We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Ute Casino & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sky Ute Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Friendly Staff, Beautiful Rooms, Very Clean, High Quality, Reasonable Price, Good Food, would recommend it to anyone traveling in that area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OkieTourist_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sky Ute Casino & Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you so much for your nice comments! We love to hear from our guests and are so pleased to read that your stay with us was so fabulous! Pease stay with us again soon. Our doors are always open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    53
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
48
60
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
st. petersburg, fl
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We spent two nights at the SKy Ute Casino & Hotel in Ignacio, NM. The hotel has beautiful accomodations and the nightly charge is very reasonable. We had a huge room w/comfy king bed. Very nicely appointed! The bathroom had a tub, toilet & walk-in-shower. Also, it had a very large counter w/sink and cabinets underneath. I would give this room a 10! The only thing we were not happy about is the casino. We don't smoke and the cigarette smell was so strong that we were coughing just walking through. They do have a very small non-smoking area but the doors are oipen and I imagine the smoke smell travels in there when the casino is full. We were taking a steam train ride from Durango to Silverton and picked this hotel because it looked good and the price was good, but it is about a 20-30 minute drive to Durango. (hotels in Durango were much higher priced). All in all the extra drive was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sky Ute Casino & Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
We love feedback and thank you so much for writing about your experience! We are located just north of New Mexico in Ignacio Colorado, however being so close to the border you do see an awful lot of NM license plates, so it is easy to get confused! We pride ourselves on delivering a superior product for a great value, so we are delighted to see that you experienced both! Many people stay with us to ride on the Durango Silverton Railroad, and while it is indeed about a 30 minute drive, it certainly is a beautiful one! Whether going or coming into town, the way the moring and evening sun hits those mountains sure makes the Shining Mountains shine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Smoking is allowed at this casino and it is quite smoky.

Hotel was ok much nicer than the old one. Rooms were very loud and echoed every sound.. It was a little annoying. Bathroom was large and nicely appointed. TV uses some type of IP network and restarted a few times. It takes about 3 minutes to reboot.

Pool was nice but the lazy river is part of the indoor pool and only about 400 yards.

Front Desk staff didn't seem to worried about customers and were always very busy doing something else that did not include you. I think they like to assert their power in keeping you waiting.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VirginiaFreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sky Ute Casino & Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you for your comments. Yes, we do allow smoking at our casino. When we built the new Sky Ute Casino Resort, we installed a brand new state of the art raised floor smoke mitigation system to avert the smell of smoke that many find intrusive to their gambling experience. Next time you are on property, if the smell of smoke is still lingering we encourage you to test out the non-smoking room and see the difference!

The pool is a lovely place to go and relax. The most wonderful part about the lazy river is that you can go around and around without ever leaving the pool!

Your concerns about the front desk staff have been communicated to our Front Office Manager. We welcome your return so that you might see we take your concerns very seriously and are continually striving to improve service to our customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leadville, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I planned a trip to this casino along w a visit to Durango to see some friends over my birthday weekend. I had visited Casinos before in Minnesota, Iowa, & Colorado so I was hoping for the best & was disappointed to say the least. This casino is located a ways off the rd & honestly not worth the effort to get there. The slot machines are older versions so there wasnt much to choose from & the payouts were minimal. They allow smoking which was a huge turn off for me & my boyfriend, & the nonsmoking gambling area was a joke! They have free beverages if you dont mind lukewarm prefilled cups that they pass around on a cart. The pool area was overcrowded with families & my boyfriend developed an itchy red rash shortly after using the hottub. The rooms were pretty basic & I slept well enough-so no complaint there. The breakfast was the only good part of my stay, but you had to pay a little extra to get the upgraded menu. The staff was friendly & helpful, locals not so much. As I was checking in, one guy called me a 'white b*****' from his balcony! I'll stick to Blackhawk or Central City for Colroado gambling next time!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skeeter82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sky Ute Casino & Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you for your comments. The Sky Ute Casino is indeed located about 15 minutes off of highway 160 and about 30 minutes from downtown Durango on the Southern Ute Tribe Indian Reservation. Part of the beauty of the location is the local history of the surrounding area and its proximity to nearly every activity under the sun! Not to mention that the drive is gorgeous, no matter the weather! I am shocked to hear of the obscenities yelled from an overhead balcony as the interior balcony doors do not open for guests, and this is typically a very welcoming tri-ethnic community. I can assure you that this is very unusual.

We are constantly making upgrades and switching out many of the slot machines with what is trending in areas such Vegas and local casino such as Black Hawk and this January are giving out $112,000 in giveaways alone - that doesn't even include what people can take away from the tables or slots. We do indeed allow smoking on the gaming floor, however when we built the new Sky Ute Casino Resort, we installed a state of the art raised floor smoke mitigation system to avert the smell of smoke that many such as yourself find intrusive to their gambling experience. It may not be a perfect system, but we have made every effort to contain the smoke. The pool area is an added bonus for our guests. Did you see that huge mural on the wall? It was taken from a historical photograph and completed specifically for the Sky Ute Casino’s pool area. Having frequented Vegas casinos over the years and been forced to sit nearly 30 rows back just to find an open lounge chair, I can empathize with the experience you shared about our crowded pool and can unfortunately only offer you an apology, it can be frustrating. With so many people frequenting these facilities we must keep temperature and chemical numbers at appropriate Colorado State regulated levels to ward off dangerous germs. So while it is awful that your boyfriend got a rash from the experience I assure you that our maintenance staff keeps a log of these chemicals and temperatures every day to keep them up to code and our patrons safe.

We are truly sorry that your experience was one that put a sour taste in your mouth, and hope that someday you will be in the area again and give us another try. Until then, we thank you for your comments and wish you the best of luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the accomodations and friendly staff at the Sky Ute Casino. The restroom was beautiful with a huge walk in shower and deep soaking tub. The restaurant was excellent with excellent wait staff. We hope to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sky Ute Casino & Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you for these kind words! We love that you had such a great experience and hope you come back too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

I have stayed at the Sky Ute Casino & Resort twice and both times the service throughout the resort was exceptional. Every staff person I encountered went above and beyond his/her job duties to help fulfill any request, and they all did this without question and with professional and polite attitudes. The resort is very clean, and my 5th floor room was extremely quiet, even though most rooms were occupied. I love the casino, restaurants and lounge. The fitness center was clean and had everything I needed. The pool looked nice, although I didn't use it and I didn't go to the bowling alley. For a small town, the Sky Ute is a gem. I will be back with more family members and friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyCircles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sky Ute Casino & Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
We can’t thank you enough for staying with us. We love our guests and hope to serve you and your family and friends for years to come! We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We had a lot of problems during our stay. Our door wouldn't close properly, and could be pushed open from the hallway. It took the (very nice and friendly) maintenance staff 2-1/2 hours to replace the lock and strikeplate, and all the while there was a guy in our room or standing in the hall with the door open. Awkward. The repair took so long because there were people stuck in one of the elevators, and the staff were trying to fix that too. The crew actually told us they forgot about the guy they left standing at our door, which I guess means they forgot us, too.

Once the lock was replaced, our key cards would not work. One of the staff had to come up and let us in with a physical key (they figured this out after sending a couple of different staff members with "master" key cards, which did not work). We had to go through the whole thing again the next morning after breakfast; we were sitting in the hall for 25 minutes until the right person came up to let us in--even though we had explained at the front desk we needed a physical metal key to get in the room.

But there's more: When we opened up the sleeper sofa and turned down the sheets, we found FOOD in the bed. A quesadilla. In the bed. It was a minor point that there were no blankets in the room for the sleeper sofa, and we had to call the desk--again--for blankets and new sheets.

My last complaint is regarding the service at the breakfast buffet. They added 18% gratuity to our check, because we had 6 people. But the only service we received was delivery of drinks (late--we were almost done with our meal). The server never even cleared any dirty dishes off the table, and obviously we served ourselves the food at the buffet. Then we had to go up to the cashier and wait while the server went somewhere and rung in our check.

We did complain (repeatedly), and the casino comped about 40% of the cost of the room. I think a lot of people would have really gotten angry and taken it out on the staff, but my friend and I who booked the suite have worked in restaurant and bar service for many years, and we know what it's like to get yelled at for things we're not personally responsible for. It seems like Sky Ute has more of an overall management/policy problem.

The individual staff members were very nice, friendly, helpful, and good-natured. The poor guy at the front desk looked so embarassed. Our suite, besides the problems we had, was very nice, new, and clean. Big TVs, wet bar, Ipod dock, soaker tub were all deluxe.

Until the 25-min wait to get back in the room after breakfast, I was honestly thinking about going back (we are locals). But until the communication and service issues improve, I think not. Lower your expectations, or stay in Durango.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jen33397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ignacio
16.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
16.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
16.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
15.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Ute Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Ute Casino & Resort

Property: Sky Ute Casino & Resort
Address: 14324 US Highway 172-N, Ignacio, CO 81137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Ute Casino & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southern Ute Indian Tribe welcomes you to the Sky Ute Casino Resort! Please take time to visit the 45,000 square foot gaming floor including Slots, Poker, Blackjack, Craps, Roulette and Bingo, stay in one of our elegantly appointed luxury hotel rooms or suites, choose from one of our six unique and beautifully appointed restaurants to dine in, take the whole family to bowl at the Rolling Thunder Lanes, and immerse yourself in the culture of the Southern Ute people.The Sky Ute Casino Resort provides a retreat from the daily hustle and bustle. Rooms and suites are finely appointed with the highest quality in furnishings, linens, and more. Whether you are looking out at the majestic San Juan Mountains or have a view of the stunning atrium below, all rooms offer an exquisite view. Guests are provided access to all the unique dining establishments, a luxury day spa and salon, the swimming pool and sun deck, along with all the other amenities that the Sky Ute Casino Resort has to offer. The friendly front desk staff will garuntee that your stay will leave you with the desire to come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, PitchUp and Booking.com so you can book your Sky Ute Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Ute Casino And Resort
Sky Ute Hotel Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing