We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place to stay.....”
Review of Ranga's Beach Hut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranga's Beach Hut
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fantastic place to stay.....”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

there are not many places like this left in the world.... it has a lovely 'family' atmosphere, with an evening buffet where everyone sits around big tables and swaps travelling/surfing tales.....

we stayed for 6 nights in one of the treehouses. They are comfortable and breezy and set in a beautiful garden. Wild birds fly in the trees and it is a peaceful oasis away from the heat and tuk tuk drivers.

Ranga, Kuna and his staff offer first class hospitality - highlight would have to be the fish BBQ on the Friday night.

Fruitsalad, curd and treacle also highly recommended - as is the Sri Lankan coffee.

thanks so much for a lovely stay guys - see you next time :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemstoane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    50
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
14
56
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flensburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This place is a must to go if you want to stay on budget and meet other travelers. Everybody is staying longer as planned because it is so nice. Had a good time with plenty new friends and fun. Cheers for the Arrak time with Kuna!

Sometimes your order can get stuck or lost, don't panic order again your on holiday.

Room Tip: Stayed in Rm#3 cabana close to the Restaurant, can get noisy in the morning or evening, but waking u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have stayed here since 2002 regularly and have to admit that it is the nicest place to stay in Sri Lanka on the beach. Many beach places have beach bums, touts and all kinds of people who wants to rip you off. As a woman I have never felt uncomfortable here. My kids have been welcome and with Ranga, you need to fight to pay as he really does not want to accept a cent above the market price. He is one of the most ethical hoteliers I have met. I do not know what it is with the Lonely Planet 2012 edition that they have skipped Ranga's beach hut and slightly mentioning it only in one word for places to drink. I found this place in the Lonely Planet edition for 2002 when travelling and it was the top selection by Lonely planet and travellers choice. In any case the travellers will find back Ranga. It is a pity that Lonely Planet 2012 has been such a disappointment with most of its recommendations I have used so far during this trip. For example Dalawella beach beyond Unawatuna and all the hotels in that village have been skipped. Guys, stick to the trip advisor.

Room Tip: The tree houses are perfect for those scared of Tsunamis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gitane_in_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Right on the beach and so peaceful. A very warm and friendly environment. The huts were comfortable and well set up. The meals were excellent and very reasonably priced. A wonderful beach escape in a tropical paradise - not a touristy place reminds me of Bali 30 years ago. I loved staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a hut on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

tasty food clean not much of selection but with a very friendly atmosphere and you see most of the foreigners from the other hotels and guest houses come to patronize the restaurant . Ranga has built a very good customer relations some of the guests are been patronizing this place for many years a bag packers very good choice

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakshmanisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in a backpack
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon beach hut while looking for another place we were recommended. Ranga the owner was not there during our stay however the manager Khuna did an excellent job running the show. We were shown several rooms of different standards from treehouses to two story cabanas and concrete rooms. As we are travelling with a baby we have to prioritise quiet rooms with attached bathroom so Khuna showed us to a medium sized room with attached bathroom that was away from the main restaurant area. (otherwise we would have totallyntaken one of the super awesome treehouses!!) The restaurant area was lovely and shady with a great jungle/ drift wood theme and a beautiful garden growing around the area. The food was very cheap and good quality aswell. The beers were always ice cold and the service was incredibly fast. Any time we had a question some one was able to help us in seconds. The beach is very close by, and they even have some other pretty amazing cabanas on the beach, on a block of land diagonally opposite the main beach hut. At night time some of the cabanas nearest the restaurant may have some issues with the sounds of people relaxing and mingling but there were no wild parties when we were there, and not really the atmosphere for it. Just a lot of chilled out, happy people eager to mingle with other chilled out, happy people.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank rohandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Cosy inner garden & eating area. Good simple food. Helpful young men running the place, but english is poor. They organized al lagoon tour which was wortwhile doing.
Budget price.
We stayed in room 1 which was on the side (so no beach view), and a very untidy bathroom. Needs thorough cleaning and some reparations.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank praeymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arugam Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Arugam Bay
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#7 of 13 in Arugam Bay
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 13 in Arugam Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Arugam Bay
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balaji Ocean View Hotel
Balaji Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 13 in Arugam Bay
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
#10 of 13 in Arugam Bay
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranga's Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranga's Beach Hut

Property: Ranga's Beach Hut
Address: Beach Hut Road | Pottuvil, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Arugam Bay
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beach Hut Arugam Bay! Arugam Bay, located on Sri Lanka's east coast, is one of the highlighted places to visit in Sri Lanka. Famous for its beaches which have proven to be a haven for surfers, it is close to several other areas of interest, including National Parks, sites of cultural heritage and many other picturesque locations. Beach Hut's relaxed environment, homely cabanas and friendly staff never fail to leave our guests with fond memories of their stay in Arugam Bay. In fact, Beach Hut was recognized by The Guardian, UK, as one of the best places for budget travel in Sri Lanka. Situated just in front of the beach and close to many of Arugam Bay's main tourist attractions, Beach Hut is your best choice of accommodation in Arugam Bay, whether you're a backpacker yearning to see the sights, or a surfer looking to ride the tide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ranga's Beach Hut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga`s Beach Hut Hotel Sri Lanka
Ranga's Beach Hut Sri Lanka/Arugam Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing