We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ”
Review of The Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Canyon Motel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely ”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely quiet spot with hidden charms. Make time for breakfast at the nearby 'Glory Hole' and the museum is also worth a visit. Very comfortable and the cleanest motel we've been in on our road trip. Sounds cliche but we felt like we had experienced 'real' America...

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ismisedeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    51
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
66
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My mom and I stayed at the Canyon Motel during Spring break. The owner was very friendly and updated our room for free. The room was clean and the queen size bed was soft and very confortable. Only 10min to Hot Sulfur Spring by walk, very close.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the canyon motel while moving to Grand County. The owner was very kind and helpful. We were grateful that they allowed pets so that our dogs could stay while our property closed. We have recommended this hotel over all other in Hot Sulphur Springs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pahrumpian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Canyon Motel is clean and friendly. The room was great. The wall heater was very quiet and kept the room very warm during some very bad weather. The front office has some of the best coffee that you will ever find in a hotel. It all comes at an exceptional price. The manager even made pizza for dinner. I would stay there again in a second. I highly recommend the Canyon Motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radpaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schuyler, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay. We rented the apartment downstairs, spacious, quiet, and clean we felt at home. With everything we needed the front desk promptly responded. It's also the perfect distance from the Hot sulphur springs after a full day of skiing at winter park. And the affordability was greatly appreciated.
Smiths family of four.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoesobig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was a fantastic stay. I will go there again. The room we stayed in had a jet tub and was gorgeous. We also got a deal that included passes to the hot springs. This was awesome and was a savings. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Only suggestion, towels for the springs. Their $2 rental towels are a joke!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tateech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very nice motel in Hot Sulphur Springs. Highly recommend it. The kitchenette is a very nice compliment to the room. Very nice management staff. Have stayed there on my trip to the hot springs. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Sulphur Springs
18.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
506 reviews
9.2 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#5 of 8 in Granby
60 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
22.5 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
22.3 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Motel

Property: The Canyon Motel
Address: 221 W. Byers Ave., Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Hot Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hot Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Colorado's Hwy 40 scenic byway is Hot Sulphur Springs' only AAA rated motel, just a short walk from the healing waters of the Hot Sulphur Springs Resort and Spa. Welcome to our quiet and peaceful little town in the heart of scenic Grand County Colorado! We take pride in hospitality, personal service, and our outstanding cleanliness beyond the corporate motel chain standards. Stay with us once and you will make the Canyon Motel your regular getaway in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Hot Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing