We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of H&H Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
H&H Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Over Labor Day weekend I did a scouting photography trip for Mount Evans. I needed a place to stay as I'd be there three nights. I researched a number of motels in Idaho and settled on the H&H. I'm happy to report that I was pleased. The people who run it are courteous, the place is clean and the rooms are nice - overall, I'm very pleased and I intend to stay there again when I lead my photo tour in future years.

Room Tip: I checked out a few different rooms and all look nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussLittleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace Z, Owner at H&H Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

We are sorry with so much delayed reply. We thank You very much for nice words about our property. We really appreciate that you sacrificed You precious time to give good review.
Sorry to say, but the complaints are the loudest. Have a very Merry Christmas and profitable
New 2014 Year.
Best regards, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

We were driving cross country and were trying to get as far as possible each day. We were just passing out of Denver when we realized the road ahead was really difficult to navigate in the dark. We came about Idaho Springs, CO and this little "gem" of a motel. At first glance it appeared nice at 10PM. (They do have a really nice sign....). The room was dimmly lit but we were tired... Next morning I was horrified on what the place looked like. Probably built in the early 70's and nothing change/repaired/upgraded since. Painted over paneled rooms, dirty worn carpet, no screens on windows, worn furnature from the 70's. If you find yourself looking for lodging in Idaho Springs, drive a little further into Denver.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace Z, Owner at H&H Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank your for your feedback. We are sorry that you feel this way about our motel. We take great pride in our motel and strive to provide best possible service. Yes, the motel is older but we continue making improvements without changing its historic look and feel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Me and my family were staying here for the night and we started getting bitten by ticks and little brother had marks all over him. We were getting bitten by tons of other different type of bugs. We started to pack and we told them our story but they did not even give a refound. That is why I recamend never going there

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ransys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace Z, Owner at H&H Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Madam,
thank You for writing review about our property. This is old property, but we put a lot of
money for repairs, ugrades, new lines every year. We have onsite Laundry facility, so it's impossible that linens were dirty. We wish You go further to Denver and found there, what You could have for the same money. We receive many compliments from our Guests, so maybe You should give us another chance before putting unfavor review.
Sincerely, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

I was somewhat scared when I walked into the room. We had been on the road for over 20 hours on our way to Las Vegas from Michigan. We were originally going to stay at a motel in Denver but decided against it. I saw a sign for lodging and thought that this could be our last chance for a while so we chose to stay. The price was alright, and the outside was alright looking. I will never settle again. The only thing good about it was that it was in the mountains. The bedding looked like it had been there since 1985 and the last time that it was washed was 1995. The air conditioner sounded like it was going to take flight and kept me up half the night. I couldn't wait to get out of there! I was glad that we were just passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m1davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace Z, Owner at H&H Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

We are sorry for Your bad experience in our property. We do many upgrades and improvements every Your, so hopefuly if You decide to give us another chance we will surprise You nicely.
Sincerely, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This hotel was extremely disappointing and way over-priced. The room smelled terrible when we walked in; we should have left at that moment. The beds were soft, pillows lumpy and the sheets needed a good wash. The a/c was a window unit and did not work well. The room was noisy as it was right on the main road. The bathtub clogged. The only good thing about this room was the towels which were new. This hotel needs a complete renovation. Until then, forget it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisat501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace Z, Owner at H&H Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Madam, thank You for Your time to put review about our property. We do upgrades and improvements every year, so hopefuly if You will give us another chance we will meet Your expectation.
Sincerely, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Extremely disappointed in H&H. Everything needs an update. Mattress, pillows and towels were worn out. Shower head was mounted below my chest. Room was dirty. With massive renovations H&H might have a chance but avoid it until then.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timothyn314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace Z, Owner at H&H Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Sir,
i am sorry about delayed response. We are sorry to hear about Your bad experience with our property. We did many improvements in the front desk reservation program and in the units,
so if You will be able to give us another chance we may satisfy Your expectations.
Sincerely, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

I'd read a number of good comments about the H & H over the years, and finally booked a stay for myself & a friend for her first time in Colorado. Since I've worked in hotels for years, & know things can go wrong with bookings, I emailed my res to these folks, and the day before arrival I called to confirm. No problems there, but when we showed up, the drop-case at the desk couldn't find our res, and since we were tired & wanted to use the much-vaunted(and highly overrated) hot tub, we took the only room available, which was a POS at the rear of the building, and since it was a "family" room, we had to pay $20 more than what I'd reserved 5 weeks before. The room was not unacceptable, and at least there was the advantage of awakening in Idaho Springs. However, the Blair Motel is MUCH nicer, as is the Blair staff. Next morning I spoke to a woman & said I didn't appreciate our being charged $20 over the agreed price, & she said I was the one who was in error. Needless to say, I won't be back here. I'll keep staying either at the Blair Motel or the Columbine Inn, and recommend that others do, too

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealAles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace Z, Owner at H&H Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

We did many improvements, including the reservation program, so hopefully, if You give us another chance it will go better.
Sincerely, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idaho Springs
4.1 mi away
Grand Z Casino and Hotel
Grand Z Casino and Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,118 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
4.1 mi away
Century Casino Central City
Century Casino Central City
#2 of 3 in Central City
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
9.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
10.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Georgetown Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H&H Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H&H Motor Lodge

Address: 2445 Colorado Blvd, Idaho Springs, CO 80452-0849
Region: United States > Colorado > Idaho Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Idaho Springs
Price Range: £54 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — H&H Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in our Motel. We are located 35 minutes west I-70 from Denver (exit 241A ). We here at the H&H Motor Lodge - Idaho Springs are dedicated to meeting your needs. Our motel has 34 units in a variety of sizes with king, queen, double and twin beds available for you. Each room has cable TV, telephone and tub and/or shower. All rooms are equipped with a microwave and a refrigerator. We offer private time for use of our spa and sauna grotto to our guests at no additional cost. We also offer free wireless internet for your convenience. We understand that pets are a part of the family and we are a “pet-friendly” hotel. A small charge per pet will be added to your room rate.If you are not familiar with our company and your first contact with us is online: We would be pleased to hear from you! Please let us know what your needs and questions are, we will be more than happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your H&H Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h&h Motor Hotel Idaho Springs
h And h Motor Lodge
h Hotel Idaho Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing