We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sky Ute Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“quite enjoyable”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Caught the shuttle from the kiosk in durango. Upon arrival we given a two for one coupon for the Aspen Room (not buffet) and $5 in play.
We had filet mignon and they were very good. The casino was a little smokey and the slots for amateurs were to complicated to get play money and start game.....but the staff came and helped out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felschurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    56
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
50
61
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were on a business and pleaure trip and stayed 2 nights at Sky Ute. For the price, if you don't mind about a 20 minute drive into Durango, it is excellent! The staff was very friendly. Our one complaint, was that we stayed 2 nights and in between our nights, they forgot or otherwise, missed cleaning and making up our room, bringing fresh towels etc. We were out all that day and we had to phone for new towels etc. when we got in that night. The continental breakfast is very skimpy, almost non existent, so don't count on a huge breakfast. I bit of fruit and toast. The actual rooms are wonderful and new, huge and modern, very nice and the casino and hotel staff were all very friendly and wonderful to us! We highly recommend this place if you are staying in the Durango area!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The rooms here were excellent and very clean but the pillows were awful...big fat things that gave you a crick in your neck. The dinning facilities were a joke so ate at the bar. Will not go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Went to the casino for a weekend get away. Overall not bad, really disappointment, with the comfort of the room and restaurant staff being really slow. the Pillow way to big and the mattress to big for the bed frame, hit my foot several times

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My family of 40+ road warriors stayed at Sky Ute Casino for 3 nights. It was VIP treatment all the way! The casino was fun for the adults. We had a family bowling tournament and the hotel baked a wonderful birthday cake for my Auntie Sue. We danced the Round Dance at the museum. That was really fun! The gold mine tour in Silverton is a fun day trip. Take the hotel shuttle to Durango for a day of shopping. Thank you for your hospitality! We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wilma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I just returned from a trip to the Durango area with my two kids. We stayed at this hotel because of the proximity to the airport, excellent pool, great buffet, and casino. The room price was much less then a room in Durango and the quality of the hotel was SO much better. The only negative side is it's a 30 minute drive to downtown Durango. I normally stay at the Residence Inn or the Double Tree in Durango but I will be staying at the Ute from now on... definitely worth the drive.

Room Tip: Since the hotel in on the reservation it is dry... no alcohol is served in the casino or at the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sasincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Sky Ute Casino & Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us here on Trip Advisor, we are so happy to read that you and your family had a great stay. It is correct that we do not serve alcohol on the gaming floor, however the next time you come by please visit the 49 lounge/ Rolling Thunder Grill to enjoy a beverage of your choice should you desire one. Great atmosphere, great drinks and great entertainment most weekend evenings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Sky Ute is a great resort. I have stayed there twice and the rooms are wonderful & the bathrooms huge. The casino is good, not great which it would be if there were less smoke, the bingo really fun, wonderful bowling alley, and a very nice pool. I haven't been to the museum yet, but will on my visit next week.

Room Tip: I would have given it a five rating except for the air quality in the gaming areas - too smoky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ignacio
16.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
14.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
16.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
15.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Ute Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Ute Casino & Resort

Property: Sky Ute Casino & Resort
Address: 14324 US Highway 172-N, Ignacio, CO 81137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Ute Casino & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southern Ute Indian Tribe welcomes you to the Sky Ute Casino Resort! Please take time to visit the 45,000 square foot gaming floor including Slots, Poker, Blackjack, Craps, Roulette and Bingo, stay in one of our elegantly appointed luxury hotel rooms or suites, choose from one of our six unique and beautifully appointed restaurants to dine in, take the whole family to bowl at the Rolling Thunder Lanes, and immerse yourself in the culture of the Southern Ute people.The Sky Ute Casino Resort provides a retreat from the daily hustle and bustle. Rooms and suites are finely appointed with the highest quality in furnishings, linens, and more. Whether you are looking out at the majestic San Juan Mountains or have a view of the stunning atrium below, all rooms offer an exquisite view. Guests are provided access to all the unique dining establishments, a luxury day spa and salon, the swimming pool and sun deck, along with all the other amenities that the Sky Ute Casino Resort has to offer. The friendly front desk staff will garuntee that your stay will leave you with the desire to come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, PitchUp and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sky Ute Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Ute Hotel Ignacio
Sky Ute Casino And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing