways--don't tell Jim and Mary Dale!)as ever. The grandchildren LOVED it and all declared it was the best vacation ever. The staff really sets this place apart--most accomodating and a genuine pleasure to be with. We couldn't recommend this more highly!! A fun time FOR ALL the family--from young to old!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0virginiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Undoubtedly the best Rooney family vacation we ever had. From the horse back riding, fishing, rafting, food, and friendly staff, it couldn't be beat. We have 3 young children (8,7,5)--one with disabilities--and the staff could not have been better for all of them. The staff really add to how great this place is. We definetly plan on going again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grant
17.9 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
757 reviews
18.9 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
596 reviews
23.8 mi away
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Grant Motel
The Grant Motel
#1 of 1 in Grant
5 reviews
19.0 mi away
Beaver Run Resort and Conference Center
23.2 mi away
Colorado Bear Creek Cabins
Colorado Bear Creek Cabins
#1 of 3 in Evergreen
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tumbling River Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumbling River Ranch

Property: Tumbling River Ranch
Address: 3715 County Road 62, PO Box 30, Grant, CO 80448-1000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Grant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tumbling River Ranch, one of the finest guest and dude ranches in the Colorado Rockies. With a superb location nestled in a secluded valley high in the Rocky Mountains, Tumbling River Ranch is a truly special place for kids, parents and grandparents to enjoy a one-of-a-kind family vacation at a Colorado ranch resort.Come enjoy superb horseback riding for all ages, exceptional dining, fun activities and outstanding kids' programs - for babies through teenagers.For an unforgettable vacation, family reunion, or wedding, Tumbling River Ranch offers the highest level of facilities, service, hospitality and comfort in a fun, Western horseback riding ranch experience. Other activities include fly-fishing, swimming, hiking, trapshooting, family rodeos, white-water rafting, unforgettable live entertainment, and more!You have our commitment that we will do everything possible to make your vacation or event the best you've ever had. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing