We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Hotchkiss Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotchkiss Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hotchkiss
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

owners are wonderful, they run an immaculantly clean small hotel. wonderful breakfast though no dining room - instead there are a few chairs outside with a great view of the mountains. Owners are knowledgeable about the area and extraordinarily gracious. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel08California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
10
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one week and it was pretty good for the area I was in. The bathroom and living areas were clean. A continental breakfast was served every morning with locally grown foods and homemade muffins.

Room had a microwave and fridge, coffee maker with mediocre coffee, and Dish TV. The reception on my TV was bad the whole time I was there- snowy picture. Bring a cable and connect your laptop to the tv.

This is a 2-story hotel and I strongly recommend staying on the upper floor because the floors squeak a lot. It was elk season during my stay and the hunters above me were up at 4:30 a.m. every day. Kind of a bummer.

There is a mom and pop restaurant across the street and about a mile away are some other places to eat. There is a grocery store not too far away from the hotel. I recommend buying some good coffee and amenities for the room.

For some really good places to eat and a pretty decent nightlife I would recommend going to Paonia about 9 miles down the road. The rooms face east and awesome sunsets are just a great way to start the day. The surrounding area is unbelievably scenic and local produce and organic food abound.

It was sunny most of my trip- 40's in the morning but quickly warming up to about mid 70's. It rained 2 days but it wasn't too bad. It gets cold quick when the sun goes down.

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor- the floors squeek like crazy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSmith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Pros
Free wine on arrival after a warm welcome from Kris and Andy
Clean room
Quiet sleep
Free baked goods and coffee for breakfast
Free wifi
Great price especially considering all the extras
Cons
Given the price, the personable owners, and all the extras, I can't come up with one con.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuSu_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linneus, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Newest motel in town, very clean and feels homey with soft carpet and plenty of room. The owners/operators are the best and treated me like a guest, not only a client. The motel faces a distant mountain and is right off of the main road in town and only a block or two from a great modern style grocery. Also a café directly across the road. A great nights sleep was easy to get with all the soft pillows and comfy bed, and not too close to any loud sounds like trains passing in the backyard or anything like that! The breakfast included large tree ripe peaches from a local organic orchard...just nothing to complain about this place.... was great!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a good view of the mountain ask for one that's not behind the staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynGingerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our "jeep group" spent a night at this delightful inn, and we found such a welcomed experience. The rooms were very clean and had all the amenities that you could ask for. They had a wine and cheese reception soon after we arrived and then the next morning provided a wonderful breakfast with homemade pastries, fruit, yogurt, etc. We would definitely go back to this place. Thank you, Kris and Andy for all your "special touches!"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very nice, ready to help owners: Kris and Andy, thx for strawberries for breakfast :). They really take care about this place. Clean, full of beautifull flowers and plants around created nice atmosphere. Good situated motel close to the road with beautiful view on mountains, it's easy to see Needle rock and Castle rock through the windo just from the bed. I recomend this motel like clean, comfortable place to spend even few days. We were there with children who found there place to basketball and voleyball. At the evening we had a fun with children to sit around the fire pit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnieszka914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

As soon as I entered the lobby I was greeted with a big warm smile, wine, cheese and crackers. Who wouldn't want complementary wine, cheese, and crackers? The owners were extremely welcoming and made me feel right at home. Not only were the rooms squeaky clean but the beds were nice and comfortable, I slept like a baby. And nothing was better than having fresh fruits, oatmeal, pastries, cereals, yogurt, etc. for breakfast as we carried on our trip through Colorado! They also had a basketball hoop, volleyball net, and bbq pit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hotchkiss
13.2 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Cedaredge
Stay Wise Inn Cedaredge
#2 of 2 in Cedaredge
33 reviews
19.9 mi away
Days Inn Delta CO
Days Inn Delta CO
#2 of 4 in Delta
172 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#4 of 10 in Montrose
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#2 of 10 in Montrose
146 reviews
19.4 mi away
Riverwood Inn Motel & RV Park
13.7 mi away
Cedaredge Lodge
Cedaredge Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cedaredge
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotchkiss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotchkiss Inn

Property: Hotchkiss Inn
Address: 406 Highway 133, Hotchkiss, CO 81419-9604
Region: United States > Colorado > Hotchkiss
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hotchkiss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotchkiss Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotchkiss Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotchkiss Inn Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing