We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay in September, 2013”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastern Passage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Fisherman's Cove
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One night stay in September, 2013”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Pretty basic accommodation with a scenic setting right on the small Fisherman's Cove. We had balcony rooms that overlooked the small cove. Breakfast was minimal and not on par with all the other B&B's we stayed at on our two week vacation in Nova Scotia. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but nothing to rave about. The area is well away from the main tourist sites of Halifax, but that wasn't our requirement since we only needed a one night accommodation.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms on the second floor were a nice perk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Visited September 2013. location and little else to recommend this accommodation. Room, dated décor with mish mash of misc. furniture and drapes which do not full privacy. The continental style breakfast was very basic with inadequate food for the number of quests, rethawed muffins, cold green bananas and we ran out of milk and cream. The host was very dour who made little or no eye contact with the quests and we did not feel welcome. We would not return nor recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here in August. We wanted to visit Halifax but preferred to stay a little outside the city. When you're driving to the Inn the area may seem a little industrial but trust me you will be very happy once you arrive. We had the two rooms on the third floor in the back of the Inn with balconies overlooking a small fishing village with boats, sunset views, restaurants and a few shops. There is also a little beach you can walk to. The rooms are small but very comfortable and clean. The Inn is close to the road but there is minimal traffic at night and therefore it is quiet for sleeping.
If you need anything just ask. Tammy is a wonderful host. She answered all our questions and gave us insight into everyday life in Nova Scotia. Make sure you try the home made croissants and banana bread.
I’d go back to Nova Scotia just to stay there. My friends felt the same way.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with balconies on the back side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTraveler48572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you ever decide to visit Halifax, N.S., please consider this small (8 room) hotel. Pick one of the third floor rooms overlooking the ocean. The left side one is larger. The location in the Eastern Passage is across the bay from Halifax. The Halifax waterfront is easily accessible by the "people ferry" near the hotel that runs back and forth all day. Driving into Halifax isn't far but isn't really necessary and parking is a problem. We found that we liked the small harbor by the hotel and spent most of our time perched on the upper balcony enjoying the sights and sounds of the little harbor. Sunsets especially were awesome. Boats of many kinds were moored here... fishing, lobstering, working, sailing, power, live-a-boards of various kinds. There are lots of small shops and at least 4 restaurants. Compared to Halifax prices, this hotel was a bargain and a hidden gem. The included breakfast was continental and plentiful. The hosts (mom and daughter) were very helpful and affable. There is no AC but ventilation across the corner room location was very adequate.

Room Tip: Third floor, left side, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank striplic2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks while on business. Couldn't ask for better accommodations. Tammy the Inn Keeper was very friendly and helpful. Great views right from your balcony of the fishermans village. Away from all the busyness of Halifax. Great, clean rooms. Lots of nearby places to have a stroll with your boo. You will love this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickWolynsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Greetings fellow Travelers!!
After staying many times at the Inn, I must say that Tammy the Innkeeper and all of the employees at the Inn were fantastic!! I felt very much at home and absolutely loved the view from my balcony of the fishing boats and the sea gulls. I must rank the Inn as an excellent B&B and a must do in Nova Scotia.
The rooms were very clean and there was more than ample parking. I enjoyed breakfast both indoors and out on the dock. The food was awesome and yummy, mostly home baked on the premises.
I met so many interesting people from all over North America and Europe, and enjoy that the Inn was so handy to dining, shopping and banking.
So much more to write about, but I assure you that your stay will be quite memorable!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L_A_Borguss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

The thing this inn has going for it is the fact that it is the only accomodations in Eastern Passage, period. There's noboby manning the front desk at night, so if you experience drunken rowdies down the hall as we did, there's nothing you can do about it. The walls of the inn are literally about 3 meters from the highway, so plan on earplugs. . The breakfast is mediocre, as is the attitude of management. Also, expect to rise at the same time as the sun. For window coverings they have the transparent $9 tab curtains sold by Ikea 20 years ago. Eastern Passage itself is charming and beautiful. Best bet is to drive out for the afternoon and stay in town overnight.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy_Louer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastern Passage
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Fisherman's Cove

Property: The Inn at Fisherman's Cove
Address: 1531 Shore Road | P.O. Box 272, Eastern Passage, Nova Scotia B3G 1M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Eastern Passage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eastern Passage
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing