We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than hoped for”
Review of Columbine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Idaho Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbine Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than hoped for”
Reviewed 2 July 2008

Loved the new look on the outside with fresh paint and awesome landscape. Owner was very friendly and accomodating. The room was larger than most and looked as if nobody had slept there before. Recommended to my parents and they loved it as well. TWO THUMBS UP!

  • Liked — room size
  • Disliked — hard to locate
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garlo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    59
    31
    9
    16
See reviews for
47
79
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

Found brown water in the toilet. I think it had something to do with the pipes, but gross anyway. There was a wrinkled note on colored paper taped above the toilet that read, in magic marker, "Please hold the handle until all waste is gone" or something to that effect. Yuck! You did have to hold the handle.

Moreover, the shower was a terrible battle. The drain was so slow it filled up the tub while I was in it. I couldn't get the temperature or water pressure right.

This place was a little weird- there were posters all over the walls as if they had moved them into the motel after their teenager moved out, or as if they had bought them from a cheap nail salon. We laughed a lot.

Super dated, seemingly clean, except for the bathroom.

The next morning was super sunny and windy and the air had little flecks of gold in it. That was the only magical thing about this place. I would not recommend it. And I usually enjoy the side of the road motel... Try another motel in Idaho Springs- there are about 5 all in a row on the same road as the Columbine.

  • Liked — it had a vacancy
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Where2this_weekend?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2007

I had a great experience at the Columbine Inn. I arrived very late and had no issues getting my room (I had a reservation) upon arrival. The room was clean, plenty big and had a microwave and fridge - which was very handy. It was also very quiet considering the hotel was booked. The hotel has a massage therapist - Tess - who was awesome after a day of hiking Mt. Bierstadt.

Highly recommend the Columbine Inn and massage therapist, Tess!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HikingUnderTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

A good value at $69 + tax for two queen beds. Room was clean and spacious with very comfortable beds. Good tv and channel selection. Mini-refrigerator was nice to have. Didn't use the microwave. No frills bathroom with the shampoo / soaps you'd expect at a lower priced motel. Towels reminded me of what you'd get in high school gym class. Very friendly and personable proprietor as others have mentioned. Place was sold out both nights we were there. Oh, and the location is very convenient to the Central City / BlackHawk casinos.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chumfamine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2007

The property looks attractive, but it has problems. There is a nice outdoor deck, but a step in the middle of it is a serious stumbling hazard. The owner is not concerned about the danger of his guests falling and being hurt because, he says, his insurance will protect him from liability issues.

Our room was clean on the surface but there was deeply ingrained dirt in the corners and crevices. There are too few parking places for the number of rooms, so late arrivals have to park on the busy street. The owner's barking dogs provide an early morning wake-up call.

The lighting in the rooms was so dim that we had to go out and buy light bulbs in order to read. Fortunately a big Safeway store is just steps away

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank fussyMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

Website photos make the place look better than it is. Website includes a 10% off coupon (2-night stay) but the owner did not honor the coupon. Room was skimpy on the details: one microscopic bar of hotel soap; no extra TP. Room shower head popped out when the shower was turned on - so, taking a shower was like standing under a hose.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnQPubyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2007

My girlfriend and I had to be in Denver for a softball tourney. Me not wanting to stay in Denver I stumbled across the Columbine Inn on the internet. The reviews we read were great but the Hotel and the owners exceeded any review. We stayed a week and every time my GF walked back into our room she giggled. Trust me Im a chain motel kinda guy, but I was never happier with any room Ive stayed in ever. No matter the trip if Im in the Denver area this is where I will stay.

  • Liked — Peace and Quiet.
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cancunpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idaho Springs
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
4.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
15.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
9.3 mi away
The Silver Lake Lodge
The Silver Lake Lodge
#1 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Property: Columbine Inn
Address: 2501 Colorado Blvd., Idaho Springs, CO 80452
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Idaho Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Idaho Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing