We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in isolated town”
Review of The Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Canyon Motel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Junction City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay in isolated town”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We really enjoyed this inn. It was just the right size for our family of 3. The beds are comfortable, in room fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. No AC, but the fan in the window cooled down the room quickly. We stayed here because of the sulphor springs. I will say the town was very limited on places to eat in the evening. I would suggest to pack food and eat at the hotel. The staff was very helpful and kind and this place was a nice place to relax after soaking and also to prepare us for our journey through RMNP.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinmomma_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    57
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
71
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

BEST Motel I've ever stayed at -- and I like to stay in hostels or at a Fairmont or Hyatt. Seriously. I have stayed here 3 times in the past 15 months. Great place to crash after spending the day soaking at the springs.

This is my favorite place in HSS because they have frigs, microwaves, reliable free wifi, free towels to take to the Springs, and it's not right on the train tracks.

CLEAN ! No complaints from someone who isn't shy to call the front desk and ask for a new towel if one has a stain.
COMFY! Ask for a room with two beds even if you need just one and choose your favorite.
CHOICES ! Each room has a different layout & bed configuration, all have frigs, microwaves, coffee makers, and some full kitchens.
COOL ! My favorites are #10 & #12 because a bed is right under the window with a view of the valley. Watching the sunrise is spectacular --- and I can stay snuggled in bed.
CONVENIENT ! You can easily walk to the candy store, the Dairy Delite or the 2 restaurants in town. Or cook on the outdoor gas grill provided & sit on the picnic table and watch the excellent FIREWORKS display held on "Hot Sulphur Springs Days" in June each year.

Very nice accommodating managers. Yes, the rate depends on whether you have 1 or 2 or 3... or a dawg. But really, that seems fair to us single people who usually have to pay a higher flat rate for a room that sleeps 4. Check their website --- prices are pretty clear there.

Room Tip: Book online to choose your favorite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comfy_Bed_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

My wife & I really enjoyed our stay at the Canyon Motel. The cost of the room was reasonable & it was very clean. Angus provides the best customer service. Hot Sulphur Spring is nice little town where life slows down. There are some good restaurants in walking distance. The motel also has free high speed wi-fi. There was always good hot coffee in the motel lobby. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msscull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed this week. Angus is the best. Price is right, discounts at local restaurants. Friendly. Good value. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojohn78734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Small town so not many choices of places to stay. Went here because of the great reviews and they are accurate. Super nice at checkin gave us some discount coupons for local places etc... Rooms are dated but are kept up and very clean was comfortable. Went to the Hot Springs for at day and ate at the Parshal Inn which is a 5 mile drive but was quite good plus received a 10% discount for mentioning the Canyon.
If we are up that way again we will stay at the Canyon

Room Tip: stayed in room #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1967traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My husband and I and our friends (who stayed in separate rooms) all came to Hot Sulphur Springs this past January in order to do some light downhill and some heavy cross-country skiing. We wanted to be near Hot Sulphur Springs in order to enjoy the perks of a hot tub/sauna style spa treatment but on a budget. We wanted good lodging where we could prepare our own meals and that wasn't too far from where we wanted to ski! (we did Sol Vista for downhill and the YMCA of the Rockies for cross-country - the latter of which was AWESOME). The Canyon Motel was truly the PERFECT place to stay, as it turned out! The manager, Angus, is extremely professional and helpful and knows the area super well. He's managed to take this small town, family style motel to a new level in terms of it have a great and user friendly website and hooking its customers up to the internet and great deals at restaurants and ski rental/ski pass venues in the area! Rooms were nice and updated. The hot springs are literally down the block. The ski resorts were within a half hour drive. The views were stunning. We're definitely planning on heading back there again! Maybe even in the summer for RMNP.

Room Tip: Reserve by phone - we got a better rate by calling
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1LovetoHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We loved our stay at Canyon Motel in Hot Sulphur Springs. We would come back again and would recommend this hotel to our friends in family. The hotel was clean, the beds comfortable, great kitchen, and great service.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Sulphur Springs
15.4 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
166 reviews
9.2 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
66 reviews
18.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
19.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
22.3 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Motel

Property: The Canyon Motel
Address: 221 W. Byers Ave., Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Hot Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hot Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Colorado's Hwy 40 scenic byway is Hot Sulphur Springs' only AAA rated motel, just a short walk from the healing waters of the Hot Sulphur Springs Resort and Spa. Welcome to our quiet and peaceful little town in the heart of scenic Grand County Colorado! We take pride in hospitality, personal service, and our outstanding cleanliness beyond the corporate motel chain standards. Stay with us once and you will make the Canyon Motel your regular getaway in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Hot Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing