We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but the help was grumpy.”
Review of The Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Canyon Motel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The room was really nice, was clean and had very new fixtures, etc. But, the man at the desk, Agnus, was grumpy. You would walk in the door and he would show up in a minute or so and you could tell from the look on his face that you were bothering him and then he was very short and not friendly. So, we were afraid to ask for help later in the visit...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotspringslover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonMotel, Owner at The Canyon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel, we appreciate your input. First and foremost we apologize for any negative perception you may have about any aspect of your stay with us, especially the service. We hope that you and everyone else reading about us can see from our previous reviews that whatever occurred was an unusual circumstance from our usual level of reception. We, the owners, have discussed the situation with Angus and while working a motel 24/7 can be arduous at times, service must never suffer and all guests should be treated to a pleasant experience. Once again, thank you for staying with us and for your input. Rob and Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

The room was of an acceptable standard although there was no light in the alcove for the second bed which made that area rather dark. The man on the front desk was friendly and gave us a good recommendation for breakfast. As often happens with small US towns, there is a railtrack nearby so prepare to be disturbed in the night by loud train horns wherever you stay in Sulphur Hot Springs. The bathroom was cold.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herenthere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonMotel, Manager at The Canyon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review The Canyon and your inputs. We have added a lamp to the room to improve the lighting as a result of your review so it is quite valuable that you gave us that input. Not much we can do about the train and normally the horn is not a problem. We like to say that if you are awake you will hear it in the distance but if you are asleep it will probably not wake you up. One factor is that it is so quiet and peaceful in our town that the train stands out more than it normally would in a big city. Thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed here overnight while visiting Rocky Mountain National Park. The room was clean and everything worked. Best bathroom tile job I have ever seen in a motel. Interesting antiquated cooktop/sink combination in the kitchenette. Nice, rustic charm, not overdone. Shower stall a little tight, but functional. While we only stayed one night, I would not feel cramped staying longer.

Hot Sulphur Springs is a small town, but there are places to eat within a reasonable distance. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and provided info on discounts at local restaurants and such.

Room Tip: They have lots of different configurations and if you book on their web site, you basically shop for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

CLEAN room (#2) - comfortable bed - quiet. Thats all that matters when going from place to place every night for 2 weeks. Owner gave us discount tickets to a number of places in the area. Used them for breakfast at the Glory Hole (don't miss it) & the candy store. The candy store was amazing! Don't miss that either.

Room Tip: our room was on the small side (#2) but was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We used Canyon as our base for a quick trip to Rocky Mountain National Park. I loved how when you check in you're given information about local eating places and other things to do. There are some hot springs to visit but we never had the time. Something to look forward to on our next trip.

We stayed 2 nights and happened to have 2 different rooms because we only reserved for one night. The first night we had room 4, a great room, big with a king bed and a jetted tub. On the second night we had room 2, it had 2 queen beds and a shower. Both rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Being an older motel that has been remodeled it was nice to find out how quiet it was. I didn't hear a sound from the rooms next to us or the highway. Very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

"Stumbled" on this place on-line. We stayed 3 nights...did 2 days of the Hot Springs. This is a CLEAN, friendly, AWESOME place to stay!! Can't wait to get back...we'll be recommending this place to all our friends!

Room Tip: Room 5 has full kitchen and comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRobi37521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

On our way to the Bar Lazy J Guest Ranch...we were looking for a local place to stay and were most fortunate to discover The Canyon Motel in Hot Sulpher Springs. It was wonderful...a true motor hotel reminiscent of my childhood. The rooms are quaint and VERY clean. And you will love meeting our host Angus. He made sure we were well taken care of down to discount coupons for local restaurants and the Springs. Take Angus' advice and have breakfast at the Glory Hole just down the street.

The motel has lovely landscaping and is extremely quiet. Customer service is top notch. We were looking for a way to cool some beverages before taking off for our next destination. Angus was there with the solution...he put them on ice, double bagged them and taped them securely in a box. It was perfect for traveling. This was just one example of going above and beyond for the guests. We will definitely stay there next year. It is conveniently located between Winter Park and Steamboat Springs...so if you are in the area...take advantage of this place! And tell Angus that the Hole in the Pants Gang will see him next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms were great! Some even had small kitchenettes which can come in handy for multiple nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KalamityK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Sulphur Springs
15.4 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
177 reviews
18.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
543 reviews
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
9.3 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
15.3 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites of Kremmling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Motel

Address: 221 W. Byers Ave., Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Hot Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hot Sulphur Springs
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Colorado's Hwy 40 scenic byway is Hot Sulphur Springs' only AAA rated motel, just a short walk from the healing waters of the Hot Sulphur Springs Resort and Spa. Welcome to our quiet and peaceful little town in the heart of scenic Grand County Colorado! We take pride in hospitality, personal service, and our outstanding cleanliness beyond the corporate motel chain standards. Stay with us once and you will make the Canyon Motel your regular getaway in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Hot Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing