We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deferred Maintenance”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Sulphur Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hot Sulphur Springs Resort & Spa
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deferred Maintenance”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been coming here for over 15 years and always really enjoyed my stay. However, the place is getting more and more run down and feels dirty. Keeping up with deferred maintenance and putting more attention to keeping the place clean would go a long way to making this a much more quality experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JennCColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    52
    51
    21
    38
See reviews for
41
93
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

First off this place should take resort and spa out of its name. It is just a raggedy hotel that is over priced in front of some miniature size pools. This place looked as if it was nice in the 60's. You would think that all the money they have made over the years that they would use it to update the place. My family and I payed to stay and left to go back home. Our room was old and smelled like urine. $100. a room you guys can do better than that. I do not recommend this place. Its so old they should let people in for free. Thanks for a horrible trip!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrnmrschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hot Sulphur Springs hotels

Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I have stayed here countless times and always enjoy it immensely! The rooms are very basic, so if you are looking for luxury, this is not the place to go. The train runs close, but we found that after the first visit where it was sort of shocking at night, it never bothered us again. Lots of pools with different temperatures, some of which are closed in the winter so others stay hot. Pay for one night's room ($108 for a queen bed and two people) and soak for two days free ($18.50 each per day= $74) making the room a real bargain!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Habiba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great hot water, quite and relaxing. One friend was sick, but the hot pools really helped with his cough and cold. Very nice employee's. Love it. Could use some updating, but was a nice place. Cafe across the river was very nice too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Fisher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The natural springs are wonderful, as is the variety of both the pools (indoor and outdoor), but the changing rooms and bathrooms could really use some updating. Still, coming from the Midwest where there are no hot springs at all, it is still a worthwhile trip to experience them. For sure buy a quart water bottle at some convenience store before you arrive as keeping hydrated in these is really important.

Room Tip: I too would recommend bringing your own towels as the ones they rent are super small and pretty poor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mora, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

A lot of the pools were closed. Don't know why? There was one nice natural looking pool that had a waterfall. It was kinda in a hole though so you can't see the mountains. It was nice and hot but crowded. The sulphur is strong smelling and if you aren't used to it, you might think it stinks. But it IS CALLED Hot Sulphur Springs. All the other pools were just cement holes. Not very appealing. We have been to hot springs all over Colorado... Mt. Princeton and Ouray, for example. This place is much more expensive and doesn't even come close to others. But it was a nice soak.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank zenbaby02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to hitting the hot springs after two days of skiing and a day of snowmobiling in the Winter Park area.

Hot Sulpher Springs Resort is fairly easy to find and parking was simple. We checked in and paid for four visitors. Reasonable at $18.50 each plus towel if needed. I'd recommend bringing your own towel.

Changing rooms were organized with lockers available.

The issue we had was with the baths themselves. They were very spread out on multiple levels and it was not clear where the various temp baths were located. Additionally, although marked with the average temperatures at each, we found the actual temperatures to be significantly below what was stated. For example, we tried four or five tubs/pools posted at 102-105 degrees and we estimated that they were all at the highest 95 degrees. This was a challenge as the outside temp was quite low at 7 degrees and the distance between the baths was quite far.

We finally found one tub that we could actually call hot (108 degrees although the sign indicated 110-112 degrees) and we were able to shoehorn our group of four in with five people already there, but to do so we were literally squeezed in side by side. Picture a backgammon board.

I'd hope that if we visit again, which we would only do if we couldn't make the trip to a better hot springs like Strawberry close to Steamboat, that the baths would be more clearly marked and that them temp regulation would be a bit more accurate.

Once we found the hot tub that was actually hot, we had a great time talking with other visitors while we relaxed and we left the resort much more relaxed than when we arrived, but just can't give the place an above average review due to the challenges noted above.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matherdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Sulphur Springs
14.9 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
166 reviews
19.2 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
521 reviews
9.6 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
23.0 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
19.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Sulphur Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Sulphur Springs Resort & Spa

Property: Hot Sulphur Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 5609 Rte 20, Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Hot Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hot Sulphur Springs
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers fifteen baths for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hot Sulphur Springs Resort And Spa
Hot Sulphur Springs Hotel Hot Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing