We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of The Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Canyon Motel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My Husband and I are from Ohio and we came to Colorado to visit our daughter who was working the summer at Snow Mountain Ranch. We planned to hike and raft between her work days. I have a lot of arthritis and pain but love the outdoors and the mountains. It was because of this that I wanted to go to the pools at Hot Sulfur Springs. I got on-line and found Canyon Hotel. What a find it was! I have stayed at many top notch hotels on business trips and I would trade them all to stay here again! The room we stayed in was amazing. The decor was lovely with notty pine trim, a lovely glass top table, the bed was so comfortable, the TV had DVD and VCR player,and more; even the window had a mountain scene over the glass. The price was so reasonalbe and the hot-springs pools very close by. After a day of activity and a soak in the pools we came back to our room to crash. My husband was hungry and ordered a pizza, delivered to our room. It was great. The friendliness alone would bring me back but the the place was indeed a great find! I would highly recommend this place to all my friends; and the next time I come to Colorado, I will stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjmarshall2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2010

On a recent ski trip we decided not stay at the big resorts but serached online for a small town within a short distance to winter activities. We found The Canyon motel and it was within a short drive to Winter park, steamboat and Breckenridge. One arriving we were told by the friendly managment about Sol vista ski resort which was only 10 minutes away. So we took part in an extra night of skiing there. We also took part in the local hikes, and ski hill just up the street from the motel.After our snow fun we went to the hot springs and rested our bones This was the best vacation without all the crowds and a great place to stay !!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Super clean and super friendly!! I would stay here again anytime!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tressawellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Four good friends wanted to get away from it all and sit and soak in the awesome Hot Sulfur Springs. We live in Denver and with the crazy spring weather in Colorado, we decided to spend the night instead of just doing a day trip. I looked online before going up to find a "decent" hotel, I was thrilled to find something right up our alley, Girls Night at the Canyon Motel. For four of us it was around $200, but it was the best $50 I've spent in years! We started our girls weekend with a great drive up from Denver, lunch in Idaho Springs and wine tasting in Fraser, saw sun, rain, snow, just a beautiful drive. We got to Hot Sulfur Springs around 3, check in was a breeze, even splitting our bill four ways. We got our Hot Springs Pool passes and a basket of chick flicks (passes and movies are included in the Girls Night package) and headed to our room. We found waiting on one of the beds a basket FULL of great girly goodies, all kinds of candy, homemade chocolate chip cookies, mud masks, manicure and pedicure kits, nail polish, foot scrubs, eye masks, and more (most of the stuff in the basket we could take home with us if we didn't use it)! We also had four glasses and a bottle of champange waiting. We spent a few hours soaking in the pools then headed back to our room for pizza (delivered to our room and included in our package), wine, junk food and movies. It was a BLAST!!! We will be staying at the Canyon Motel again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edenrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This was a little hard to get to in that I was at one gate and they were giving me directions from the other gate.
Once we plowed through getting there it was one of our best stays on our trip home.
We have a vacation rental up in Victor, Idaho and had a booking so needed to hit the road earlier than expected.
We were thrilled with the family atmosphere and the quaintness of all they have done with the property. We loved all the great personal touches and being right on the river.
We hope to be able to go and stay with them again on another trip home!

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank aheavenlyrefuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

When we were deciding where to go for our honeymoon, we wanted a place that was quiet and cozy with almost no one around. For us, it was this motel in Hot Sulphur Springs. We live in a bustling city and needed to "get away from it all" to spend some time with just the two of us.

The staff were excellent and gave us a weekly rate discount and discounted passes to the springs. They advised us on activities that were a short drive away and even have pizza that can be delivered to your door. The room was very clean and they encourage water conservation on the towels and linens. We had a mini kitchen with a range, microwave and fridge and were able to cook several meals while we were there. This was especially helpful when we were snowed in (Under what seemed like a ton of snow). Our room had a decent view of the mountainside and nice warm heat.

Now that we have been married nearly 3 years we look back and want to go back and visit again. It was inexpensive and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Overall the experience was what we had expected, a small quaint and rustic motel. The rooms have been updated and for the most part, are adequate. The walls, however, are not sound proof. We had a couple of people staying in the room next door who talked and drank all night, both nights that we were there. Not really the relaxing get away we had hoped for.

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank bbgun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Sulphur Springs
15.4 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
177 reviews
18.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
543 reviews
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
9.3 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
15.3 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites of Kremmling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Motel

Address: 221 W. Byers Ave., Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Hot Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hot Sulphur Springs
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Colorado's Hwy 40 scenic byway is Hot Sulphur Springs' only AAA rated motel, just a short walk from the healing waters of the Hot Sulphur Springs Resort and Spa. Welcome to our quiet and peaceful little town in the heart of scenic Grand County Colorado! We take pride in hospitality, personal service, and our outstanding cleanliness beyond the corporate motel chain standards. Stay with us once and you will make the Canyon Motel your regular getaway in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Hot Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing