We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy retreat in Nidderdale”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Dairy Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Old Dairy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Timble, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrei H
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy retreat in Nidderdale”
Reviewed 3 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Had 5 nights in this charming cosy and well appointed cottage.wonderfully spectacular views and so quiet. You feel you are far from the maddening crowd yet the owners are just across the courtyard. They are welcoming and hospitable hosts. Close to the local inn and walks and despite the winter weather we had a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tgibson19...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spectacular!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Just got back from the our 2 nights at The Old Dairy and I couldn’t reccomend it highly enough. The cottage is beautiful inside and out with stunning views. Dawn is wonderful and had everything you could possibly need in the cottage. To be quiet honest I didn’t want to leave, this place is something special and if you don’t visit after reading not only my review but all the others that tell you just how wonderful it is you are missing out on something spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Tracey, thank you so so much for your absolutely lovely review! I really appreciate that you have taken the time to report back on your stay with us.
It was a pleasure to host for you - thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy.
Hope to see you again sometime!
Dawn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taglee
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“5* beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Dawn the owner was lovely and very helpful upon our arrival, she gave us lots of information about the cottage and the area. The cottage was absolutely fantastic very cozy, lovely interior and done to a very high standard, everything you need was in it, the bedroom was a great size with a super king bed ( just what we are used to as we have one at home) the ensuite was brilliant and the private garden and views where stunning. A very quiet location great for a relaxing break and only a few miles away from Harrogate and Otley. We can only imagine how beautiful it must be in summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katharine...
Parksville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An idyllic slice of heaven !”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We rented Old Dairy Cottage for 10 days and we never wanted to leave. The location is simply breathtaking and so very peaceful. Dawn has thought of everything when it comes to outfitting the cottage, everything we needed ( and more) was in the charming cottage. Sitting outside eating breakfast in the early morning is unforgettable and the location is so central for exploring the Yorkshire Dales. A visit to McKenzie Smoke House, about 1 mile away, is a must!
Dawn catered a lovely meal for us which was such a luxury - thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Dear Katharine and Terry,
It was a pleasure meeting you and having you stay in our cottage.
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am very appreciative that you have taken the time to post your review.
I know how important your trip was and feel very honoured that you chose our cottage to base yourselves!!
Thank you.
Best wishes,
Dawn and Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janegg201...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I think this is the fourth year I have stayed in this 'lovely haven' in January and I truly love coming here. Clearly a lot of thought and care goes into this delightful cottage which is spotlessly clean with attention to every detail. Dawn is a kind and helpful lady and nothing is too much trouble plus her cooking is absolutely delicious. It is also a perfect location to visit many attractions in this beautiful county.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma V
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A haven in the Dales”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A return visit for us and pleased to see that the cottage was as warm and welcoming as ever (appreciate the new sofa too). It's in a fantastic location and in our week we managed to visit Whitby, York, Harrogate and Skipton with ease. Dawn and Barry are welcoming and very helpful hosts and I recommend the Catering in the Cottage too. A home away from home and would love to head back there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, furnishings and hosts
Liked least: Having to leave :-)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;