We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable comfort and charm!”
Review of Columbine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Idaho Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbine Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

What a gem! Columbine Inn is close to downtown and the grocery store, and, best of all, it offers a clean, comfortable room at an excellent price. Built before cookie-cutter motel chains, Columbine charms with its foliage (trees abound and an ivy grew right up to our door) and eclectic art in the rooms--some French Impressionism, some Old West, something for everyone. The beds and fixtures are substantial and well maintained. While we didn't use them, we appreciated the iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. One minor criticism is that the Wi-Fi signal was too weak to use at our room (in the corner furthest from the office), yet the friendly owner let me sit in the office to use the internet, and the next morning, I enjoyed a glorious Colorado morning sitting on the porch checking e-mail. If you want a McRoom, then stay at a chain motel. If you want comfort and personality at a reasonable price, then check into Columbine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batavicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for your time in writing a review. We are upgrading Wi-Fi.
Hope to see you again.
Cheers!
Sam Salter, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Came to Sam's place because of Tripadvisor and we enjoyed our stay. The room was nice and very clean and we enjoyed having a small kitchenette for meals. Our friend came to visit and dropped her car in a hole the city had dug in the parking lot. Sam graciously arranged for a tow truck to pull her out and for that we were most appreciative!

We had to go out on the adjacent porch to get a internet signal but that was nice because we had good weather. Once that challenge is conquered, this place goes to top rating for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms four, five and six are real nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for your review and sorry for the mishap. Wanted to let you know that our internet signal is currently strong in all the rooms since we have had it re-wired with a new company.
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We decided to stay overnight after a day of hiking in the mountains and a planned rafting trip in the morning. We called at the last minute to book a stay for a Saturday night. We got lucky thanks to a cancellation and booked one suite with a private hot tub. This is well worth the extra $$ to enjoy this privacy. We had a lovely sitting room with flat screen tv, kitchen complete with dishware/utentils and a comfortable bed in the bedroom. The room was outfitted with an air conditioner too, which can't get much use because it is so beautifully cool in the mountains at night in summer. Everything was clean and well maintained despite its older unique appearance. The owners were very accommodating and helpful with locations to eat (always hit up BeauJos for the best pizza and for breakfast we went to Jiggie's Cafe for a great homecooked breakfast). We had a great night's sleep and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which went from a very functional just get a room to stay in overnight to finding a romantic gem where we'd go again just to get away.

Room Tip: Ask for the private suite and spend the extra $$. Worth the money to spread out and have nice priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We always hope that guests have as positive an experience as yours at our Columbine Inn. Please stay again for your next get-a-way.
Cheers! Sam Salter, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The room was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable. Nicely maintained facility. However, the kitchenette in our room was unacceptable. There were mouse droppings in the utensil drawer and the stove did not work. We were very upset with the owner's response to the mouse droppings and the fact that it was not cleaned up while we were out of the room. We booked this Inn because it received TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for two years in a row. We were very disappointed, based on these ratings.

Room Tip: Choose a regular hotel room and not a kitchenette suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

As owner of the Columbine Inn, I am confident that Tripadvisor Certificates of Excellence are not indiscriminately issued to lodging establishments, rather, are based on honest and consistent reviews by discriminating guests who give constructive critiques based on real and true experiences. We work hard to live up to Tripadvisor's standards.
All of our stoves work. There is no extra cooking charge for luxury Cabin Suite 29 with the private hot tub. Guests ask to have it turned on since we keep them turned off for safety.
Also, if a mountain mouse allegedly made its way into the kitchen cabin, I do apologize. We assure future guests that our rating for cleanliness is definitely higher than 1 ; that the alleged mouse has since been captured; but cannot guarantee that in the future another mouse will not make its way back in. Occasionally, even small bears and mountain goats have been spotted in the area around the Columbine Inn.
Thank you for acknowledging the "beautiful rooms".
Sam Salter, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was a good value and clean place to stay. Difficult to find, as the sign is hidden by overgrown foliage, but the plants on the property give it a cozy feeling. Missed not having WiFi, but we did use the microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker, which was convenient. We stayed in a double queen with a family of 4, so it sounds like maybe a suite would have been a better fit for us. Close to restaurant and groceries, not to mention Mt. Evans and white water rafting. Good stop and would recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank HaleyJo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

We do have WiFi so please ask for the password at the front desk; and thank you for recommending us.
P.S. We are always reluctant to cut down our beautiful trees but will clear some around our signage. Thank you for the suggestion.
Cheers! Sam Salter, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had a full day of rafting scheduled in Idaho Sepings so we didn't want to have to drive anywhere afterward. This motel was the perfect pick. Very close to the rafting outfitter as well as the "downtown" restaurants and shops. The room was clean and comfortable enough and there is a great patio on the property as well. Didn't have much interaction with the owner, but he seemed friendly enough when we picked up the keys. Check out time is early, but we had a flight out of Denver in the morning so it was no issue for us. I had booked a specific room when I made my online reservation, but the guest that was in the room before me extended their stay, so I was moved to what I was told was a comparable room. I am not a big fan of places that do that, as I want what I booked and paid for, but I don't think there was much difference between the rooms, so I didn't argue. Overall, I would have no issue staying there again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AHFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

We appreciate your taking the time to review our place and assume that because of the deck you mentioned, that you stayed in one of our King suites. They are all the same except for the decor. We would not change your reservation except for the fact that a guest extended their stay. More often, we upgrade a guest if we had to provide a comparable room. Also, if anyone in the TripAdvisor community needs a later check-out, please ask us at the front desk and we will try to accommodate you in every way.
Sam Salter, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I can just imagine the spoiled Trust Fund Brats coming into snowboard who wrote bad reviews about this place. Stay at the Hilton next time. For normal folks or us travelers that live in motels.. It is a gem! To settle the argument the beds are super comfy! Cute little kitchenette and very quiet. I wasn't as sold on the owner as other peeps .. He snapped at me over a request for late check out. Then quickly apologized. Bet he was a used car salesman in another life. Take note though check out time is 10am which is almost unheard of nowadays. Overall neat little place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper617, Owner at Columbine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Please request a later check-out. in advance since we are a small place and need the time to get our rooms ready up to our high standard by check-in time for other arriving guests.
P.S. I am actually an architect and builder in this...and my "other life" ; but appreciate your sense of humor.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review!
Cheers! Sam Salter, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idaho Springs
4.1 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
16.9 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 14 in Winter Park
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Z Casino and Hotel
Grand Z Casino and Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
JC Suites
JC Suites
#3 of 5 in Idaho Springs
40 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Address: 2501 Colorado Blvd., Idaho Springs, CO 80452
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Idaho Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Idaho Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing