We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suite would have been nice...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Idaho Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbine Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Suite would have been nice...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

This was a good value and clean place to stay. Difficult to find, as the sign is hidden by overgrown foliage, but the plants on the property give it a cozy feeling. Missed not having WiFi, but we did use the microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker, which was convenient. We stayed in a double queen with a family of 4, so it sounds like maybe a suite would have been a better fit for us. Close to restaurant and groceries, not to mention Mt. Evans and white water rafting. Good stop and would recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HaleyJo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
We do have WiFi so please ask for the password at the front desk; and thank you for recommending us.
P.S. We are always reluctant to cut down our beautiful trees but will clear some around our signage. Thank you for the suggestion.
Cheers! Sam Salter, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    59
    31
    9
    16
See reviews for
47
79
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We had a full day of rafting scheduled in Idaho Sepings so we didn't want to have to drive anywhere afterward. This motel was the perfect pick. Very close to the rafting outfitter as well as the "downtown" restaurants and shops. The room was clean and comfortable enough and there is a great patio on the property as well. Didn't have much interaction with the owner, but he seemed friendly enough when we picked up the keys. Check out time is early, but we had a flight out of Denver in the morning so it was no issue for us. I had booked a specific room when I made my online reservation, but the guest that was in the room before me extended their stay, so I was moved to what I was told was a comparable room. I am not a big fan of places that do that, as I want what I booked and paid for, but I don't think there was much difference between the rooms, so I didn't argue. Overall, I would have no issue staying there again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AHFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to review our place and assume that because of the deck you mentioned, that you stayed in one of our King suites. They are all the same except for the decor. We would not change your reservation except for the fact that a guest extended their stay. More often, we upgrade a guest if we had to provide a comparable room. Also, if anyone in the TripAdvisor community needs a later check-out, please ask us at the front desk and we will try to accommodate you in every way.
Sam Salter, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I can just imagine the spoiled Trust Fund Brats coming into snowboard who wrote bad reviews about this place. Stay at the Hilton next time. For normal folks or us travelers that live in motels.. It is a gem! To settle the argument the beds are super comfy! Cute little kitchenette and very quiet. I wasn't as sold on the owner as other peeps .. He snapped at me over a request for late check out. Then quickly apologized. Bet he was a used car salesman in another life. Take note though check out time is 10am which is almost unheard of nowadays. Overall neat little place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Please request a later check-out. in advance since we are a small place and need the time to get our rooms ready up to our high standard by check-in time for other arriving guests.
P.S. I am actually an architect and builder in this...and my "other life" ; but appreciate your sense of humor.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review!
Cheers! Sam Salter, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Clean rooms, great prices, cute rustic décor, and very friendly owners who call you by name. I was only going through Idaho Springs so I could go white water river rafting. I booked one night on the phone just in case. As soon as I walked into my room, I walked right back out and booked another night I was so pleased. I'm so glad I spent two nights in Idaho Springs because it was such a cute town with wonderful people!

Room Tip: If you have to have wifi ask for a room closest to the check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebekahlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We hope that you come right back and visit us again next time you are adventure rafting in our area. We truly appreciate your time in writing a review.
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

A couple of residents told us his was the best place to stay in town so we were glad we had read reviews here & booked it. Proprietor was friendly & accommodating, room was clean & very quiet. The small kitchen area was nice (we stayed in a king room) but the electric stove burners did not work. Wifi did not connect. Funky linen prints for towels & bed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat_ontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Our King Suites all have a full kitchen equipped with a stove, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. The electric stove burners do work, but you need to request to have them turned on if you are going to cook. We also supply all of the cooking utensils and cleaning supplies for cooking. There is a $50 returnable deposit. Please request this at the front desk when you check-in. So sorry about the misunderstanding.
P.S. The "funky prints" are also my fault
Cheers! Sam Salter, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Locally owned hotel, with clean just remodeled rooms. We stopped for a night on our tour of Colorado and Utah in historic Idaho Springs just 45 min from Denver. Read great reviews and was not disappointed. Our King Suite included a mini kitchen with table, lovely art, and very clean new fresh room. Delightful and very reasonable rates. It was a lovely evenng after a week of 1 night stays in 7 cities. Right off I-70 on the way up into the mountains or heading back to Denver. Local gold mine tours, and nice shopping on the historic 1880's Main Street original buildings. Be sure to grab the best Pizza ever at BeauJos on Main Street that is filled with wonderful local memorabilia and mining maps. Delicious and cozy stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to your return!
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

We came from Georgia in April for a one night stay before a weekend in denver..great value,very clean rooms..and the best shower I've ever taken. I recomend the columbine to anyone traveling on 70,or anyone visiting the rockies

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dshanahan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are so pleased that you had a good experience here. Looking forward to having you back!
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idaho Springs
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
15.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
4.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
9.3 mi away
The Silver Lake Lodge
The Silver Lake Lodge
#1 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Property: Columbine Inn
Address: 2501 Colorado Blvd., Idaho Springs, CO 80452
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Idaho Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Idaho Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing