We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waking up to the river was amazing...”
Review of Banderas Bunkhouse

Banderas Bunkhouse
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Howard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banderas Bunkhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howard
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Waking up to the river was amazing...”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

It was late on Memorial Day week-end. Everything was full or the manager had gone home early. The sun was going down and we were tired and frustrated. Then we found Banderas...Dave was so awesome! The price was reasonable. He actually waived some of the fees, to make it affordable for my party of 5. We were river front and coud hear the river rushing by. We were married in a church 3 miles down the road 18 years previously, and wanted to be in the area for our anniversary, to take pictures in front of the church. We were not disappointed. The small A frame cabin was quaint and cute. It was like camping inside. Dave made sure we had everything we needed. The cabin was a little older, but clean and comfortable. Not a four star hotel...but absolutely lovely! I was able to drink coffee on the deck by the river...how relaxing! Dave came by in the morning for a friendly chat. What an interesting guy! I would definantly bring my family back to Banderas. There is a cafe onsite, although they were closed memorial day morning to host a fireman's benefit pancake breakfast. So I forgive them...they were out doing community work. In this area, resturants are hard to find. We will definantly try the food on the next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin on the river!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

David & Teresa are not only owners but half of the Colorado Saddle Strings musical group when they put on their Cowboy Dinners, including wonderful brisket, with sides, etc. A wagon rid starts off the evening, with Dave telling a little about their draft horses and some of the local history. Topped off by "Entertainment" sure to please all the family from children to grownups, and even a little line dancing lesson time too.

They have Motel rooms, Cabins & RV sites, including a Horse Motel. Free Wi-Fi, Comfortable, Clean and Ready for your next Fun vacation or Get-a-way..

If you love to fish they are located just footsteps away from the Arkansas River. There are ATV & Off -road trails within a short distance. Several places nearby offer River Rafting, including guided Fishing float trips, Horseback riding can be found in nearby locations along with a Zip-Line location and sightseeing too.

Come listen to the babble of the water through open windows at night to put you to sleep.

We stayed her a Month last year in our RV, and this summer we booked three months in our RV. Plus we're renting a cabin on two occasions this year for our family to come visit us here in beautiful Colorado.

Room Tip: If you're wanting a location by the River for your RV or cabin choice, you'll want to book e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DnL_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holyrood,ks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed in the Bandera Bunkhouse on August 20 and 21st. Our room was small but was equipped with two beds and a small table with two chairs. There as an over-the-door clothes hanger. The room was clean. We had to request towels on both days. No one came in on the second day to clean, make the bed or leave towels. The small blanket to use as addional cover was dirty. The mattress was very uncomfortable. The coffee pot did not work plus no creamer. We did ask for a different coffee pot and creamer and both were provided. There was no place to put your suitcases except on the unused bed which, I guess, is ok unless someone occupied it. No phone, tv. or refrigerator The motel is conveniently located between Highway 50 and the Arkansas River thus there is a great deal of noise from the highway. Also an independently operated restaurant is attached which has good food with reasonable prices. We stayed at Bandera's because of nearness to relatives staying in the Pleasant Valley RV Park. My husband and I would only stay there again if we could not find another room in another motel close by. I'm glad we had very little time in the room as it was not comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villavicencio, Colombia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We stayed at Banderas in an RV. The owners Dave and Teresa were very nice. They were very helpful pointing out local trail riding areas. Having the river right outside our backdoor was very nice. Definitely a nice quiet place to relax and enjoy the area. THey are working hard to get everything ready for the summer rush. Sorry we missed the cowboy dinner and show.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaytonaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We arrived after 7:00pM and were warmly greeted by our hosts, the owner of the property. We had selected a cabin because our 3 man fishing group likes to cook elaborate meals after a day on the water. The cabin was only so-so equipped in the kitchen department so Dave & his lovely bride immediately loaned us all the stuff we needed from the cafe they also run during the summer. They responded to all our requests & treated us like family. We missed the weekend Cowboy Cookout which looked like fun. Property is on the Arkansas River, which you can hear from your cabin. There is some highway noise that we drowned out with the fan at night-the only thing that keeps this from 5 stars. These are not luxury cabins-fairly austere, but very functional and reasonably priced. Great hosts & a good trip.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank TGOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howard
12.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
12.6 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
83 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cutty's Hayden Creek Resort - A Cruise Inn Park
12.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
11.4 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banderas Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banderas Bunkhouse

Property: Banderas Bunkhouse
Address: 10281 US Highway 50, Howard, CO 81233-9691
Region: United States > Colorado > Howard
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel, cabins, RV sites and a cafe. Located on the Arkansas River. Great views of the Sangre Mountains, easy access off Hwy 50. Bring your own gear for fishing or rafting. Located 13 miles from Salida and 40 miles from Canon City (Royal Gorge area). Lots of activities including our popular cowboy supper show. Visit Bandera our horse and enjoy your relaxing stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing