We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Explosion of fresh flavors!”

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 127 Restaurants in Highlands Ranch
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Yosemite
Transit: Light rail stop on Lincoln is less than half a mile away. Light rail on County Line is one mile away.
Description: Located on the South side of the United Artists Meadows 12 Movie Theater and near Park Meadows Mall, the Park Meadows Rio is where good people, a unique atmosphere, and honest, wholesome ingredients make everything better. Great happy hour with outdoor patios, private space & large party reservations available. We offer a festive & delicious experience for all ages.
AURORA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Explosion of fresh flavors!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

As a discerning foodie I was thinking this place was just another mediocre Mexican food restaurant. But boy, was I surprised! This place makes their tortillas fresh on site and all the food tastes homemade, not canned or reconstituted! The green chili was made with freshly roasted chiles and tender chunks of meat, not frozen anything! My husband had the spinach enchiladas which were awesome. I had the half quesadilla (steak and cheese)with green chili and could not stop praising the tastiness of the food! I was pleasantly surprised. We were told the margaritas are awesome, so we will be back for certain!! I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peetieswie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    14
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor quality of pork”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I often eat at the Rio in Boulder and in Lodo.I have always enjoyed my meal.This time I
ordered something with braised pork in it.The pork was so full of grizzled/ fat pork that
even a pitbull couldn't have eaten it.The waiter took it off of my bill.I had only taken
three bites.I was surprised the manager didn't come over.Our other meal was fine.
Service was good.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trumptwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your experience at the Rio - that is the opposite of the experience you deserve & not the one we strive to deliver. Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your visit; without people letting us know how we're doing we could never improve. If you would like to come back and give us another chance, please ask to speak with a manager on duty and we would be happy to treat you to an appetizer or drink of your choice.
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, IA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very busy on a Saturday night, slow service and ok food.”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

OK food, short wait for how busy they were, but slow service.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Frisco03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your visit and your experience at the Rio; without people letting us know how we're doing we could never grow and improve. Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak Burrito with Green Chili sauce”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We like the steak burrito with green chili sauce, and eat here 3 - 4 times a month. Staff is friendly and the food is good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RGBlue256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing