We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, great margs!”

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 127 Restaurants in Highlands Ranch
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Yosemite
Transit: Light rail stop on Lincoln is less than half a mile away. Light rail on County Line is one mile away.
Description: Located on the South side of the United Artists Meadows 12 Movie Theater and near Park Meadows Mall, the Park Meadows Rio is where good people, a unique atmosphere, and honest, wholesome ingredients make everything better. Great happy hour with outdoor patios, private space & large party reservations available. We offer a festive & delicious experience for all ages.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
“Fun place, great margs!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My friends and I are always looking for new places to grab drinks, apps, and be able to catch up with one another. So last night one of my friends suggested we go to the Rio for margaritas - we hadn't been to a Rio since college. The place was packed with tons of kids, so we decided to sit in the bar. The Margs were just as good as we remembered and just as strong too. The guacamole was so fresh and really flavorful. I'm kind of a picky eater, so I really liked that they put all the extras (cilantro, pico, etc.) on the side for people to mix in if they choose to. I also had the steak tacos, which were perfectly marinated and again, very flavorful. Our server was really attentive, but not obtrusive - kinda seemed that whenever we needed something he was there. He even took the time to joke around with us and make us laugh a couple of times even though it was obvious he was busy. We had a great time and will definitely be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review Sarah. You're right - we get busy on Sundays for our Kids Eat Free promotion, and we're glad that the bar had the vibe you were looking for. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    14
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
186 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“There are a lot better Mexican restaurants”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Maybe we caught them on a bad day, but I won't be going back. We didn't order anything special and the food came out that way. The service was good and the staff were attentive, but they lack the food quality was not good. If you are looking for a happy hour with friends, maybe this is the place; otherwise, skip it. And, their house Margarita was the worst Margarita I have ever had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were not impressed with our menu offerings. At the Rio we have scratch kitchens – all our food is made daily from scratch with fresh and wholesome ingredients which are locally sourced. As for the house margaritas, we use a recipe that has been enjoyed for 28 years in Colorado. I was happy to hear that your service was good, and hopefully you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith in us and visit us again soon. Our servers would be more than happy to guide you towards some of our most popular dishes, advise you on some complimentary sauces or toppings that might suit your palate, as well as explain some of our new, hand crafted cocktails that we have recently added to our bar menu. Our blackberry "Rockies Marg" in celebration of our new location at Coors Field has been a huge hit! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Who cleans this place??”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Rio in Lone Tree used to be one of our most favorite restaurants, but after our last few visits, I don't know when or if we will ever go back. We sat on the patio today, and the first table we sat at had been prepared for diners but was left with a sticky soda residue all over the table (our water napkins were literally sticking to the table and ripping off.) It was too sunny in that spot anyway so we moved to a table in the shade. This table was SO filthy we didn't want to put anything down, so we asked our server to please bring a towel so we could wipe it off. Seriously, this table was so dirty from never truly being scrubbed down that there were stuck little bits of stuff on it EVERYWHERE. She promptly returned and gave about 2/3 of the table a quick once over swipe, which didn't do much because honestly this table needed to be scrubbed with a scouring pad--the underside too! The silverware they brought us had old food stuck to it. And what has happened with the food? There was SO MUCH GREASE pooling around my food that my friend actually couldn't stop laughing because it just kept puddling, becoming about 3/8" deep. I looked around for something to pour the grease into but couldn't find anything. It also bugs me that they hoard the napkins as if they are some kind of first-world commodity. None of the diners on the patio had the traditional black cloth napkins (just the teeny paper ones) and they don't actually bring any napkins or silverware to you until your food arrives. So, you end up sitting there eating chips and salsa and wiping your hands on the drink napkin under the water glass, on your jeans, or on the glass table! No issues with the staff there as everyone is always very friendly and accommodating (our server today was sweet and attentive but not too overbearing), but the cleanliness and the food is just plain lacking. Seriously...anyone who calls themselves a restaurant manager should be ashamed of themselves for allowing the patio area to be seated in that condition. I don't know if you could care less about your job or if that is the standard for how you dine at home, but for paying customers, IT IS UNACCEPTABLE! I shudder to think of how the kitchen looks.

We will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phartsmeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your disappointing visit. Please accept my sincerest apology on behalf of our whole team. This is not the experience we strive to deliver, and certainly not the one you deserve. We continue to work hard every day to fix these kinds of issues, and thank you for letting us know how we can improve. Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stopped by the Rio Grande restaurant for lunch as we are from out of town and wanted some good Mexican food. We are familiar with this restaurant chain as we had eaten in Fairfax, VA. The chicken tostada was very tasty and fresh and right size. It had the right amount of sour cream and was not overwhelmed with beans or lettuce. Just right size.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MannyinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent lunch with us while visiting Denver! We actually are only located in Colorado, but that's great that you sought us out because of our common name with the Virginia restaurant. We hope to see you again the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Margaritas & service”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The food was pretty good, but the Margaritas were excellent. Good menu of food providing options from typical Tex-Mex type food. A few Margarita choices, but the classical one is the best in my opinion. The staff is also very helpful and friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dantal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Rio. We have worked really hard over the last few years to improve our food and beverage offerings, as well as our service, so thank you for your positive feedback. See you again soon! Susan, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing