We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gross” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Idaho Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbine Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

So, I am looking for a place to stay near Blackhawk and decide to find a reasonably priced room in Idaho Springs. I see the sign and it looks kind of neat, so I stop in. I talk to the owner's wife and ask, politely, if the rooms are clean and neat. She pulls out a newspaper showing that they are #1 with the locals. (Note to self...locals don't need a place to stay.) So, I am tired and say I will take it, after negotiating the price. To her credit, she offered to refund if I didn't like it. Of course, I didn't know I wasn't going to like it, until much later. The room appeared to be ok, although well-worn it was appointed with some nice touches. Later, when I went into the bathroom, I noticed the tile was torn up. Then, when I went to take a shower, the water would BARELY come out, so I opted to wait. A little later (I could hear the shower next door, very plainly, as I could nearly every movement made in the adjacent room) when I heard the shower shut off next door, I tried again and got a manageable stream to shower. I think the mangement would warn you that people in adjacent rooms cannot shower at the same time. Anyway, when I finally rolled into bed, the sheets felt, um, very OLD. And one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever been in. WARNING! Don't stay at this dump!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — shower and bed
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank crooner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    59
    31
    9
    16
See reviews for
47
79
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin. If you've seen the pictures of the charming, light, bright, flowered room with the woodstove on the website,that's NOT it, maybe that's the suite. The carpet, couches, bedspreads, and especially the shower curtain need to be replaced before I'd be in a hurry to recommend it.

Everything else was just fine, and the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mile High, Baby!
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

Some friends of mine and our kids took a weekend to enjoy the Christmas Market in Georgetown and reserved two rooms with two queen beds. I looked at the reviews for all hotels in Georgetown and they were deplorable, so we decided to stay a bit farther out at a more favorably rated property.

When we arrived, the owners explained that they had to make some changes to our reservation b/c a large party had checked in. I was a little unnerved at first, but then the owner walked me to our room – the suite with full kitchen and a private hot tub. In addition, they gave us a second room with two queens. The rooms were very quiet, well equipped and the beds were very clean and comfortable. It felt like more of a bed ad breakfast room than a hotel room.

We were more than satisfied, in fact, we’ve booked the same rooms for this year’s Christmas Market.

  • Liked — The location and kindness of the owners.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

Loved the new look on the outside with fresh paint and awesome landscape. Owner was very friendly and accomodating. The room was larger than most and looked as if nobody had slept there before. Recommended to my parents and they loved it as well. TWO THUMBS UP!

  • Liked — room size
  • Disliked — hard to locate
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garlo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2007

Found brown water in the toilet. I think it had something to do with the pipes, but gross anyway. There was a wrinkled note on colored paper taped above the toilet that read, in magic marker, "Please hold the handle until all waste is gone" or something to that effect. Yuck! You did have to hold the handle.

Moreover, the shower was a terrible battle. The drain was so slow it filled up the tub while I was in it. I couldn't get the temperature or water pressure right.

This place was a little weird- there were posters all over the walls as if they had moved them into the motel after their teenager moved out, or as if they had bought them from a cheap nail salon. We laughed a lot.

Super dated, seemingly clean, except for the bathroom.

The next morning was super sunny and windy and the air had little flecks of gold in it. That was the only magical thing about this place. I would not recommend it. And I usually enjoy the side of the road motel... Try another motel in Idaho Springs- there are about 5 all in a row on the same road as the Columbine.

  • Liked — it had a vacancy
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Where2this_weekend?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

I had a great experience at the Columbine Inn. I arrived very late and had no issues getting my room (I had a reservation) upon arrival. The room was clean, plenty big and had a microwave and fridge - which was very handy. It was also very quiet considering the hotel was booked. The hotel has a massage therapist - Tess - who was awesome after a day of hiking Mt. Bierstadt.

Highly recommend the Columbine Inn and massage therapist, Tess!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HikingUnderTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

A good value at $69 + tax for two queen beds. Room was clean and spacious with very comfortable beds. Good tv and channel selection. Mini-refrigerator was nice to have. Didn't use the microwave. No frills bathroom with the shampoo / soaps you'd expect at a lower priced motel. Towels reminded me of what you'd get in high school gym class. Very friendly and personable proprietor as others have mentioned. Place was sold out both nights we were there. Oh, and the location is very convenient to the Central City / BlackHawk casinos.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chumfamine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idaho Springs
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
15.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
4.0 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Silver Lake Lodge
The Silver Lake Lodge
#1 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
Miners Pick Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Idaho Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
10.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Georgetown Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Property: Columbine Inn
Address: 2501 Colorado Blvd., Idaho Springs, CO 80452
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Idaho Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Idaho Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing