We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun To Experience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Sulphur Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hot Sulphur Springs Resort & Spa
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This was my first time visiting a hot springs. It was very relaxing and quiet. I loved the rustic theme and the outdoors of it. It was also nice that they had many different sized pools so that not everyone was crammed in the same area. They even had a cave-like room, but it smelled too bad to say inside. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that my clothes I wore there never lost the "sulfur" smell. So, if you ever decide to visit, take an old swim suit and old clothes that you don't mind getting smelly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

The springs and massages were nice. The facility needs some updating. Straight out of the 60's. The girl at the front desk just stared at us when we came in. We had to ask her all the questions and we even had appointments already booked. Looked like she was upset to even be there. No customer service skills what so ever!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ServingYouUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Located in a valley between Grandby and Kremling, this remote resort is an ok place for a quick and cheap getaway for some relaxation. It has some limitations we were not expecting....dont expect to get cell phone reception, wifi is only in the lodge and has many sites blocked. every room comes with ear plugs....for the train that comes by right in front of the lodge every 2 hours or so. Hot springs pools closes at 945pm. When we were there, tons of locals would come to over crowd the pools especially in the afternoon when people are done skiing. there are no food services there so you have to go into the little town for food which then you are limited to only 2 choices. Everything in town closes at 9pm. So if you want more choices for food, you will have to travel back into Grandby about 20 minutes away. No shopping in town so again, have to go back to Grandby. Don't expect much here.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a good room here....mattresses were hard, electronic heaters made tons of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mongoshrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This place offers a wide variety of services - from the 21 hot sulphur pools of all sizes and temperatures where you can luxuriously soak, socialize, or just be by yourself, to the family-friendly swimming pool, to the indulgent spa services. You can spend a couple hours using the pools, or spend a whole day taking advantage of all their services. Be sure to check out the "waterfall" pool and let the hot water pour over your back for a relaxing massage-like experience! For as little as $17.50 (12 and older) you can spend all day using all 21 pools. Great all year-round, it's espeically fun in the winter to go from the cold air into the hot pools.

The smell of the sulphur can be unpleasant, but the therapeutic value of the minerals make it worthwhile. Just make sure you shampoo your hair afterward to avoid any chemical interactions.

I've not stayed in any of their rooms, but they sound nice. Check out the website for a full list of all their services, prices and photos of the facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank napergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This was our 4th or 5th trip there. Everytime we enjoy how quiet it is. They advertise 24 pools; when we weer there 16 were open. They never have them all, not sure why. It wasn't too crowded so it was okay. We love the M-A-T pool and the Rojo Pool the best. There are trains that go by and blow their horns, but it never bothers us; you are so relaxed you sleep right through it. Make sure to bring water bottles, as those are not provided, also a large towel and robe as the towels they provide are very very small and robes cost. They are good about placing salt and ice melt down, but flip flops can be helpful. The locker rooms are clean as well as the whole facility. The staff is helpful, but quiet also.

Room Tip: We have been placed in room 109 several times and it's a good room, but a tad far from the entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romy4424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We have been here 4 or 5 times, but this time I was just pushed over my limit on how unkept and dirty the facilities continue to be. I don't expect this to be a high maintenance experience and the "floaties" in the hot tubs are even acceptable; part of the rustic, natural experence. However, the locker rooms are not maintained at all. There is carpet in the locker rooms which is completely soaked through to the floor boards. They have fans going inside the locker room to help dry the carpets I suppose, but a cold fan blowing in the middle of January in a locker room that isn't heated to begin with is ridiculous. The smell in the locker room is beyond the sulphur, but now mixed with mold and mildew. The lockers are old and rusted inside. I have never once noticed any employee walking the property to check on the conditions and the staff at the front desk is very unfriendly. We mentioned that the bathrooms could use some attention on our way out and the lady at the front desk chuckled. We go to a lot of hot springs pools but this one is by far the smelliest; I will never get the smell out of our towels, clothes, and after 4 days of showers the smell is still in my kids hair. Plan accordingly; don't expect to want to shower, make sure you bring flip flops for walking in the locker room and from tub to tub, bring clothes/suits/towels (or rent a towel) that you are okay with smelling like sulphur from now on, and your wallet. This place is expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skicbmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We came for an overnight, well worth the money spent. We drove in on a Fri am to use the springs both days. We stayed in the hotel strip by the train overnight. Bring a hair dryer & conditioner if you require it. Room is small, but cute. No tub, just a shower. Plenty of room for 2. We watched the TV for maybe 30 mins. It's tiny too. The train didn't wake us up. The bed was a queen & super comfy.

The hot springs are so nice. Some tubs are super hot. We did the springs then ate early dinner in Kremmling (dif post) & did the springs again in the evening, My hair froze! Woke up Sat am early to do the springs, then got ready for brunch in Kremmling again. Did the springs after brunch & headed back home. It's worth it to drive up early as you get 2 days of soaking. Yes, it smells, but it's a natural hot spring. I don't recommend for children. There are tubs for them, but they aren't allowed up on the higher one if under 12.

You can rent the private apt or cabin for more. I didn't care much for that. I would def come back in the future. Hoping a Groupon deal pops up. It was $118 for 1 night & got 2 days to soak. Bring your own towels for the tubs. They rent them for $2 each. The hotel ones aren't for tub use. Also bring bottled water, it gets hot & you need to stay hydrated. They charge $2/bottle & it's not that cold. Maybe bring a small cooler for your room to stash water & snacks. The staff is super nice. They offer coffee, tea & hot chocolate in the am. No breakfast, but have a microwave. They sell the cup of noodles & a few candy bars.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge, get the apt or cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Sulphur Springs
14.9 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
174 reviews
19.1 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
542 reviews
22.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#5 of 14 in Winter Park
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites of Kremmling
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
17.9 mi away
Twin Rivers Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Sulphur Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Sulphur Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 5609 Rte 20, Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Hot Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hot Sulphur Springs
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers fifteen baths for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hot Sulphur Springs Resort And Spa
Hot Sulphur Springs Hotel Hot Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing